IDEXX LABORATORIES Employee Reviews

Found 91 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
BASIS and SAP Netweaver Administrator (Former Employee) –  Westbrook, MEJanuary 12, 2016
like to work again with this company no pressure enough project schedule no rush of things and well achieved project deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Environment
Dining Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Westbrook, MENovember 20, 2015
Most of my tenure was a blast. I know I brought significant value to the business and was recognized for doing so. I built a team that remains one of the best of my career. Upon reflection, the company has grown are record pace which can be unsettling.
Pros
Free coffee and the best food in Portland Me
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fast paced
Specimen Processor (Current Employee) –  Memphis,TNSeptember 30, 2015
Fast paced but interesting. Easier to learn if you try. Multiple steps to the best outcome but you must follow them for the most accurate results. It is all about the clients and customers. You see a lot when processing. Idexx deals with animal specimen only so we see various samples. One time there was a whole dog's head coming in for rabies testing. Overall great place to work especially if you are full time. Part time does not really get any benefits but starting pay is great
Pros
They do different lunches for employees near the holidays and also show appreciations with food
Cons
Really short breaks and part time does not get any benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work fun and open minded workers
Laboratory Technician II (Current Employee) –  Totowa, NJSeptember 25, 2015
Idexx is a great company to work for i have been working for Idexx for over 10 years and would to keep working here for more years to come.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talented employees
Inside Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WISeptember 18, 2015
Ever changing environment, fast growing and successful company in the Veterinary industry. Excellent products and services and great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed, Cold and Unfriendly
Digital Radiography (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire WiSeptember 13, 2015
A former employee years ago, I came back. All is changed.
In the first week, 40 people were let go out of entire department.
Attended 4 weeks of training - our trainer was outstanding.
The customer service training was a circus.
My first days on the phone - there were two lead technicians who were bullies.
You attend 4 weeks of training and then expected to know everything.
When I worked there before, took 2 months to get up to speed.
You are drilled and they are relentless.
The 2nd day, I had enough and explained what happened to my manager.
Who likes her job and you are just an employee.
I left.
The HR person contacted me and explained what happened in voice mail/email - no response back.
Did not receive an apology from co-workers, management or HR.
Very cold environment.
Go if you want a paycheck, otherwise find a nice job.
Pros
none
Cons
Cold, unfriendly
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level position
Hardware Technician (Current Employee) –  Eau Claire, WISeptember 12, 2015
Idexx is a great place to work, fun and friendly staff, good pay for an entry level position. Fast paced environment with the opportunity to grow within the company. Also periods of slow time which allow you to be constructive within the company.
Pros
Some free lunches, good amount of PTO
Cons
Some negative individuals, Lack of consistency with documentation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't there long enough
Accounts Receivable Specialist II (Former Employee) –  1 Idexx Drive Westbrook MEAugust 3, 2015
Typical day was to post payments to customer accounts using several systems. I wasn't not welcomed into my new position by my new team. Training was not very good. They expect alot of you in a very short time.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Atlanta Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 29, 2015
Productive place to work, laid back atmosphere, friendly co-workers, management has realistic goals for employees, tough to advance within the company
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
hard to advace within company
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Specimen Processing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Totowa, NJJuly 28, 2015
great, friendly culture
Its a pretty laid back work environment. I have learned quite a bit since I have started working there. It is a nice place to grow as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can feel good about what you are doing because it is good work.
CORNERSTONE FIELD SERVICES SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJuly 11, 2015
Improves the lives of people and their pets. Environmentally responsible. Great benefits. This is a top of the line employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Strong Company
Field Support Representative (Current Employee) –  Westbrook, MEJuly 8, 2015
Satellite employee
Independent position
Online or phone collaboration
Completely Customer Facing
100 % travel
Supportive management team
Transparency
Consistently changing
Open to new ideas
Pros
Travel
Cons
Online collaboration does not allow for face to face with coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work at if you dont mind working GY and rotating Sats
Specimen Processor (Current Employee) –  West SacramentoJuly 2, 2015
Co workers are nice and friendly.
Very fast paced environment which I have no problem with
Great shift diff pay and PTO hours
Pros
PTO, shift diff, bonuses, annual pay raise
Cons
schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
IQA Tech II (Current Employee) –  Westbrook, MEJune 26, 2015
Its a pretty laid back work environment. I have learned quite a bit since I have started working there. It is a nice place to grow as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company but lacking visibility
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Westbrook, MEJune 22, 2015
In the years that I have been with IDEXX, we have taken a left turn off the path that many had believed the company was going. The idea of promoting from within has left the window and there's a really push to hire from the outside. This has made the climb of employees difficult as there is no longer a clear path of advancement with most opportunities going to outside applicants...
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time.
Specimen Processor (Former Employee) –  North Grafton, MAJune 19, 2015
I worked for this company in accessioning for about two months. I worked a minimum of 40 hours a week. I was never allowed to take my two 15-minute breaks because the manager said we were too busy.

I had to sit at my desk for hours without a break. If I got up, I felt like I was being timed as to how long I was gone. I watched three people get fired and three other people abandoned the job completely without notice.

If you have an education, you are wasting it in this department. Other departments look happy and motivated- not accessioning.
Pros
You get paid
Cons
no breaks, no job security, negative environment
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work is rewarded ten fold!
Histotechnian II (Current Employee) –  Grafton, MAJune 15, 2015
Idexx is very busy, very fast paced, and I love it! Everyone pitches in and works hard to get the job done. Management is supportive and hard work does reap its benefits. The day flies by. The environment in the lab is very busy - but also very friendly. I love it here and wouldn't consider working anywhere else ☺️
Pros
Great coworkers, great benefits, opportunity to improve current skills and to learn new skills.
Cons
Days can be long if you are not prepared to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is fast pace no room for errors, all test must ordered correctly, follow all SOP
Specimen Processor 2 (Current Employee) –  Totowa, New JerseyJune 11, 2015
On busy days we processed around 2500 to 3000 samples a night. Work is fast pace and need to meet TAT everyday or it gives a negative impression from Management. Co workers are good although they I need to show how to follow instruction in the computer which where our work are relied on. Learned a lot in processing samples that needs to go to other labs, batching, packing procedures. The hardest part of the job is meeting TAT everyday specially if we are understaff and needs to process STAT samples required by the clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance, Managers burn you out for production.
Digital Imaging Engineer (Former Employee) –  Westbrook, MaineJune 5, 2015
Travel every week to multiple locations around the country. Leave on sunday return on Friday. Train medical staff and physicians in how to utilize Idexx practice management software.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place.
Sr. Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 1, 2015
This place is not meant for you if you are looking for laid back place. Has good benefit package and vacation and sick time.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 107 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture