Illinois Action for Children Employee Reviews

Showing all 71 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment, friendly staff
Program Design and Management Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 1, 2017
I enjoyed working at Illinois Action for Children. It was a great place to work, but the pay for the level of management and consulting I provided was not comparable.
Pros
Occasional motivational incentives; management retreats
Cons
Inequity in pay across roles
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experiences
Family Resource Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 25, 2017
At Illinois Action for Children, I was able to to have 2 positions. In both positions I was able to do many different tasks that have allowed me to grow professionally.
Pros
Great learning opportunity
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Joyful environment
Childcare Provider (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 18, 2017
I love being around the children and see them make new friends with each other. Helping them with there homework and teaching them things that will help them in the future.
Pros
Outdoor events
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady paced , self managing
Child Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 10, 2017
I enjoyed working as a childcare provider. It came naturally , I love children . I love the relationships built with the parents and children. Not a bad job at all.
Pros
Good wages, self managed
Cons
Monthly wage instead of weekly or by weekly .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism at its finest
Employee (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 5, 2017
My review is brief and concise. Illinois Action for Children is full of nepotism and contradiction. Family members make it know that they know someone on staff when at the potential employee cattle call. Some of the employees themselves are equally unprofessional. Do they pay well...yes its fair. Job security...yes as long as you do your job. Advancement...depends on who you know! Hiring policies need to be revised and replace with TRUE equal opportunity employment.
Pros
Salary, schedule.
Cons
Blatant nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to help parents and children
Family Resource Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 16, 2017
The overall mission of the company to provide child care is great, but upper management does not show employee appreciation properly morally nor financially
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work envoronment
Family Resource (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 15, 2017
Great people to work with; hard to move around when you do your job too good. Awesome PTO; very useful when you need flexibilty and/or have a family...
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned how to take care of a child
Childcare Provider (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 26, 2017
Working for Illinois Action For Children was a great experience. I had to care for a 3 month old baby while his mother attended school. I had to change diapers, prepare baby food, and interact with the child. It was a overall great experience!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catalyst for change in the community of Early Childhood Development
Family Engagement & Parent Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Homewood, ILJanuary 25, 2017
I had the opportunity to work at Illinois Action for Children for over a year as the Family Engagement & Parent Support Manager. During my employment, the agency provided several Professional Development opportunities for their Management Team.
Pros
Professional Development, Relaxed working environment
Cons
Start up Program- Early Learning
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to Work!
HR Specialist (Current Employee) –  Homewood, ILJanuary 10, 2017
Illinois Action for Children is a great place to work and the work life balance is awesome! Great benefits and the culture is amazing. Much better than working in corporate America.
Pros
Pto
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its all work no play
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 3, 2016
My Typical day at work is normally quiet Answering Switchboard 3 days out of a week, Scanning paper work 2 days a week, Pulling paperwork Per Specialist Request, logging information in system.

I've learned so much at my Job on the importance of helping Children/ Families get the help they need for childcare so that they will be able to work knowing there child/children are in good hands with a reliable Provider to care or them.

I have one of the Best Supervisors and Managers in this Business.

Co-workers are Great

The hardest part of my Job is not being able to help Families.

The most Enjoyable part of my job Learning new Projects Daily.
Pros
we have an open door policy to express ourselves
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great agency to work for if you have the right supervisor!
Family Resource Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2016
Your experience will depend on your work ethic and supervisor. Some micro-manage, and some are a peach to work with. Too many women, they need to hire more men to keep it diverse.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Dont get yearly raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you're male or into technology
Web Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 30, 2016
Female dominated, man haterish culture. CEO will fire anybody who is into tech at the drop of a dime. They will also fight you on UE benefits on top of which.

Negative work environment.

Don't work here if you like your life.
Pros
you can nurf and update social media all day long
Cons
where careers come to die
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Director (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 27, 2016
This is a mission driven organization, with many people passionate about serving the most vulnerable children in communities. People are experienced and very smart. The culture is down-to-earth and unpretentious.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lead Family Resource Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 17, 2016
Great place to service families that need help the most. I really enjoy the job because I know I am helping the much needed families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day was great
Childcare Provider (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 15, 2016
It was a great place to work at the staff was very supportive as well.
I really enjoyed being there.it was a great place to be.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
different clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Mailroom Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 27, 2016
I love this job i was able to work at my own pace and eat freely through out the day the work place was high energy. the most enjoyable part of the day was going home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
A state and national leader (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 14, 2016
Great mission, great benefits and great work/life balance. Employees believe in the mission, some have been with the organization 10, 15, 20 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Ready to Learn! Partner Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 4, 2016
IAFC is a great place to work, excellent benefits and the President is the bomb. Work days are fun, coworkers are great and the most enjoyable part of my day was the flexibilty
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slack on payments
Childcare Provider (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 3, 2016
It is an busy working days for myself but they do not pay on time in my needs. so looking for something better or second job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Illinois Action for Children. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 71 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

59%
22 ratings
Add your rating

Illinois Action for Children Reviews by Location