Find companies:
In-N-Out Burger
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
209 reviews

In-N-Out Burger Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate (Current Employee), Redding, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: free food and great atmosphere
Cons: can be hectic if you cant work as a team member.
The cleanest fastest food joint with the highest quality of food. The people that work here take great pride in there work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for anyone who can work hard and work well under pressure.
Level 7, Assistant Manager (Current Employee), CaliforniaAugust 28, 2013
Pros: pay, company, people, customers, food, flexibility, quick advancement
Cons: late hours, physical labor, try to find balance between work and home
I've been there for almost a decade - since I turned 16 and could work! I know this job like the back of my hand but still see myself learning something new and improving. The people are what keep you coming back. It sure is a lot of standing up, moving around, physical labor, etc. For the pay and benefits, it's worth it. It also depends on the management – more... team you have - I am lucky to be apart of such a great team now. I love the diversity of ages, ethnicity, and personalities in the stand.

It doesn't feel like work when you really like what you do. Yes - this is a job, so it gets stressful at times when people call in sick or it gets really busy unexpectedly, but in the end it is well worth it if you have the can-do personality and genuinely like people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Irvine, CAAugust 27, 2013
good company to work for, good benefits great advancement, but store managers have their favorites which is not fair to others seeking careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn a great work ethic
Associate Level 3 (Former Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 22, 2013
Fun and friendly. Hardest part of the job is not knowing when you will be going home because there is a 2 hour guarantee of hours based on customer flow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, hard working environment with questionable advancement procedues
3rd Manager (Former Employee), Torrance, CAAugust 20, 2013
Pros: high wages, friendly co-workers, flexable schedules, great benefits
Cons: repetitive work, physicaly demanding, lack of management recognition
Work consists of high quality, face paced, energetic customer service via a quick service restaurant environment. Multiple tasks and positions are completed and worked throughout the day, which makes for an ever-changing and never boring work place. I learned a great deal about managerial style and tactics, food handling and safety, training procedures, – more... customer service, money handling and personal connections. As a manager, I learned that the focus can sometimes veer from the employees to the business, which can sometimes lead to the work environment becoming more about the end result rather than the tasks at hand, which would sometimes make for an uncomfortable and stressful work environment. Co-workers are fantastic, as this company strive to hire only individuals who can strive in high stress situations, while maintaining a friendly and helpful attitude throughout. The hardest part of this job was the sometime relentless pace of work to be done, as well as management's inability to promote based upon performance and result, in favor of personal affiliations. The most enjoyable part was the pay, in relation to other "fast food" companies, as well as the fellow employees, which made the work environment enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn what true customer service is
Store Associate (Former Employee), Sunnyvale, CAAugust 15, 2013
As a level 4 of 6 employee, I was consistently making sure mines alone with everyone else's customer service was beyond exceptional. As well, operated the cash register, handled money and made correct change and assisted with cleaning dining areas, food preparation area and bathrooms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most fun job I ever had.
Shift Leader/ Cook (Former Employee), Stockton, CAAugust 13, 2013
This place taught me all the values of hard work and friendly environment that I was able to take with me into the medical field and I know that it is the reason why I have been a success and a happy employee in what can be stressful for other individuals. I can never put into words how appreciative I am for the experience I gained at In N Out Burger. – more... I hold a very high respect for the entire corporation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Store Associate (Former Employee), Midvale, UTAugust 13, 2013
In-N-Out Burger not only offers great pay and benefits to their employees, but also a respectful, well-managed and professional environment. The shifts are challenging in a very fulfilling way, and teamwork is an absolute must. The stores run on the associates' ability to communicate and work as a team to provide the customer with a consistently high – more... quality product every time.

Management runs the company extremely well. Standards are not compromised, and my experience with management carries over a couple of stores. No complaints at either one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environmen.
Overnight Clean-up (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 13, 2013
Pros: free meal each shift.
Cons: none.
I learned how to manage time well. I had to learn which tasks to get done before employees started to clock in, then continue continue with tasks that would not interfere with others' tasks and duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job for students
Cook (Former Employee), Chandler, AZAugust 13, 2013
Fun working enviroment and plenty of advancement...................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work.
Employee (Former Employee), Mountain View, CAAugust 11, 2013
Pros: free meal everyday
As long as you moved quickly, you had no problem. Staff was friendly and the management was pretty good. Hardest part was keeping pace, particularly at the store I worked at. It was busy most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Level 5 (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAAugust 4, 2013
At In-N-Out Burger every day is a little bit different. Besides the fact that dealing with customers is distinct in itself, you're always able to work a different position. This allows you to practice and makes you eligible to get a raise. Management is helpful and they always push you to be the best. Overall it's a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I've had thus far.
Level 3 (Current Employee), Mesa, AZAugust 1, 2013
Pros: company picnics, free burger at every shift & amaing benefits
Cons: none in my opinion.
This is a job I will probably stay at for the rest of my life not matter if only working 1 day a month. The environment is fun, exciting, you learn something new everyday and they also teach you how to interact with the customers in such a positive way its hard for people not to leave happy. The associates are all amazing and my boss is probably one – more... of the most admirable, honest, kind and fair men I have met in awhile. They teach you on a daily bases something new so its not the same repetitive thing everyday! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun to work at
Entry Level (Current Employee), Rohnert Park, CAAugust 1, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
cutting the produce
all my co-work fun,funny,outgoing
love working any shift
the management are really cool
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORK PLACE TO WORK IN
Associate Cashier (Current Employee), Fairfield, CAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: free meals
I enjoy working at in n out, is a good job to work at. I have learn so much on customer service, respect and self control and to work hard. I had good and bad times with them but also learn to appreciate from a good team work. And the management is not that well but I think it can be better. My co-workers are awesome and helpful to work with. The most – more... enjoyable part of my job is when it gets really busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Associate (Former Employee), Barstow, CAJuly 23, 2013
Each day was a different job. One day you could be on the registers, and the next you would be washing dishes or prepping food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Level 5 Associate (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 23, 2013
Pros: free food during shift, annual company picnic, sick/vacation pay
Cons: strict dress code, high-stress, strict rules
In-N-Out Burger is definitely a company worth working for. Their values and standards are wholesome and set high to ensure quality service and food. A typical day is fast-paced and high-stress, but everyone has a smile on and the challenges make each day interesting. Management is well-structured and fair. The co-workers are always welcoming and friendly. – more... The hardest part of the job is smelling like In-N-Out Burger all the time and the strict dress-code. Also, it is easy to get glared at if you ever fall behind on a position. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting through the day successfully and moving up the In-N-Out Level Ladder. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Associate Level V (Former Employee), San Fernando, CAJuly 17, 2013
Free lunch and great workplace. The management is very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with great work ethic.
Store Associate (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAJuly 14, 2013
Pros: free lunches, dental plan
Cons: short breaks, healthcare plan, stressful
A day at work is filled with different components. You get rotated from position to position and it is to keep you working on your toes. It is very customer oriented and focused. The customer is always right and everything you do at this job is for the customer.

I have learned how to effectively deal with angry customers, how to hone my communication – more... skills, and how to effectively work under pressure. The management is great for both the customer and employees. The co-workers are hard working people that have great motivation and a great teamwork is always displayed.

The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the fast paced environment. It used to be challenging but it gets easier with time. It is also quite stressful because you must be able to multitask and keep up with the fast speed.

The most employable part of the job is that the compensation is worth it and it is a great opportunity that cares. This job actually does a great job to hone your skills, and develop new skills you can apply to your life and/or other professions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving family setting
Associate-Manager (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: benefits, free meal when clocked in, 401k
Cons: small area to work in
A typical day at work as manager began with filling out a line-up for the shift. A line-up included the project sales, hours scheduled, where each associate would work for the day and the responsibilities of each position. As a manager one must set clear expectations and then offer feedback of observations to make sure the guidelines were met or to – more... use as a tool to teach and coach. In management I learned about back-room/ office items such as ordering, taking accurate inventory, basics in scheduling, recording temperatures, accounting for the deposit and filling out sales and cleanliness charts. I also learned about mentoring and training others and having an energetic presence to get the job done but to still have a good time. My superior managers were always really supportive in helping me to move up and I would consider some of them my life mentors. The hardest part of the job was overcoming myself but I had my fellow co-workers and managers who saw my potential and helped to bring it out. The most enjoyable part of the job was that smiling was part of our uniform and smiling is contagious and I was able to share that with my co-workers and give it to out customers. – less

About In-N-Out Burger

In-N-Out Burger is a regional chain of fast food restaurants with locations in the western United States. Founded in 1948 by Harry – Read more