Find companies:
IHOP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,238 reviews

IHOP Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced restaurant.
Server (Former Employee), Lawton, OKJuly 23, 2014
Pros: very busy restaurant
Cons: co-workers were not team players
I like to stay busy and IHOP kept me busy. I'm a people person and enjoy being where i can utilize my customer service skills. Most of my co-workers were great. The management was so so. The hardest part of this job was dealing with lazy co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A steady workplace with a diversity of individual
Server (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJuly 22, 2014
A typical work day was somewhat steady with spurts of rushes throughout the day. I learned to stay calm no matter the situation. Co-workers there was very helpful when it came to doing your side work. The hardest part of my job was trying to calm down a hostile person but it's very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like your second family
Server (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 22, 2014
Pros: tips, 20% discount
Cons: tips
A typical day at work would be to clock in, find out where your section was and what tables you had, made sure that you had enough change, reviewing any specials that you didn't know about, and preparing for the rest of the day. After serving all your tables, going through any complications (if any) , then you had side work to do, then you would turn – more... in your money and what was left is your tips. What I learned was that serving can be very challenging and there are some rude customers out there. Management changed up quite often. My co-workers were like family, I still talk to a few til this very day. Hardest part was making sure that your customers food was right and came on time. The most enjoyable part was knowing that your customer was satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice People to work around;inconvenient
Server (Current Employee), Hixson, TNJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free food, nice people, great company
Cons: no breaks when customers are waiting even if my break is past due.
Very nice people and nice food but its very inconvenient to get to because of the distance from my home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to get introduced to students of NIU.
Waitress (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILJuly 20, 2014
This job allowed me to meet a lot of students on campus. My co-workers were fellow NIU students as well. With IHOP being located right next to the dormitories, it was convenient for me to get to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun and productive place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Oak Park, IllinoisJuly 16, 2014
Pros: great food, great managers, great coworkers
Cons: at times there will be bad crowds that come in
I expedited orders daily, weighed the staff, customer service, and supervised a team of 25 employees. I learned how to listen to the customers and try to resolve their problems so they can continue to support the business. I loved the management they were upbeat and kept a smile always, The coworkers were great team players that welcomed customers with – more... smiles. The hardest part of the job was covering the position that was short from call offs. The thing that I enjoyed was the discount meals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Hostess (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
Fun envirnment
Full of energy /Fast pace
Management could be better
Cool co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the staff is very helpful
Cashier (Former Employee), Carson, CAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: not enough hours
the staff was always able to cooperate besides the average two that where a hassle,i always tried to finish my duties on time and offer exceptional customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work a lot of hours
Hostess (Current Employee), Yuma, AZJuly 15, 2014
Pros: a lot of hours
a lot of hours, good teamwork, nice management, nice customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot restaruant with very high work expectations. and very little pay.
Dish Steward (Former Employee), ardmore P.AJuly 15, 2014
Pros: tips
Cons: very little pay and high work expectations
working at ihop was good at the start but as i started working there longer i noticed that the managers were lazy and they wanted us to do all the work but wouldn't listen to us when we needed something. shifts would get punished for work that the last shift wouldn't get done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to start
Manager (Former Employee), Bloomfield NJJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great manager tarining
Cons: no healthcare
Ihop is a good place where you can really learn the in and outs of being a manager. The people who trained me were some of the bet i have ever met. The hardest part of the job was only in the beginning when you had to first learn the portion measurements for all of the products.The most enjoyable part of the program was learning from the great people – more... I met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun upbeat place to work.
Server/Cashier (Current Employee), Kenner, LAJuly 13, 2014
I enjoy working at Ihop. It is fun to meet new people. I enjoy small conversations with the customers. I enjoy making the customers smile and laugh.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Intense, Inclusive
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Providence, RIJuly 11, 2014
Friendly atmosphere that represents pride in a well known story of legendary drinks and food. Customers are encouraged to be comfortable enoug to throw peanuts on the floor or join in a line dance while enjoying great service and a great menu.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressing
Waitress/Cashier (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 11, 2014
A typical day at work here was hectic and stressful. I learned the deep dark secrets of the waiter/waitress world. My management was not around as much as needed but overall, was great problem solvers. My co workers worked well together but not very well working independently. The hardest part of the job was keeping the customers happy. The most enjoyable – more... part was the food. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Server (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 11, 2014
Ihop is a fast paced restaurants at times. It was enjoyable all the time due to employees making it very comfortable. The Employer and Employee were very helpful when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place!
Waitress (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 10, 2014
At the beginning of a shift you make sure your tables and station are ready for customers. The customer is always first priority and our job was to make sure they left happy. I learned to multi task at a fast pace and also how to handle customers. Management was very nice and I worked well with my co-worker as a team. The hardest part of the job would – more... have to be cleaning and restocking after a rush. The best part would be getting to meet celebrities and people from all over the world! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
General Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 9, 2014
Pros: well paying
Cons: long hours
Promote from within, great company. Loved guests, many regulars. Like seeing family or friends each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Server (Current Employee), Tamarac, FLJuly 8, 2014
Pros: tips
Cons: no room for advancement
Ihop is an overall great job. Good pay with few hours, but unfortunately there isn't room for advancement, and the job leaves you wanting more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Job
Waiter or Waitress (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJuly 8, 2014
Requires attentiveness to clients and people skills. Main job is balanced with side work. I learned how to deal with all types of people. To be efficient with my time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience ever.
Cook, Cooks, Short Order (Former Employee), Farmington, NMJuly 8, 2014
Pros: free meal
Cons: lots of stress and everything had to be done in 7 minutes regardless of how many orders were placed.
While I was hired on as a cook it soon became evedent that with my PTSD interfering with my stress coping abilities that cooking in such an environment wouldn't work for me. Even after several requests to be moved to a better position of dish washer, which would much better suited for my disorder, the ide was rejected. Instead the manager, while not – more... firing me, simply stopped schedualing me for any hours to work. By the time I quit five weeks had gone by where I was given zero hours of work. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About IHOP

This company shows an equal bias for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. DineEquity is one of the leading chain restaurant companies – Read more