Find companies:
Illinois Action for Children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Illinois Action for Children Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing work environment
Applications processor (Current Employee), chicago IlDecember 8, 2014
The workplace over all is good. Its the supervisors that are unprofessional. The hardest part of the job is when you get accustomed to processing one way, it changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Family Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: work day flow was great
Cons: phone volume was heavy
Compensation and benefits was great. The programs were great and the calculation process was great. Working with the various families was great. the hardest part was the call volume was very high and hard to services some people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IAFC does wonderful work for working families
Family Resources Coordinator Support Staff (Current Employee), Chicago, IlAugust 13, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, nice co-workers
Cons: salary
Illinois Action for children provides a service to working families that will pay for their childcare while parents work and or go to school that cannot afford childcare. This a blessing in these times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pre-K Teaching
Type 04 Lead Teacher (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great 401k, medical, and dental benefits package
Cons: no annual raise
Working with Pre-K children is very rewarding because they are always willing and ready to absorb all learning opportunities. It is sometimes challenging working in a childcare center because you have to adhere to the agency guidelines and center guidelines. Managers are always helpful and in place to be an advocate for learning and for the agency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Illinois Action for Children is a great place to work
Family Resource Specialist/Teen Parent Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 21, 2014
Pros: enhancement programs for employees
Illinois Action for Children meets its mission by putting children and families first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
Receptionist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 9, 2014
Pros: nice people working there
Cons: very bad management
I have experienced poor communication between management and employees. Employees are unhappy in most departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Enviorment
Family Resource Specilist (Former Employee), Chicago ILMarch 17, 2014
Pros: paid time off
Cons: salary
The BEST thing about this company is the PTO!! It's an excellent starter job, it shouldn't be a career. Some of the people that work here that have longevity think they know everything (and don't) Most supervisors are very nice & helpful but then there are a few that oh'well.. It happens in every company. You also have to join the union who does absolutely 'NOTHING" And the pay is not the greatestfor the amount of work they expect from you, but what you miss in pay they make-up in time-off.. Overall not a terrible place to work, Just needs a bit more structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and high-energy work environment
Family Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: pto, great coworkers and management staff
Cons: mandatory phone shifts daily
Great place to work on an entry-level basis. Typically, half of my day is spent on the phones with clients, and the other half is spent processing paperwork. The hardest part of the job for me is the fact that we have scheduled mandatory phone shifts. I didn't know that it would be like a call center. The most enjoyable part for me is the fact that I get to assist clients in obtaining child care assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers. Like Family
Family Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 1, 2014
I learned a lot from being at this agency. I learned how to be analytical, time management skills, organizational skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a place where I got good experience from many different departments.
Family Resource Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 6, 2013
I like working for Maximus but there was a lot of changes with staff and management before I left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
Family Resource Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 7, 2013
Pros: good benefits and paid time off
Cons: the pay is not good.
I enjoy the people and public that I work with but I am not satisfied with the agency as a whole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun because I love kids
Daycare Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 27, 2013
The work was great because I got to get paid for doing something I loved. The children were scared at first but as they got used to the center they had fun and enjoyed their selves while in my care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Lucinda Branch (Manager) (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 27, 2013
Diverse atmosphere with very productive processes. Processing customer and daycare center billing and renewals with state of Illinois daycare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kids
Site Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 22, 2013
Pros: free trips
Cons: no room
feed kids play with the kids teach them about lifei had a team of 25 kids at a time to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great experience working for Illinois Action For Children
Daycare Provider (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2013
Making sure the kids were fed with breakfast.
Let the kids finish sleeping with a nap.
Tutored the kids with homework.
Let the kids have play time.
Fed the kids lunch.
Let them take another nap.
Lets the kids play around until client came to pick them up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Family Resource Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 24, 2013
I enjoy coming into work everyday because everyday is different. I do know that at the end of the day I have help families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE PLACE TO WORK FOR STUDENTS
Activity and Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 9, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
GREAT PLACE FOR STUDENTS I LOVED THE KIDS AN THE PEOPLE I WORKED WITH VERY NICE PLACETO WORK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable income
Child care provider (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 8, 2013
Pros: check in the mail
Cons: interuptions in child care payments, lobbying to keep child care a priority among american working families
Security and dependable income, once all paperwork is complete!
I learned how the state of Illinois handles the budget for child care.
The hardest part of the job was submitting paperwork over and over again if technicle difficulties arise.
The most enjoyable part of the job is creating a positive and fun learning environment experience for toddlers to support family members working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and Fun
Recreation Leader (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 3, 2013
I love my children at my site and love my team. I get to workout every week and have fun doing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding company to work for.
Quality Rating System Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 20, 2013
Pros: friendly professional environment
Cons: not enough work space for field employees.
I really enjoyed my work with the company. The work that they do for children and families is very rewarding. They are a great advocate for children and families in the county.