IBP Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Mill Room (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSSeptember 16, 2015
I preformed many different tasks. When I first started I worked on knives. This job included cutting meat, keeping my knife clean and sharp, and keeping up with the line. I was able to bid off the knife line and into the Mill Room. In the Mill Room I got my certification on a fork lift. Also in the Mill Room I preformed such tasks as: locked the machine up so that it I could clean and change the hammer out. In this room I also filled the 50% trucks. I also worked the bone room where I had to separate the bones and dust. As for job security Tyson bought out IBP and closed the plant for some time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitiveness of duties. Got along with management and co-workers. Good company to work for.
Cut floor crew member. (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IASeptember 8, 2015
Line production in a meat packinghouse. I was on the boneless loin line (cut floor). Got along with management and co-workers. Gained experience of cutting meat and knowing the different cuts taken from the hog. Hardest part of the job was the repetitiveness doing the same job for the entire tenure. Liked the company and co-workers.
Pros
Good benefits and management.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly led project, poor managemen, poor help
INSTALLER (Former Employee) –  North DakotaSeptember 8, 2015
We were told there was a guy that was supposed to provide any equipment we needed. Call him, he will say no. We were more or less left to fend for ourselves most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent pay rates,team encouragement throughout
Production supervisor (Former Employee) –  Joslin, ILSeptember 6, 2015
Advancement opportunities plenty available.Pay scale increases, job skill improvement programs,team and individual safety incentives and company match investment programs implemented do keep the job interesting and goal driven. Is very physically demanding and high stamina driven.
Pros
advancement opportunities, pay rate increases available
Cons
physically demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, great pay, some hazard issues
kill floor (Former Employee) –  Logansport, INJuly 6, 2015
a typical work day entailed flushing hog head, barrel skinning, marking hams and checking for abscessed and or unfit meat
Pros
friendly staff and good pay
Cons
overloaded hog carts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work.
Processor (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXFebruary 10, 2015
Production Floor beef processor. Remove meat from arm bone of a cow. make sure cuts are precise to provide top quality of meats. must be safety oriented.
Pros
good money
Cons
very hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dakota City, NESeptember 23, 2014
Fast paced production lines. Advancement available to hard working employees.
Pros
overtime available.
Cons
cold work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead man
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, NESeptember 22, 2014
Set up the line and put the people where I need them. The meat came down the line and we broke it down to sell to stores. I learned how to process beef and keep my knifes sharp and work fast and at a steady passé.
we all learned how to work together and get the job done. the hardest was the heavy and hard work, but the best part was I could do it and be proud that it could. Not many people could.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, NESeptember 7, 2014
I worked at this company for eight years learned a lot of jobs requiring knives. I did not like how management treats the employees there and the lack of a labor union allows this mistreatment.
Pros
it pays bills
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kill Floor
Head Table (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 1, 2014
IBP was an extremly hard Job . Long hrs but the pay was worth it . My job was to take all meat off cows head . The most important thing with this job was to stay on your toes and safe .
Pros
good pay
Cons
safe work area
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working With Auto CAD
Design Draftman (Former Employee) –  Dakota Dunes, SDJune 2, 2014
When I was with IBP I mainly worked with the Process Department and the CSA Department
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety and production
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  joslin ilNovember 3, 2013
safety always the game of the game ,when doing a job like that safety has to be the first thing and the only thing on your mind
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great comapany to work for
Sale/ Grading Manager (Former Employee) –  VariousOctober 27, 2013
Managed carcass grading
Export sales of beef carcasses
Managed employees responsible for grade attainment
Trained new employees
Pros
good training program
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at this employer was too long ago for me to generate a fair review
CICS support /Software specialist (Former Employee) –  Dakota City, NESeptember 17, 2013
My days at this employer were too long ago for me to fairly review IBP. It is no longer IBP. They were purchased by and became a part of Tyson Foods sometime after I left.
Pros
provided on-the-job training
Cons
not the most generous with compensation and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always changing.
Line inspector (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAJuly 10, 2013
Not a bad place to work most people were friendly. Very cold environment to work in. Great pay.
Pros
great pay
Cons
cold conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comany went out of business
PICKER, FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Montgomery City, MOJanuary 4, 2013
shipping case pick load trucks
fork lift stand up certified
co workers were people i went to school with so it was ok
lifting the 80 pound boxs
the cool weather
Pros
friendly people
Cons
company went under
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense labor
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Logansport, INOctober 8, 2012
This was a very intense labor position. IBP is now known as Tyson and is a hog slaughter plant so the speed was constant and everyone was required to keep up. I was pregnant when I started this position and left on maternity leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive management team
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Perry, IAJuly 29, 2012
Great place to work for a meat production supervisor- 5 day a week plant, nice quiet family oriented town w/ low cost of living, nice people. Would love to go back if I wasnt tied down due to my husband's career here.
Pros
5 day a week plant
Cons
not all gals can adapt to male oriented environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See Review for Tyson Foods
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dakota Dunes, SDMarch 23, 2012
Great job, Tyson Foods purchased IBP in 2002-2003. I was a project engineer in charge of large capital construction projects. This company had a great engineering support team.
Pros
great leadership, lots of job satisfaction
Cons
some weekend and holiday work and some travel
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
packer (Former Employee) –  Logansport, INMarch 19, 2012
The people here were always nice and helpful.I loved the hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

See more IBP reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture