Find companies:
IKEA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
888 reviews

IKEA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Furniture Sales (Former Employee), Conshohocken, PAJune 25, 2014
Pros: customers are very nice and have few complaints
Cons: low starting wages
A regular day would be stocking your department, helping customers find furniture selections and straightening furniture display areas. You would book or reserve their selections or send them to the Self Serve Department to pull their own furniture. Weekends are very busy. I learned about product safety and recalls. The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was building furniture and kids department furniture displays. The hardest part of the job would be navigating the layout of a large IKEA store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best
Cashier Assistance (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJune 24, 2014
Amazing Company!!
The management was world class and made everyone's job as easy as cake.
Each day I clocked in; I felt like a little boy going to ToysRUs.
I enjoyed everything about this job and would be delighted to work their again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Home Org (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJune 19, 2014
Fast paced, customer friendly, love the work environment! managers were helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun call center furniture assembly
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Nottingham, MDJune 18, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: schedule
Everyday at Ikea was exciting and new. New furniture, new customers, demostrations and incintives. My co-workers and managnent kept the work enviroment respectful and open. The hardest part of the job was over the phone item assembly. The most enjoyable was helping a customer track and purchase their merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place too work can be yourself
Store Service Advisor/ Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), White Marsh, MDJune 12, 2014
great place too work didn't want to leave this job had to relocate to illinois
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, nice employers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hicksville, NYJune 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches on somedays free coffee&water nice area when taking break
Cons: short breaks didnt work well with schedule
clock in my shift
look at the task my boss would leave for me
clean the area
put items back in the department
change any hanging signs, missing labels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 10, 2014
is tell with management and how they treat people. I never had fun working for them it seem like I was there for them to treat me wrong and I did like
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IKEA Orlando
Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 9, 2014
Pros: $3.00 lunch
Cons: upper management
IKEA is a great company to work for. The culture is fantastic. The Orlando store is not a typical one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 9, 2014
Cons: short breaks, favorites'
While working for IKEA I loved the environment and most of the people. While working I experienced some favorites' , the most important thing to know is never spend more than 15mins while on the clock break in the employee lounge at all. Make sure to stay out of dodge of certain managers and just do your job as best as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simplicity
Cash Office Co-Worker (Former Employee), White Marsh, MDJune 5, 2014
Very comfortable place to work. Dress code was business casual, wearing jeans to work made going to work more relaxed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service, reinforce sales transactions.
Cashier (Current Employee), portland, orJune 2, 2014
Cons: unorganized management team, short hours, issues with scheduling
Mainly a customer service filled environment, not very a diverse job, mostly do the same thing everyday, which is ring customers. I've learned that in such a big company like Ikea, there are too many people who want to be on top. Management has too many issues, that trickle down to the whole department and take affect on us as well. Hard place to have – more... any say in how anything works. Coworkers are wonderful, we all work together surprisingly, seeing how horribly the management team doesn't work so well together, but we as coworkers understand the issues, and we agree on plenty of issues that they have. The hardest part of my job is being heard, but not listened to, and also having to deal with people who have issues with how the store runs, when it is completely out of our control. The most enjoyable part of working at Ikea is, being able to work with coworkers who understand the struggles I go through, because they go through the same in a day to day basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. Great people to be around.
Cashier (Former Employee), Tempe, AZMay 31, 2014
I would recommend this job to anyone. It's a great environment with an outstanding reputation that lives up to its name.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly coworkers
Anonymous (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits!!!
Cons: don't appreciate their coworkers at this store!!!
IKEA is an exciting company to work for however when its time to advance at the IKEA ATLANTA store to a management level it's definitely a no go if you're not willing to play the game. It's not about how long you've been employed at IKEA or what you know it's definitely about who you know at this store and who's a** you're willing to kiss to get to – more... the top. I'm definitely considering moving on to a different store – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Excellent Company for Work/Life Balance Values
Operations/Quality Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 24, 2014
Pros: discounted hot meals - up to 2 per day
Cons: they treat incurred overtime as a crime against the state.
Training opportunities, while numerous, are difficult to get scheduled by the supervising manager and yet still are emphatically required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Retail Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILMay 18, 2014
Management was a little poor but the workload was manageable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and we grow as a family
Replenishment Co-Worker (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLMay 14, 2014
Pros: good peopl, good benefits, and even free luches once a month..
A typical day is to show up for work on time. proceed to the work board to find where you would be working for the day. Then you would proceed to do that job which is to stock that area for the opening of the store. Some days I would work inventory which is about your daily task. Would operate the forklifts to put merchandise away and to off load the – more... trucks. Co workers were friendly and always helpful. We work as a team is one of the best part of working there. I find that we get more done as a team. If one is done with their task, they come to help the ones that are behind. Some task are harder then others, so the best thing is we look out for each other. Stocking the furniture was the hardest part of the job, so it is always helpful when we get help. As long as everyone did their part, everything went smoothly. The most enjoyable part of working their is the employees are friendly and we have a group meeting once a month with lunch and we can chat and have a little fun time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun workplace but poorly managed
Sales (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 14, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Ikea. I made a lot of friendships from working there. They have excellent benefits and the pay is average for retail. The only negative thing that I can say is that the place is poorly managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good attitude for work
Receiver/Stock Clerk (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLMay 14, 2014
Good times, and colleagues with excellent attitude, company with good benefits and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee), Conshohocken, PAMay 13, 2014
a typical day-Greeting customers
sign in children in play area, babysitter

Hardest part of the day-No hard part in the day

Most enjoyable-playing with the children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Safety & Security Manager (Former Employee), Canton, MIMay 9, 2014
Not much room for advancement. Co-workers don't feel respected with the low paying job offered by company.

About IKEA

Since its founding in 1943, IKEA has offered a wide range of home furnishings and accessories of good design and function, at – Read more