Find companies:
ICON Clinical Research, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

ICON Clinical Research, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people working in a challenging environment
Executive Assistant - Strategic Development (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: strong and busy environment with breadth of client base that keeps the easily bored very challenged.
Cons: ever changing teammates and projects with multiple contact points around the globe, it's fast and keeping up is a challenge, but once you get it, its gotten
ICON was a job I had never really considered until I was called by their recruiter. The CRO world runs at a pace I had never imagined, and truly thoroughly enjoyed. Many will tell you - ICON is about great people - and it is!!! While any global company has its challenges, one thing that really stood out is that everyone - everywhere in the world - met – more... those challenges in a team oriented fashion which resulted in a great deal of satisfaction as an employee. My boss was dedicated and worked harder than just about anyone and it motivated me to stay 'in it to win it!' The hardest part of the job wasn't really hard - it was just never ending. With a global organization - I could pick up the computer or phone and someone somewhere in the world was actively working on a project that touched me - and so I could work unending. But ironically, there is a sense of fidelity that grows and encourages 4am meetings so you can include people from Germany and China, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for with opportunities for advancement.
Assoc Dir Global Operations, IT (Former Employee), North Wales, PAAugust 5, 2014
ICON is a fast growing Global company who continually restructures to find the best utilization of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ICON
Study Start up Associate II (Current Employee), North Wales, PennsylvnaiAugust 4, 2014
pro: Great benefits, enjoyable work environment, flexible hours, compressed work weeks

cons: Lot of work without employee appreciation. Unable to work from home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Document Management Assistant (Current Employee), North Wales, PAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: teambuilding meetings
Cons: short work week
ICON is a nice company to work for. They provide opportunities for career growth within the company. Nice vacation and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cannot present review. Position was a contract position, time was too short for further evaluation
Document Management Assistant (Former Employee), North Wales, PAJuly 11, 2014
Management appear to be well trained and dedicated to project. Training procedures were also well organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical company
System Support Analyst (Former Employee), North Wales, PAJune 25, 2014
I not bad if you are an actual employee, they aren't the best to contractors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Clinical Trials Assistant (Former Employee), Brentwood, TNApril 29, 2014
Typical day included preparing, handling, distributing, and filing clinical documentation of the trial; handling and providing clinical trial supplies to the study team and investigative sites; accurately tracking and maintaining the clinical systems of the trial as well as the recording of meeting minutes.

Clinical trials are a great benefit to Patients – more... who have trouble affording the drugs or treatment they need. Some patients have no alternatives for treatment and permanent debilitation or death are imminent. In such cases, participation in a clinical trial may give them hope or possibilities that do not exist otherwise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing location, Wonderful group!
Clinical Trial Assistant (Current Employee), New York CityFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: location, peers, managers
Cons: not much room for advancement
I work with an amazing group of people at this location. Everyone at the NYC site is professional, respectful, and very helpful. It's a wonderful group to be in and I value my peers and managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Clinical Trial Assistant (Former Employee), Barcelona, CTJanuary 26, 2014
It was a pleasure for me to work at ICON. Co-workers were always supportive and management eas extremely understanding and always available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management and co-workers were helpful and courteous.
IT Helpdesk Coordinator (Former Employee), North Wales, PAJanuary 15, 2014
A typical day was busy. I learned how to be a positive part of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...
Investigator Contract Administrator (Former Employee), North Wales, PAOctober 1, 2013
Pros: benefits package
Cons: compensation
ICON is a great place to work. The moral of the offices are wonderful. The only thing that was tough was the amount of work that the employees had to take on. It was very overwhelming at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at ICON as a Doc Mgmt Asst from 2005-2008
Document Management Assistant (Former Employee), North Wales, PAAugust 30, 2013
Pros: one hour lunch break and good health benefits package, also vacation pay.
Cons: bad managers.
I liked the perks at ICON Clinical Research but did not care for my manager and how they continued to raise the quota. Too much work for little pay. Typical day at work involved reviewing, scanning, indexing and filing of protocol study drug documents. The hours were flexible which I liked. My co-workers were nice but so much younger than me. I associated – more... mostly with people my own age who were mature. A lot of cliques at ICON which I did not care for. Manager was sneaky and untrustworthy. The hardest part of the job was indexing, I experienced difficulty in grasping it but they continued to raise the bar with the quotas and I was terminated. Never had this problem when I worked for the Dept of Defense for 11 years, that was a great job better than this one. I liked the filing part of the job because there was no pressure or stress in that area. I did experience a panic attack one day at my desk because I was very stressed out at work. I am on medications for that now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stringent, Fast -paced, Metric Driven CRO - Quantity vs Quality - quick to burn out
Clinical Research Monitor (Former Employee), RegionalJune 20, 2013
Pros: managers strive to be positive, supportive and assist, but overwhelmed and strapped, many training sessions are excellent
Cons: too many metrics, demands, training - felt pulled in many directions, studies
Stringent, fast -paced, metric driven CRO - Quantity vs Quality - quick to burn out their people. Travel allocation for the CRA seems
typical, but they don't include the time to get to the sites and back with their requirement. No dedicated office hour time/day to get the administrative work done.
Must be on site 8 hours at least each day. Paperwork, – more... forms, training - higher than average from what's out there and no regular office day. Management expects tasks to be completed at night - after a full day of travel and site work. Company working to be very technical with newer systems, but so many issues with transitioning and technical errors. Burned out quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place for Pharma/CRO experience
Clinical Trial Assistant (Current Employee), HOUSTONJune 18, 2013
Pros: great benefits package
Cons: work load is quite heavy
ICON is a global company, and can feel quite compartmentalized at times. The company as a whole is a great company to work for and a great place to gain experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Clinical Research Associate II (Former Employee), North Wales, PAJune 13, 2013
Pros: no micro-management
Cons: no work - life balance
good place to work though no work-life balance. I learned alot at ICON. The co-workers and most managers were friendly and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Project Support/Data Analyst (Former Employee), Sugar Land, TXMay 18, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: poor management
This company is not well managed and has a high turnover rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, highly motivating field, company culture and work/life balance excellent.
Senior Director, Clinical Operations (Former Employee), Irvine, CAMay 3, 2013
I was with ICON for over 11 years. The experience was highly motivating. My reason for leaving was due to the closing of west coast operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a great company to work with
Employee (Current Employee), AsiaMarch 25, 2013
Pros: great work life balance (work from home and long vl
Cons: management team are mostly new
The company is certainly a great place to work with.
Great team members.
The job is a little challenging as most of the subordinates are fairly new to the company.
It is certainly very rewarding for me to work with people from different region.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teams and valuable work experience.
CRA Manager (Former Employee), RegionalJanuary 14, 2013
I learned alot during my time at ICON.
I learned the basics of monitoring clinical trials, managing sites and teams and the improtance of team work.
My co-workers were great and most of the teams and managers I worked with were very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Icon
In House Clinical Studies Associate (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 27, 2012
Company is limited by its cumbersome HR. Agility and talent are lost by assigning top positions to 'time in' versus merit. This company will continue to take a hit until the get rid of the dead weight from management and hire some innovation.

1 2 3

About ICON Clinical Research, Inc.

Contract research organization (CRO) ICON is not iconic yet, but it would like to be. By the time a new drug hits the market, – Read more