IBM Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Language Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 12, 2018
It was a great place to work. Many learning opportunities in educational classes. Consistent good working behavior allows for advancement for increased wages and promotion. It was family oriented business.
Pros
Unlimited opportunties
Cons
family events
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great challenges / alway interesting work
Risk Manager (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIJanuary 12, 2018
Was provided many great opportunities to work on terrific assignments. Management was always focused on supporting people that worked there. Had a great and satisfying career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of Cross Training and Experience Available
SCCM Infrastructure Architect, SO Delivery (Former Employee) –  Work from HomeJanuary 12, 2018
Plenty of Cross Training and Experience Available, Opportunities to work at several environments. Gained plenty of experience with different tools, infrastructures and co workers.
Pros
Plenty of Cross Training and Experience Available
Cons
contract Position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Struggling to find a strategy for the future
First Line Manager (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJanuary 12, 2018
A long stretch of poor business performance has resulted in an environment where financial targets are met by letting people go. When this continues for as long as it has, then you start letting go the knowledge and experience that keeps the business alive; and you can no longer attract the new talent needed to grow and to innovate. IBM is at that point. A clean sweep of the company's senior leadership could save the business.
Pros
work from home
Cons
poorly managed at the most senior levels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM was an AWESOME place here in Tucson.
Tape Systems Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJanuary 11, 2018
Everyone worked together even if you were a contractor you felt part of the team. As a contractor I had a full time job and my Manager checked on me everyday to make sure I was doing OK.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided a challenging environment
Software Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 11, 2018
IBM provided a challenging environment. As long as you were able to keep up and continue to put in the necessary hours to complete your assignments, things went well.
Pros
Provided a challenging environment
Cons
Bottomline oriented, not necessarily employee centric
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say
Tivoli Security Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 11, 2018
It was a small product that eventually didn't make the cut during the annual planning and was cut. The entire team was let go one morning. I remember it being kind of unreal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People, not well managed
Digital Solutions Representative (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 11, 2018
The most enjoyable part is easily the quality people you work with. Management is not selected based on leadership skills and it reflects in the morale and culture.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Limited Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly changing organization and organizational goals.
Federal Sales Manager, Cognitive Solutions (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJanuary 11, 2018
I would not recommend IBM. Their Federal practice (where I worked) was not well organized and not well managed. There were constant down size activities (called resource actions) where folks were targeted (myself included) not by performance (I was 131% of my quota) but by some sort of matrix based upon band level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 11, 2018
The Project management team was so dynamic and collaborative that everyone was motivated to bring their A game continually.

Hours were basically 24/7 if needed when working with a global team, lunch at desk, these were the hardest parts of the job. This was not a verbal requirement, however it become our workplace culture. With that said, it was doable because at the time working remote was an option.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You Don't produce, you're gone!
Sr. Managing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 11, 2018
Politics, luck and economy all play a part in which engagement you get. In lean times, the competition is high, and nepotism or who you know gets you the gig. In busy times, you have your pick of engagements.
Pros
Benefits/Compensation
Cons
Power Plays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  United StatesJanuary 10, 2018
I really enjoyed working for IBM. There was so much potential for growth and advancement. They used to pay for education so you continue growing even if you stay in the same role. They offered mentoring. Working with customers was demanding which affected the work/life balance. However, other jobs within IBM did offer work/life balance where a parent can do job sharing or work part-time. All in all, I loved working for IBM and only left because of family needs.
Pros
Excellent Benefits & Salary
Cons
Proprietary tools/experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM time
Mortgage Representative (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORJanuary 10, 2018
my time at IBM was short i was only there for about 4 months... the number of call we take are crazy we took over 160 calls a say... just know what ypu apply for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM is a great company to work for
Technical Solution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 10, 2018
Really enjoy working for IBM. It is a great job for a technical person straight out of college. I've learned numerous skills and life lessons from just a little under a year of working there. Would recommend IBM to anyone who wants to work for a great company that focuses on innovation and keeping their employees happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open
Collector (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 10, 2018
make outgoing calls on past due collection accounts for payday loans. Skip trace customers to advise accounts past due and set up payments arrangements or payment in full.
Pros
fun co-workers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAJanuary 10, 2018
Not much to say at this time. I prefer to not give a typical day at work or what I learned, or talk about management. the work place culture the hardest part of my job, or the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good history, company, loyality to employees and sales focus declining
Enterprise Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 10, 2018
17 years with company. Great first 10 years with management, direction, focus, innovation. pride. Lost focus on employees and sales and 1st & 2nd line quality management and became too metrics oriented. Spreadsheet driven and lack of consistancy and focus on customers and employees. New leadership top down could chanage all of this and once again make it a place to be proud to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for IBM
Foreclosure Specialist (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJanuary 10, 2018
I worked for IBM as a contract employee until I was offered the chance for a 3 year contract with IBM. I had 2 wonderful team leads while I was there and enjoyed working WITH them. It was a position that was similar to my work with Wells and the systems were the same. So transition was easy. I was tasked as a Subject Matter Expert due to my experience. I helped other team mates with setting up conference calls, what screens would be helpful to them and how to set up Excel spreadsheets. I enjoyed helping others and teaching them how to streamline the job. In my calls with attorneys I learned their side of the process and during conference calls we both learned what affect the roles of each of us had on the other.

The most difficult part was setting goals for the year. I had a tendency to minimize what I did and did not give myself enough credit. My team lead helped so much with that.

I would go back to IBM if they asked.
Pros
Doing a job that I loved
Cons
not enough vacation time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive Tech Company
Industry Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 9, 2018
IBM has a lot to offer but may come up short if you decide you want to change your career path. One of the things I liked the most is that you have free access to most of IBM's products (Watson Analytics, Db2, Data Science Experience, etc). If you're heaving into analytics and IT and like the idea of working for heavily marketed, household IT name that even your Grandparents are familiar with, work here. The pay is not competitive and benefits are geared towards employees only, and some parents with multiple children have had a tough time managing costs.
Pros
Big company, big name, doing some cool things
Cons
Hard to find your fit with so many people, pay is not competitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Site I was at was perfect for 2 types of people
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNJanuary 9, 2018
The 2 poeople who should take a job at IBM Rochester are Early professionals looking to get into corporate finance and family people looking to make a permanent home somewhere.

There are lots of role and lots of oppurtunities to work in slightly different roles in finance in Rochester. But,,, there are no opportunities, or at least extremely few, to open yourself up to new jobs outside finance, transition a skill set or develop skills that the management doesn't think you will need.

IBM is a very stable company, you will never get rich working there but you will have a job.
Pros
Excellent work life balance, good learning oppurtunity
Cons
Slow personal growth, poor pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IBM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 19,196 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8