Find companies:
Independent Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Independent Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
State Programs Processor (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYNovember 22, 2014
IHA was a decent place to work. They offered much job advancement but the pay was low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medicare Servicing Representative (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYNovember 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Great place to work, especially if you have a family. Wonderful staff, I had to leave due to a move unfortunately, and it was to far of a drive, so I had to leave my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
QA Lead - Salesforce (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 5, 2014
I love o work here. Campus is very work friendly. People are very nice here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Facility Reimbursement & Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 3, 2014
I think Independent Health is a great place to work. I really enjoy the atmosphere and the people I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training, guidance
Coordination of Benefits (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYAugust 7, 2014
A typical day started at 7am logging into the system as quickly as you came in as there was always a supervisor keeping an eye on you. Supervision frowned upon any interaction between employees.
Overtime was mandatory between 10-20 hours per week, depending upon how far behind they where.
Training was minimal at best, new computer system things where – more... changing constantly, not only daily but some days these changes where hourly.
QA department was not trained in how to adjudicate a claim so there was a constant fear of receiving a QA notification, you where allowed only 3-5 a month.
Co-workers where great.
Pay was horrible considering the amount of knowledge you where required to have and the lack of training that went with it.
COB department did not appreciate anyone who had more experience or could process faster then employees who had multiple years of experience.
It is sad working for one of the largest health care companies in the area and you make so little that you qualify for Medicaid.
Temp employees are treated as outcasts and continually called TEMPS.
Unsure of how the remainder of the organization is run but if it is anything like the claims department, I seriously would not even consider working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Member Services, Complex Accounts (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYAugust 5, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Good company and culture. I am elgible for rehire here and would love to work here again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
DATA ENTRY CLERK (Former Employee), Depew, NYJuly 29, 2014
Working in Data Entry it is very laid back. Easy to work independently. Days pass fast while completing all assigned work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented workplace
Claims Auditor (Current Employee), Williamsville, NYJuly 15, 2014
Pros: close to shops, stores, dress down days, good healthcare
Cons: poor leadership/management, no room to advance
Most everyone is very friendly and approachable, embrace family dynamics. Systems are very behind the times compared to other larger insurers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place
IT Solutions Architect (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 24, 2014
The technical managers are awesome. Team work is appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ETL Consultant
ETL consultant (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYMay 13, 2014
It was really a good experience.
It was really a good experience.
It was really a good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at the workplace
Customer Care Rep (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 27, 2014
Pros: paid sick days, vacation days, good hours, flexible to the employee
Cons: the job closed down
The company was a good smooth environment to work in, I learned how to process loans what to look for, and what to not to look for as far as the numbers on the loan. The management was very helpful in assisting with questions and inquiries. The co-workers were very energetic, and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was first learning how – more... to the job, but after its done so many times it becomes easy. Every thing about the job was enjoyable I have no complaints, except for the job closing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Informatica Developer (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYFebruary 28, 2014
I got opportunity to work in health care sector. Most enjoyable part of this company is work on Friday after 2 pm everybody were in weekend mood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair compenstation
Medical Fraud, Waste, and Abuse Investigator (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: compenstation
Cons: room to grow and move up
Fair compenstation, flexible schedule, nice culture, fortunate for my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Description
Sales Rep (Former Employee), Lakewood, NYJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: at will company
Responsible for following up on company generated Medicare sales leads, as well as developing community contact relationships resulting in referrals for enrollment. Training on all aspects of Medicare to stay compliant with rules and regulations of The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Performing Medicare approved sales presentations at numerous – more... territory locations resulting in enrollment goals. Managing staff and daily operations of my Medicare Information Center during the Annual Election Period. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, great culture and a strong company.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYOctober 30, 2013
A typical day was non-existent at the level that I worked. I was in a role that took on any and all issues that arose, and I was to reactively solve the issues as efficiently as possible. Although the expectations regarding the aforementioned weren't well defined, each issue was a welcomed challenge and allowed for some good learning opportunities. – more... The people and culture are both great, and were the most enjoyable part of the job. The hardest part of my role was the lack of management for the management level. I feel that with more mentoring and counsel I would've reached a higher level in the years that I was employed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developer
Sr. Informatica Developer (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYSeptember 19, 2013
• Involved in Requirement Analysis, ETL Design and Development for extracting the data which is stored in different sources like Oracle, SQL Server.
• Analyzed, designed and developed an environment that would facilitate the use of Informatica to transform data coming into Adim datamarts.
• Developed complex Informatica Mappings with transformations – more... like lookup, router, aggregator, expression, update strategy, joiner and etc.
• Created Connected, Unconnected and Dynamic Lookup transformations for better performance.
• Created sessions, worklets, workflows for the mapping to run daily, biweekly based on the business requirements.
• Extensively used Parameter files, mapping variables in the process of development of the mappings for all the dimension tables.
• Worked on handling performance issues of Informatica Mappings, evaluating current logic for tuning possibilities.
• Created and executed unit test cases for various scenarios for all the mappings, workflows and scripts.
• Involved in unit testing and fixing the bugs identified, provided data to the reporting team for their daily, weekly and monthly reports.
• Worked on modification of UNIX shell scripts.
• Involved in team weekly and by monthly status meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYAugust 1, 2013
Pros: flexiable hrs, benefits, full time pay.
Cons: not enough parking.
A typical day at work was assisting members with there eligibilty related inquiries.

This was my 1st health insurance company, so I learned what type of questions and concerns health insurance patients have.

Managment wasn't very hands on.

Coworkers were friendly.

I worked mid day, so the hardest part with finding parking,

Enjoyed assisting thr – more... customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developer position in IT
Developer (Former Employee), WilliamsvilleNovember 19, 2012
Pros: benefits, pto, work/life balance, community service
Cons: more politics than normal, talent shortfall, middle management
In my time there the few employees with high skill levels, aptitude and intelligence were undervalued, misrepresented and overburdened. Those who gelled well with middle management(outside of work) were inline to be protected and advanced despite a serious lack of skills necessary to perform the job they are doing. Due to this many of the projects are – more... over budget, late and are done with low quality and in many cases not even completed well. This ties into heavy dependency on consulting firms which drives up costs further and puts further pressure on. Also, the environment surrounding middle management is very political and not based on a productive work environment. In my experience there it looked like the company lacked the necessary leadership at that level that leads by example and is desperately needed to take on a challenging future for Healthcare.

The compensation is not great but very good benefits and generous PTO make up for it in a sense. Also, the company has great work life balance as most employees are not pushed and many people work less than the required hours unless there is a major government regulated initiative due. Most of the employees outside of IT and few within the department are kind and generous. Also, the company itself is involved in a lot of community work and does a lot of good for society. Upper Management have their heart and mind in the right place. – less

January 27, 2013

Sounds like Palladian Health to many queen bees there too.. miss I know it all.. !!! Nothing but BULLIES

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 8, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits
The thing I value the most is the team work that I see everyday from my co-workers. Everyone is always willing to help no matter what they have on their plates. Especially with regards to the management, my superiors have always made time to help with individual growth and education in both my personal and professional life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Coordinator
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJuly 30, 2012
Challening part-time position which allowed flexibility in work schedule.