Illinois Valley Community College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bosses
Administrative Assistant For Vice President (Former Employee) –  Oglesby, ILSeptember 11, 2017
I learned so much working at IVCC. I had the best bosses ever! I did not experience the cattiness that you would expect while working in an office full of woman.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Beginning
Physical Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oglesby, IllinoisAugust 17, 2017
Coming straight from high school IVCC was a great transition college from small town to big city college. It gave me so many good life experiences before I was on my own. Working with IVCC, you will have an array of jobs to pick from while also being able to balance school. It is also a wonderful place to start even if you are not coming from high school. IVCC has a wide range of ages of people attending and lots of different lives cooperating in one area with various accommodating schedules.
Pros
Nice campus, cheap lunch, good learning environment
Cons
Only associates and other smaller certificates can be acheived
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No place so close
Current Adjunct part-time instructor (Current Employee) –  IllinoisMay 31, 2017
Working at IVCC is very enriching. It supplies me with an opportunity to hone my skills as an instructor and run classes as I see fit according to educational standards. It is a little over saturated with an older population as teachers and such so I feel as though new blood is needed to accommodate to the new age technology student. I believe it is a top notch school for student value and expectations of higher education.
Pros
Friendly staff, hometown feel
Cons
limited career advancement, not very progressive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hobby lobby not what they posted
Customer Service/ Department Head (Former Employee) –  Peru, ILMarch 27, 2017
i loved my job, the customers were awesome and the coworkers were great. I worked alot of hours and was able to provide my family. I loved the creative side of retail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I've ever had
LAB ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  IllinoisDecember 11, 2016
This job was a learning experience and has opened many opportunities for me. This was a work study job that was partially paid for FAFSA.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coordinator of peer tutoring and adjunct faculty
peer tutor coordinator and adjunct faculty (Current Employee) –  ILAugust 12, 2015
I worked with students that had a hard time understanding assignments and doing the assignments. I worked with teachers giving workshops.
Pros
fun
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oglesby, ILJanuary 31, 2015
Most of the workers are friendly. The atmosphere is more apathetic in recent years. There have been big changes in our health care plans which has made most of the employees unhappy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for!
ESL Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oglesby, ILJanuary 31, 2014
The people are great and very easy to get along with! Very helpful co-workers and supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time accounting instructor
Part-time Business Education Instructor (Former Employee) –  Oglesby, ILNovember 18, 2013
I taught evening classes in accounting and business, part-time. Usually just one class per year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Science Foundation Team Member
National Science Foundation Leadership Team Member (Former Employee) –  Oglesby, ILOctober 14, 2013
Participated in numerous Techinical/Engineering Camps while in college.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical experience
CNA (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ILMarch 3, 2013
I never recieved money here it was where our CNA clinicals were.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching lab...
Student Organization Dental Assistant, President (Former Employee) –  ILNovember 12, 2012
I taught how to take radio graphs, impressions, and chair side assisting...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic environment
Enrollment Services Asst (Former Employee) –  Oglesby, ILMarch 4, 2012
I enjoyed working at I.V.C.C. very much. `Fun and exciting academic environment.
Pros
one reduced class fee.
Cons
compensation was low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Illinois Valley Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.3
Culture
4.4

Illinois Valley Community College Reviews by Location