Find companies:
IBM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,013 reviews

IBM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM DBA
Technical Support (Former Employee), Belo Horizonte, MGJune 27, 2014
Team responsible for 24x7 monitoring of large quantities of databases of various clients throughout the Brazil, installation, configuration and maintenance of databases MS SQLServer and MySQL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SAP Senior Consultant - FI/CO (Current Employee), Melville, NYJune 26, 2014
Pros: enriched my knowledge
Cons: increases amount of work
I have always been a very good team member in the project and resolve the issues and provide a better solution to the client.
And reviews of others issues provide/guide them to solve the issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Friendly workplace, Work life balance can be achieved easily.
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee), Chennai, TNJune 26, 2014
You can get opportunity to work in new evolving technologies.
Very good place for women employees to survive for long term.
Work from home options attracts most of the women employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but no job security.
Global Procurement, Engineering Supply Chain Lead (Former Employee), East Fishkill, NYJune 26, 2014
Accommodate part time and flexible time.
Difficult with management out of the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Software Engineer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 25, 2014
I enjoyed it thoroughly. I learned soft and hard skills and it is a good place to share your views openly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company with sometimes overwhelming bureaucracy, Drive your own Career
Strategy & Transformation Consultant (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 25, 2014
Pros: good work life balance
Cons: things move slow
Great People, Good Work Life Balance, work with Top Tier Clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work, and the employees very helpful.
Message Center Supervisor (Former Employee), Cary, NCJune 25, 2014
Pros: the employees
Cons: indoors most of the time.
This is was actually the best job I ever had, as it kept me very busy and energized with the atmosphere of IBM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Storage Support Specialist (Former Employee), Boulder, COJune 25, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no time or money for training and education, people are overworked, no raises, morale is horrible
Unable to meet revenue growth targets for 2015 road map in largest division, IT service delivery. This was once their fastest and most profitable division but with competition with firms using cheaper labor offshore has gutted their ability to increase revenue and sign new business. Job cuts and furloughs are constant. Contracts are written with razor – more... thin margins won with the hope of making money on the back end or using IBM infrastructure to gain efficiencies and often based on false assumptions. Engagement teams and sales architects disengage after new business is signed and are not accountable for the success of the solutions and leaves delivery holding the bag when there are unrealistic customer expectations or wildly inaccurate labor cost projections (which end up causing furloughs and layoffs down the road) Contractors are furloughed and regular employees are laid off and or worked to death by additional responsibilities when team members leave and they do not allow hiring of replacements, no raises . . and morale is BAD – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM is no longer a top 100 company
Senior Marketing/Solutions Mgr. (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJune 24, 2014
IBM back in its hay day was a number 1 or 2 company to work for. Employees were treated with respect, and if you performed you had a job for life. That culture no longer holds true, the change in culture has hurt this company. The dynamic's of the market does have an effect on companies culture, but it should not have an effect on the core culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging technical enviroment
Consultant (Former Employee), Home office NJJune 24, 2014
Pros: 100% remote work location
Cons: more work than the team could keep up with
Opportunity to grow technically
Opportunity to upgrade enterprise systems
Excellent team with superb technical capabilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and gr8 work
System Characterization and Validation Engineer (Current Employee), Manyatha tech park , Bangalore, KAJune 24, 2014
loved the work, hands-on on the latest of technologies, the US team is experienced and gr8 to work with.Enjoyed my stay every bit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Test Analyst (Current Employee), Tustin, CAJune 24, 2014
very good company
for women.
this is having very good projects in offshore and in onsite.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No review
Tech Lead and Designer roles (Current Employee), Bangalore, IndiaJune 24, 2014
IBM gives flexibility of location, work hours and is a great company to be in. Co-workers are among the best people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reorg
Business Development Executive, Power Systems (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 23, 2014
Constant Reorganization. Two rounds of lay offs and 4 reorganizations in last eighteen months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM is a great place to work but the company is struggling
PowerLinux ISV Project Manager (Former Employee), RTP, NCJune 21, 2014
Pros: diversity, customer and isv interaction, always something new to learn
Cons: dealing with multiple time zones around the world.
I worked remotely. I would begin with meetings early in the morning with Europe and India and would finish late in the day with China. I would work with marketing and sales teams to determine what our independent software vendors and potential customer required to move their applications to the Power Linux platforms and to bring it to market. I would – more... then arrange for the needed IBM resources to be made available. Resources included, education, hardware, technical support, SOWs, whitepapers, etc...My job also required me to present status to IBM executives on a regular basis. I had been doing PM work for years but interfacing with the Sales and Marketing was new. I learned how to work with customers and ISVs. My management was always available if needed. I have been self managed for years. My management would provide support if issues arrived and I wan not able acquire the needed resources for an ISV or a customer. My co-workers spanned several groups and countries. Mostly I worked with the marketing/sales groups to get requirements and the technical people to help deliver the resources needed. The hardest part of the job was the multitude of projects needing attention at one time. This was challenging but also made the job more interesting. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with diverse groups within IBM and ISVs. They all had unique perspectives and requirements. There was always something new to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work and best to learn.
Operational Professional (Current Employee), New Delhi, ILJune 21, 2014
Good Place to Work and best to learn.
Good Place to Work and best to learn.
Good Place to Work and best to learn.
Good Place to Work and best to learn.
Good Place to Work and best to learn.
Good Place to Work and best to learn.
Good Place to Work and best to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Extensive experience with analysis, design, development, customizations and implementation of SAP applications.
SAP SD Team Lead (Former Employee), New JerseyJune 19, 2014
Extensive experience with analysis, design, development, customizations and implementation of SAP applications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding employment opportunities
PM, Course Developer and Technical Trainer (Former Employee), FL, CAJune 19, 2014
Challenging and rewarding employment opportunities, international travel and educational experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resources and Recruiting professional
Recruiting (Contractor) (Current Employee), Durham, NCJune 18, 2014
Pros: i love working with my peers, candidates, and enjoy the flexibility
Cons: pay! contract assignments and would be to find a stable job
I really enjoy working in HR and Recruiting because I have an opportunity to work with several people in different parts of the US. In my profession, I have learned in several areas and have graduated with a masters in HR Management which has given me additional knowledge of how HR is operated. The experience has provided the tools to assist others – more... throughout my career. However, I would appreciate finding a stable opportunity where I can advance within a company that I will enjoy working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of changes took place from the time I was a contractor to when I left as a regular employee (IBMer).
Secretary (Former Employee), Various sites in Westchester Co. and NYCJune 17, 2014
Pros: i learned quite a bit of computer technology compared to most other secretaries or friends, financially secure company with a good reputation.
Cons: evaluation process, long work day, many ot hours, most secys were overwhelmed due to an extremely heavy volume workload, the many "principals" or executives from first line managers upward supported.
Lots of diverse staff and culture. The Administrative Assistants/Secretaries were not managed or evaluated directly by the executives they supported but rather Secretarial Managers who really could not know the full scope of your job (depending on each department/division of IBM) or how it truly was performed.

About IBM

International Business Machines Corporation (IBM), is an information technology (IT) company. s major operations include Global – Read more