Find companies:
IBM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,132 reviews

IBM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Senior Mainframe Consultant (Former Employee), tampa flJuly 17, 2014
Job Work/Life Balance

Compensation/Benefits

Job Security/Advancement

Management

Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greed Greed Greed
Enterprise datacenter talent pool (Former Employee), RTP, NCJuly 17, 2014
Pros: no pros there anymore
Cons: your days there will be numbered as new sales revenues continue to decline
It is not the IBM of old that you THINK you know. It is a sad place ....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing a High Performance Team on the cutting edge is always fun!
Senior Manager (Current Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYJuly 17, 2014
Pros: team
At IBM it is all about the team, they are strong, enjoyable, and have taught me more than I could imagine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Software Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 17, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was a little too lax not getting as much as possible from many employees.
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJuly 16, 2014
Good place for advancement with or without college degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Recruiter I (Current Employee), RTPJuly 16, 2014
At my time at Kenexa-IBM I was able to fully be immersed in recruiting without a recruiting background. I support senior recruiters with submitting phone interviews, sourcing candidates and reviewing applicants within the applicant tracking system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked Remotely
Project Management Administrator (Former Employee), Princeton, NJJuly 15, 2014
Pros: remote location
Great people to work with. Would like to return as I was laid off in May 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for IBM as a Consultant for AT&T was a good experience.
Consultant (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJuly 15, 2014
I enjoyed being a consultant through IBM because of the following:

I learned more about the Disaster Recovery process.
I worked with great supervisor and co-workers.
There were times where it was hard to correlate different projects that we worked on.
I enjoyed learning more about the Disaster Recover Process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relationship with Dispatchers was key
Field Service Engineer & Trainer (Former Employee), Armonk, NYJuly 15, 2014
Pros: unlimited work
Cons: group disbanded as company withdrew from the market
Loved working at IBM, until the 17th manager in 7 years, was appointed, to thin the group, and then let everyone go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy, I liked what I did. My job just went to Mexico.
Operator (Former Employee), Rochester, MNJuly 14, 2014
it's not a secure place to be right now. benefits were good. Most of the people I worked with were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outsourced account is not the place to work in IBM
Band 7 (Former Employee), AtlantaJuly 14, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: do not value employees skills
Worked on an account that was outsourced to IBM for 14 years then got layed off. They started laying off people 18 months after the account started. Eventually any 'dead wood' was gone and they went after highly qualified and highly rated employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance but difficult place to work
Account Manager/Business Development (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 14, 2014
Pros: life/work balance
Cons: management short term view
I have had a very successful career at IBM.
Unfortunately IBM management is very focused on short term results to satisfy Wall Street.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too conservative for me
ASSOCIATE PROGRAMMER (Former Employee), East Fishkill, NYJuly 9, 2014
Pros: learned a lot of basic prgramming skills
Cons: location, too conservative
I had to learn assembly language to pass Programmer training. First saw SAS in this job and was super interested in using it. The location was in a little town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work Environment
Project Coordinator/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Jericho, NYJuly 9, 2014
IBM Corporation is a great and fun place to work. There are many diversities within the office that I work out of. It is a place where I have learned and grown with over the years. The business industry has taken many directions in the last few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Hardware/Software Engineer, Intern (Former Employee), rtp, ncJuly 8, 2014
great place to intern, lots to learn. hard to learn about other BU's or roles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GAJuly 8, 2014
Most up to date equipment Management are very helpful and cooperative with problems you may have. Willingness to help you advance in your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive day at work
Application Development Specialist (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 8, 2014
Great company to work for, was blessed with this opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work at home full time.
Facilities Management Specialist (Former Employee), Boulder, COJuly 8, 2014
Pros: work at home
Cons: compensation
Nationwide responsibility for physical space management and assignment of all customer specified equipment in Strategic Service Delivery Centers and Co-Location Partner Hosting Centers. Team is responsible for the direct management of 1.5 million square feet of data center space. Work closely with transition management, site operations, raised floor – more... hardware planners, delivery engagement, and project executives to address customer space requirements, space specifications, hardware coordination, vendor and contractor coordination, data and power requirements gathering. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a great place to work, unfortunately
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCJuly 7, 2014
Pros: benefits, competitive salaries
Cons: high utilization required, individual respect secondary to financial goals
IBM was once the "top of the heap" IT company to work for, largely because of high employee quality/morale and the company's "respect for the individual." Now it seems most all management decisions are based solely on making the current quarter's executive financial goals, supporting the march to a lofty earnings per share goal in 2015. Respect for – more... the individual is a thing of the past; that saying disappeared years ago.

In the services arm of the business, employees are actually required to make up their vacation time off, plus additional hours, in order to meet ridiculously high utilization targets, even if the work is not necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Throughout my career I met some very interesting people both on the professional and personal level .
Dept. Tech / Parts analyst (Former Employee), East Fishkill, NYJuly 7, 2014
Pros: paid vacation, sick and good health insurance.
Cons: company downsizing and some broken company promises
IBM was a fantastic and interesting place to work and then finally retiring from. I had the opportunity to advance in my field and in turn we helped educate our three children . I consider myself very fortunate and look back at my career with no regrets.

About IBM

International Business Machines Corporation (IBM), is an information technology (IT) company. s major operations include Global – Read more