Hydro Aluminum Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cutting Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLJune 22, 2017
This is a great place to work and the pay is great the people there are awesome.e u have plenty of hours and the work is fun and safe. I loved working there it was good hours and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challanging and fun work place and many opportunities to grow within the company
Overhead Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLDecember 24, 2016
Work place was friendly and fun. There were unlimited space to grow within the company's many departments. Room to expand your skills, there were benefits, pay raises to meet your skill level, programs offered towards teaching you to get the most out of your department for self advancement and that of the company
Pros
many benefits and promotions to be gained
Cons
Not the best of equipment to get the jobs done
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  North Liberty, INJuly 7, 2016
Learned something new each day. Organized work environment good/caring employees.

Everyone willing to help and share knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work; variety of duties
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Holland, MISeptember 28, 2015
Pleasant place to work; a lot of changes happening when the company went from Bohn Aluminum to Hydro Aluminum to Norsk Hydro.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellant place to work
Die Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  ellenvill new yorkMay 30, 2015
would still be there if they did not decide to close up the plant and send the work south , one of the best places I have worked
Pros
work relation ship with managers was great
Cons
plant closed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Plant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLMarch 19, 2015
Everyone was family! All got along and tried to help each other., witch is more then I can say for SAPA!! To bad HYDRO IS NOO longer here. SAPA needs help because the General manager thinks he owns it!!
Pros
everyone worked together!
Cons
No longer a company!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Team Leader & Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cocoa, FlFebruary 3, 2015
By far the best company I ever worked for. The management was supportive, the compensation was good and there was always room for advancement. I learned so much in my position as supervisor.
Pros
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working independentaly
Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Adrian, MIJanuary 24, 2015
Daily inventory counts, reviewing purchase orders, accurate levels for automatic replenishment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for advancement
Machine Operater (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 11, 2015
I enjoyed the job I did. I liked my coworker. The hours were long. The company did not often promote from within. Half of the manage was straight out of college with little factory experience. The expectations from management that had no experience with the machines and part that were produced created conflict in how the each job should be done

The hardest part of my job was to deal with new manager with less experience with the job I was doing than the job itself.

I enjoyed getting the task I had to do for the day. I would setup and check the part to make sure that they were accurate. I would then commence to running the job until it was finished.
Pros
Working by myself
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be!
Receptionist/Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cedar Springs, MIDecember 22, 2014
Worked on a temporary basis as administrative support. Overall great experience & wonderful staff! Expectations were clearly outlined, schedule consistent, & positive work environment.
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIDecember 14, 2014
It wasn't a enjoyable place to work being how the environment and staffing looked upon its workers. Unless I really needed a job or others needed one I wouldnt recommend them to others.
Pros
its a job
Cons
over worked and under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Rockledge, FLOctober 19, 2014
Packer a lot of think co-workers was ok there is not a very hard part of my job management is ok to work for it not a very hard part about the job and it was a very in enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work Good people
Press operator (Former Employee) –  St. Augustine FloridaOctober 3, 2014
Working at hydro will thoroughly prepare you for heat safety. Good long days keep you from unnecessarily spending money on gas.
Management will push you to do your best and this will result in pride of your work, and over all pride in your self.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machine operator
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Parchment, MIAugust 5, 2014
run machine operations,i learned how to make aluminum parts and to fix my machine if needed,also ran punch presses,drills, My co workers were awesome management was typical. the hardest part was trying to learn cnc,but most enjoyable was learning and doing a productive day
Pros
awsome company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse
Fabrication (Former Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLJuly 11, 2014
learned a lot about aluminum and how to use different saws and drills..did not wont to move up they asked just did not no enough.did not wont to put the job at risk
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy
Machine operator (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 7, 2014
Management has no idea what's going on, they have their heads so far up each other's a** that they can't figure out what's really needed. The supervisors are only focused on numbers when they preach quality. The people that teach you all have their own way of doing things and all are considered right until something is found wrong. You work 12 hours a day for 4 months straight till your even considered union. The people themselves aren't bad, just fed up with management and stopped caring after being mandated 12 hours a day 7 days a week. It's not a hard job per say it's more of an exhausting tiring situation being stuck in one place for 12 hours a day.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
factory
Press operator (Former Employee) –  Monett, MOJanuary 7, 2014
its factory they did overtime and 6 days a week. it was fun to work with co workers and the place ended up shutting down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company with wide variety of capabilities
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  worked out of my home and travelled in the MidwestDecember 11, 2013
prospecting new accounts in The Midwestern States
Just because corporate starts downsizing, doesn't mean your job is in jeopardy
make sure you keep management informed of all your positive and negative obstacles
keeping positive when management is leaving and plants are closing
learning about new products, landing business and meeting new people
Pros
meeting people form different parts of the world
Cons
frustrations of seeing co-workers leave and compensation packages being reduced
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working envirorment.
Machining Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Fayettvile, TN 37334November 4, 2013
I enjoyed my time at Hydro Aluminum. I had the opportunity to be an opperator, a lead, machine set up, and quality control. It was very family orriented and very friendly. I think the most important thing that made Hydo an enjoyable place to work was the communication beween departments and team members were comfortable communicating with managment.
Pros
Family days.
Cons
Low income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very tough work conditions
temp (Former Employee) –  Parchment, MIOctober 17, 2013
Management was very unorganized. Work conditions was horrible & employees were very unhappy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hydro Aluminum. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6