Independent Living Employee Reviews

Found 97 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Place to still have your independents
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2017
Spent with Families, residents, and new potential residents that are looking to move in.

That all people no matter what age still want to have their independents, and be heard.

Loved the work place.

Hardest part of the job. Trying to please everyone.

Most enjoyable- The residents...learning about their history, and life.
Pros
Great when census is up
Cons
to many independent living facilities currently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 6, 2017
Learning experience brought me into a new love of employment. Spending time with my clients made me happy. Wanted to do anything possible to make them comfortable.
Pros
Learning and flexible
Cons
Very short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent living
Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJuly 1, 2017
I like the job it was fun and very intriguing. I love my consumers they was awesome. Didn't like the way they treat us with the pay and how they didn't give our holiday pay hours always short
Pros
Helping the people that cant do for themselves
Cons
They make it hard so they don't have to get a raise and they really don't care about the emplyees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job
Direct Care Staff (Current Employee) –  Ste. Genevieve, MOJune 28, 2017
This job made me so happy. I am only looking for something closer to home due to having wrecked twice on highway 32. working with the mentally disabled is definitely the field I want to work in.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Short Staffed To many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaned my mother's boyfriend's home
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Van Buren, MOJune 15, 2017
I had an extremely flexible schedule because he was on dialysis. I quit that job because I had just had a baby. Besides that, his adopted son pulled a gun on me.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
The adopted son
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not an easy place to get work through
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Malone, NYJune 7, 2017
The management was ok the down falls were you get paid through independent living but the families do the hiring and firing as well as any training you need if you dont know a family you go on a list if they remember to put you on you clock in from the phone at the families house no record of your hours worked but as an overall i didnt have a problem taking care of my resident
Pros
The staff and family was great
Cons
Clocking in at residents house from house phone no record of hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSMay 31, 2017
Independent Living, Caregiver provides a variety of assistance to multi-leveled disabled. It involves some heavy lifting for some patients but not all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cared for elderly couple
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaMay 18, 2017
Assisted with bathing, cooked, cleaned, administered medications, gave insulin shots. Did daily puzzles to keep mind stimulated. Washed clothes. Took couple to Dr appointments.
Pros
Enjoyed assisting the elderly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work caring for people
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOMay 18, 2017
help people take baths, get dressed, help them prepare meals and clean their house. i enjoyed working one on one with people who needed extra help to care for themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Todos los beneficios de un trabajo independiente.
Home Cleaning (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 16, 2017
Limpieza de casas. Las casas que limpiaba eran de conosidos. Un dia tipico en el trabajo era cuando le limpiaba toda la casa a mis clientes. Lo que apredido de este tabajo es que si todo queda como nuevo y no sucio, el cliente se siente y aprecia mas el trabajo de unomiso.
Pros
indivualismo, horario no fijo, securidad de trabajo.
Cons
Cansa mucho el trabajo
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fun work place
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 13, 2017
Something to do new each day. Always learning and keeping busy. Taking individual on outings. Doing fun activities. Visiting family and friends with individual.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 12, 2017
Amazing place to be employed. really good adminstration and great communication between worker and boss. When having a concern they work it out with a solution in mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Direct Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMay 10, 2017
I actually loved circle k i got to meet alot of differnt ppl. Its was one of my best jobs ever i would love to work there if they paid a little more and appreciate their ppl
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dorm life was great
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAMay 8, 2017
working in the dorm was so fun for me. In this environment I got to see the students in there comfort zone and I got a chance to get to know the students on a personal level.
Pros
great job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was taking care of family
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOMay 4, 2017
I took care of my grandmother and uncle it was rewarding because I got to spend time with them. I took care of the day to day cleaning,did laundry, paid there bills and more
Pros
Spending time with family
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for starters!!
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJMarch 1, 2017
The commute from NY to NJ was quite expensive but it was worth it because of the time and effort they spend training you to be a great medical receptionist. It feels less like an office setting considering it's a home for mentally disabled adults but once you get to know everyone, it can feel just like home.
Pros
fare reimbursement, flexible hours, full time - part time positions
Cons
no health care coverage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home care worker
Supportive Homecare Worker (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSFebruary 5, 2017
taking care of two individual special needs adults integrating them into the local community. Assisting with doctors appointments, laundry, grocery shopping, sports events and other transportation needs.
Pros
I could schedule my own hours
Cons
patient crisis
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ili
Peer Recovery Specialist (Current Employee) –  Newburgh, NYNovember 21, 2016
Good company to work for, small but not enough opportunity for advancement, work is rewarding on certain occasions but sometimes hectic. I recommend this company for individuals new to you the field.
Pros
paid lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive are and fun place to work at.
Patient Coordinator (Former Employee) –  810 seventh ave suite 801November 11, 2016
Was speaking to members on phone. learn how to work on special projects. work with management. work as a team player. it will be a Chellenge to over come.was working with my co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding the nature of our job responsibilities
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 9, 2016
A typical work day is arriving to work on time, exchanging information with previous staff about what occured during the previous shift, clarifying any instructions from the rest of the team and proceeding to perform responsibilities on one own shift while also ensuring clients safety.
Pros
Positive impact on clients lifes
Cons
Under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Independent Living. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 108 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Independent Living Reviews by Location