Find companies:
Indian Health Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

Indian Health Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nutrition Health Care and Physical Education for Native American Indians
Public Health Nutritionist (Current Employee), McDermitt, NVMarch 29, 2014
Pros: working with native american indians of all ages
Cons: very remote and rural requires alot of driving
Planning health presentations and exercise activities for Native American Indians of all ages at risk for Diabetes and related complications.

Diabetic Education to patients and families seen at the IHS clinic. Documentation into EHR.

Diabetic Audit Data entry into RPMS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned how to work with a culture very different than mine & how to work with little equipment or guidance.
Clinical staff nurse, Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Shiprock, NM Whiteriver, AZMarch 13, 2014
Pros: government benefits, incredible learning experience
Cons: indian preference, apathy
Worked at two different hospitals on different reservations from 1985-1996. Shiprock, NM & Whiteriver, AZ. Was my first nursing job and I am glad as I learned tons in part as these sites are so remote we had to do everything. I worked Med/Surg, ICU. and ER. Saw lots of trauma and severe infections. Collaboration could be challenging as regardless of – more... how much the natives loved you, you are never really one of them. I learned to be diplomatic and respectful. We had great medical staff but they are fresh out of school. You rely on your brain and intuition as services are often difficult to access. I have done so many things in my career partly because of IHS, There is no where you will get the experience you get on the Rez! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty Clinic and Poor Health Standards!
RN Manager (Former Employee), San Jose CAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: the only native american working there is the janitor...(i am not kidding)
Cons: everything
Stay away from this place!!!
I was employed here only 2 weeks. In that time I tried to get the employees to clean the rooms after every patient with bleach instead of just changing the paper on the beds. I was met with aggression and with excuses such as the smell of bleach gives the assistants a migrane. Patients were coming in with colds, disease – more... and infection and then well babies and elderly, one right after the other. The equipment was not being cleaned, the urine was being left on the counter for hours where newborn shots were prepared, and the staff ate in the same area. It was filthy. Instead of changing practice they let me go and I was happy to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Program Manger Assistant (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: n/a
Productive work place, I worked for this company. Loved the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Cage Wash Attendant (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJanuary 29, 2014
this job was good, it was very fast pace the manager did care about there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Institute of Health: privilege to work there
Biological Aide (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: ...
As a biological aide, I grew monoclonal cells of interest and tested them for their ability to produce antibodies. I learned about sterile technique in the handling of cells, making broth, and maintaining incubators. The hardest part of the job was dealing with contamination of colonies. The most enjoyable part was learning about this branch of science.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Volunteer (Former Employee), TXJanuary 22, 2014
Help a post doc with his research and extract RNA run RT-PCR's learned a lot of cell culture and how to present a research paper as well as a poster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good at design , development and testing.complete sdlc
Sr. Java Developer - Government Contractor (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDJanuary 17, 2014
worked on critical modules, excellent problem solving skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work for the government & great opportunity for growth.
Executive Assistant - Office of Regional Director (Former Employee), Aberdeen, SDJanuary 9, 2014
Great opportunity to work for the government & great opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and very productive
Medicaid Eligibility Specialist II (Current Employee), Athens, TXJanuary 5, 2014
Answering inbound calls and answer questions about their case's. Being able to navigate on a computer is mandatory in order to be able to survive at this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organizaton to work for
Client Services Manager (Former Employee), Rockville, MDDecember 23, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: lay offs as a contractor
Fast paced organizaton that cares about its emploiyees. As a contractor there was a lot of flexibility with the work schedule. Collaborated with a great team of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the doctors
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 15, 2013
Pros: finding the information for the doctors
Cons: long ride to work
Typed and filed correspondence
Gathered medical literature to be sent to doctors in other locations
Faxing and Photocopying medical records
Answer Telephone and take messages of doctors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasure to work here
Clinical lab in-charge (Former Employee), vadodaraDecember 4, 2013
It help us to chance to grow. very good for beginners and experience persons
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment to work
IV/Oncology Pharmacist (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDNovember 26, 2013
Nice work life balance. There's something new to learn everyday. Investigational drugs in Phase I and II clinical trials makes my work life very interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Jr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDNovember 8, 2013
what i learned is Collection of Telecommunications Cabling and network information from the work area outlets
to form a database.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the many different aspects of Human Resources.
HR Special Assistant, Office of the Director (Current Employee), Rockville, MDOctober 29, 2013
Pros: my office celebrates employee birthdays.
Cons: i am not eligable for aws or telework
My typical work day begins with checking my emails and responding appropriately. I then review all travel authorizations and vouchers and notify travel planners of any changes. After the corrections have been made I receive a notice letting me know that the travel authorization or voucher is ready to be reviewed. I then forward the documents to the – more... Administrative Officer for approval. I may be asked to prepare travel orders and vouchers, and occasionally travel to other locations to train travel planners. I review travel policies and sent updated to the travel planners. I log all Title 42 and Title 38 Cases in the Workflow Inofmration Tracking System and check to see if there is an existing file on the individual and prepare packets which will eventually be sent to the committee and I hand-deliver the packets. I execute all property requests for laptops, cables, docking stations, and mouse. I use a required vendor list to check for office supplies and enter the items in an online cart that is sent to the Division Coordinator. I also must submit the order in the Purchasing Online Tracking System that is approved by the Card Holder and the Administrative Officer. I prepare Title 42 notebooks. I make adjustments to division timecards, schedule meetings, and book conference rooms. I type letters, compensation documents, charts and prepare executive recruiting packets. I run HR reports and collect data pertaining to salaries. I've learned that human resources is an intricate part of the workforce and good customer service is needed throughout the different divisions. I interact with management occasionally and respect his/her position. My co-workers are caring and pleasant to work with. The hardest part of my job is to train the travel planners and to get them to meet deadlines. The most enjoyable part of the my job is being the "go to person." I like knowing that people can rely on me to get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job
Office Specialist (Former Employee), Rio Grande City, TXOctober 23, 2013
I was able to learn many things in this job. I was able to get help with my skills. I was able to do my hours of college in this work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting work place
Building Operations Specialist, GS (Current Employee), Rockville, MDOctober 12, 2013
Great place to learning all aspects of you job. Very good culture to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good!
PRN (Current Employee), Columbia, MDOctober 9, 2013
Pros: well structured
Cons: instructors could be well communicated/informed by management
taught student of pharmacy technician program. It was a great experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
MS SQL Server DBA (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDOctober 9, 2013
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job

1 2 3 4

About Indian Health Service

Indian Health Service's mission is to provide health care and related services for American Indian and Alaska Natives, as well – Read more

Indian Health Service Photos