Find companies:
IBM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,816 reviews

IBM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM is a giant company with tons of opportunity.
Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Boulder ColoradoDecember 2, 2014
Console Operations..worked with many talented and very experienced professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 plus hours of work a week to absorb layoffs
Service Delivery Manager, Linux and UNIX (Current Employee), North Jersey and Work from home in Central NJDecember 2, 2014
Pros: great team environment
Cons: resourse actions taken to cut costs making it hard to delive the services that we contracted
The company was always shipping jobs oversees to cut costs, coausing impact to our customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful views
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Boulder, CODecember 2, 2014
This was my first "real" job and I am glad I was able to get involved with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
System Service Representative (Current Employee), Boulder, CODecember 2, 2014
IBM gave me the opportunity of know what a good job is, my only concern is the lack of employee professional development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
VISUAL DESIGNER (Current Employee), RALEIGHDecember 1, 2014
Pros: work at home
Project manager and creative designer on the production of web and print collateral including:

High quality visual designs from concept to execution, including those for desktop, web and mobile devices at a variety of resolutions. Reflect and enforce the IBM brand and design standards.

Print brochures, data sheets, white papers, logo designs, flyers, – more... manual covers, proposals, product packaging, magazines, posters, exhibit trade booths and direct mailers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDDecember 1, 2014
Great group of people to work with and for, worked with a variety of people and different organizations all over the U.S.

Learned to manage people and organize my time more efficiently.

Optimized my resources and skills in a very busy environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of tech to work with, but little advancement as a contractor
Resiliency Services Contractor (Current Employee), Sterling Forest, NYDecember 1, 2014
Good place to work, great people, however as a contractor it is not easy to advance or make more money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Security Delivery Specialist (Current Employee), Hopewell Junction, NYNovember 30, 2014
I was in a global department providing security services to US and International clients. A typical day is extremely high pace and demanding. It is an in office open cubicle environment so team interaction happens all day. The hardest part about the job is the high volume of clients and their daily tasks ranging from high severity issues, projects, – more... to business as usual. It is never slow, and the amount of people on the team do not add up to the workload. This is challenging, but rewarding for skills in the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote work from home
Remote lead ticket coordinator (Current Employee), Blue Springs, MONovember 29, 2014
Pros: working from home.
Cons: do not work hands on with staff members.
Remote lead ticket coordinator for desk side related tickets from all sites in the United States and India.Manage all Remedy Action Request System queues assigned to desktop. Analyze ticket trends and outages to ensure service agreements are met and communicate these findings with Team Leads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to gain experience and knowledge
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 26, 2014
Pros: great growth opportunity and professional people
Cons: a lot of lay offs
I worked as an executive assistant to the VP of the legal department. I was a demanding position and I loved the challenge. I enjoyed working with the people and gained a lot of experience while I was employed there. Unfortunately, IBM had a lot of lay offs during the time I was there and also had hiring freezes. I had good hours and was close to home. – more... It led to a lot of business opportunities for me later on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training and people
Channels Sales Representative (Former Employee), Albany, NYNovember 25, 2014
Pros: brand recognition
Cons: product marketing
Wonderful place to train and develop long-term skills. Truly innovative and takes a leadership position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Top management very sound
Design Engineer, for IBM 200MHz (Former Employee), Rochester, MNNovember 25, 2014
Pros: great work culture and processes.
Cons: move slowly.
IBM stands out as the lasting great company. It has its process in place for every aspect of engineering work and management. Everything goes by the book. It is very solid, but a bit less flexible. It survived for so many downturns with its processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse working environment
Sr. Oracle Database Engineer (DBA) (Current Employee), Dubuque, IANovember 24, 2014
• Provided Production, Development and Test Servers support for 24X7 database availability for Oracle Databases.
• Installation, configuration and upgrading of Oracle server software and related products, setup and maintain tens of Oracle 9i/10g RAC databases on Linux enterprise server, establishing and maintaining sound backup and recovery policies – more... and procedures.
• Installed and configured 11g in Production and non-production environments.
• Worked as part of a global team to provide 24/7 supports
• Setup and maintained documentation and standards
• Setup and monitored the data replication and standby databases
• Created manual log shipping to create standby server in Standard Edition.
• Participate in building Data Warehouse and Reporting system
• Worked with development team extensively
• Applied quarterly CPU (SPU) / PSU Patches on Development and Production Environment.
• Supported and advised the development teams on database related issues
• Maintained RAC environment with ASM.
• Installed and configured 11g R2 RAC with ASM on Linux with IBM
• Set up Stand by databases using Oracle Data Guard.
• Assisted developers in tuning SQL statements in the applications and in creating stored procedures, Triggers, Functions, Cursors and Packages.
• Designed and implemented Disaster recovery strategies, hot and cold backups.
• Designed, tested and implemented Oracle high availability solutions
• Planed and Practiced Disaster Recovery Operations
• Carried out the setting up of RMAN back up schedules of databases
• Performed Instance tuning using tools like Stats pack etc.
• Created and managed both system level and object level roles and privileges for various users. Killing sessions and revoking user privileges and roles – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job out of the service
DCAP manufacturer (Former Employee), Fishkill, NYNovember 23, 2014
2:30pm -11pm at a manufacturing line.

Learned nothing

Management was ok

co-workers were friendly

Job was not hard.

Leaving work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM
Technical Support Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 23, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: no cons
My 25 plus years of experience working with IBM has allowed meto expand my Technical and HR knowledge when working with teams. I have great leadership and communication skills and managed several internal and external projects successfully.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work from Home Position
Project Analyst (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CANovember 23, 2014
Pros: work from home, great management, great team mates
Cons: outsourced my position to india
This was a wonderful company to work for that allowed me to work from a home office for years. There was always a fear that your job can be outsourced to overseas. Finally it was after eleven years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on a good team
Consultant - Experis (Current Employee), Rochester, MNNovember 22, 2014
First point of contact for notes (e-mails) that come into our mailbox. I've worked with a good team that has helped me to understand the importance of 'good' customer service. The hardest part is understanding an e-mail that comes from another country where their English is not the best. We worked together as a team and assisted each other when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM is a mix of good and bad....
IT Analyst (Former Employee), Dubuque, IANovember 21, 2014
Pros: salary is okay, some dept's have great managers stable environment. avg. salary is 45k yr.
Cons: transfers impossible no raises unhappy labotomy workers cold boring town
The pay is average, a little lower than rest of country in IT industry. The rents and home purchase costs of Dubuque, IA much lower than other states. Food costs the same. Small river town 90 miles from anywhere in each direction so do not expect a metro area culture. My manager was excellent so 5 stars on that. Good job at first but transferring to – more... other departments or other facilities almost impossible. They will pigeon hole you. The bldg. has many unhappy workers. If labotomy victim robots staring at the floor or others backs, not speaking to anyone while standing in the elevator does not affect you, this place is for you. IA is cold 7 mos. of the year. It gets old fast! There are some good things about IBM Dubuque but be warned, they might not further your career at all. Salaries really aren't too bad compared to the city I just moved too. Hardly no raises at IBM Dbq. unless you're promoted Rhythm to Blues to Jazz. Constant turn over. IBM Dubuque has never achieved goal of 1300 staff. Probably at only 1000 now. Make sure you ask for a salary your comfortable making 2 years into it because you will not get a raise unless you're promoted i.e. Blues to Jazz, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work.
Summit Internship Program (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 21, 2014
Cutting edge research.

Very innovative.

Great work life balance.

I always felt challenged to achieve .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for just out of school
Program Manager (Current Employee), RaleighNovember 20, 2014
Pros: work from home they don't care about your hours
Cons: you're a part, an overhead component
Mid career is problematic. No raises or promotions. You're pretty much locked into the job you start with. No money for training. Management is entirely metrics driven. Everything according to a spreadsheet. Period. Senior management runs the company like a hedge fund. Buy and sell companies, squeeze the cash out of them throw them away. People are – more... an irritant to them, at best. – less

About IBM

International Business Machines Corporation (IBM), is an information technology (IT) company. s major operations include Global – Read more