Find companies:
Indiana Blood Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Indiana Blood Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not immpressed
CDL B Driver/ Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: the pay was decent
Cons: schedule was terrible
schedules were horrible, and micromanagement was extremely petty over the most immature stuff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Muncie, INJuly 25, 2014
Pros: nice pay
Cons: rough hours no set time
Good job hours are tough, Meet a lot of different people at different location, never at the same location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unfair company. sorry but it is true
Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee), Anderson, INJuly 10, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: very unfair to thier employees
greet donors, mini physical, prep donor, stick donor. most enjoyable part. working with the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an organized company to work for
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 26, 2014
you are constantly traveling, there is alot of drama, you are not promised 40 hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community helpful and polite with donors
Phlebotomy (Current Employee), Lafayette, INJune 17, 2014
Pros: cooperation with the community.
Cons: travel
A typical day may be 8 to 9 hours. Technical skills to draw components for the lab. Daily contact with donors and the public. Many coworkers have the same job titles. Hardest part of the job is travel. I enjoyed meeting people on a daily basis and feeling I have helped the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Indiana Blood Center
Inventory Control Coordinator (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 15, 2013
I have gained so much working for Indiana Blood Center over the past 7 years. With an excellent working staff, unlimited opportunities for advancement and the companies continuous efforts to demonstrate top notch customer service, I would rate Indiana Blood Center number 1.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and faced paced environment.
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), lafayette, inNovember 1, 2013
a very good co. to work for. learned a lot more than what i thought i knew which enhanced my work experience with the co.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, needs better management
Tech (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 7, 2013
Pros: culture, values, mission, pay, benefits
Cons: some of the management, communication gaps
The company is a good company overall, but there is room for improvement in their management and in communication. I am not speaking for all of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the work, just not enough of it,
Testing Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: not enough work and hours have been cut
I really enjoy my current job; however, we have recently lost two major clients causing out work load to decrease dramatically. My supervisors and managers know they can come to me because I get things done. Typical day would consist of gathering positive samples and sending them out to another lab for confirmatory testing. Pulling first time donor – more... for special antigen testing. Gathering outside clients and separate the tubes for the different tests. Scan and ship tubes for Parvo testing. Take in and put away reagents and other materials needed for the Testing Lab. Able to work first, second or third shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to worki for
Phlebotomist/Donor Service Technician (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 7, 2013
Pros: opportunity for advancement
Cons: high turnover in employees
Excellent training, good management and supervisor. Opportunities for advancement. Job stability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for.
Production Technician-Distribution (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 26, 2013
Pros: good pay, good benefits
Cons: unprofessional management, vindictive management, worst environment to work in.
My review is based on my experiences at the Indianapolis location. I have never worked under such bad management in my entire career. Most of the management positions are held by associates that do not have business degrees or degrees at all, making their management skills poor at best. One of my biggest issues was lack of professionalism within management – more... from cussing, sleeping with employees and just down right vindictive play. Its unfortunate that the environment is so horrible. The benefits were great, they paid for the majority of school and wages were good. It's shameful that a business that SAVES LIVES can hire such people. It truly sickens me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied hours, Fun work environment, excellent pay scale and advancement opportunity based on skill set
Phlebotomist/ trainer (Former Employee), Lafayette, INJune 22, 2013
Pros: occasional parties to celebrate different events
Cons: long hours on the road sometimes.
This career chad a wide range of hours and responsibilities. One day I could be working in house and drawing from platelet patients and the next day I could be going to a high school blood drives.
Management was broken down into several supervisors. Each one was given a different duty each day.
I was also one of the trainers so I was able to teach and – more... train new employees and current employees on new procedures and standard procedures relevant to each step of their training or continued traning – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the values, standards and morals
Director, National Marrow Donor Program (Former Employee), 3450 N Meridian StJune 11, 2013
Pros: travelling cross country
Cons: patients that didn't make it
A typical day at work was busy, productive and rewarding. I learned it is rewarding to be a very small cog in the wheel of taking care of patients health. Management was amazing, very open and accessible. Co-workers were all professionals with same values. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with unsuccessful transplants and losing people – more... you worked so closely with and diligently for. The most enjoyable part of the job was flying all over the country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Production Lead Technician (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 18, 2013
Manufature blood and blood products, deliver STAT blood products, monitor blood products and provide excellent customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
DONOR RECRUITER (Former Employee), Muncie, INFebruary 13, 2013
I had worked in demanding positions and more recently during my five years with the Indiana Blood Center as a Donor Recruiter, face to face and over the phone, building and maintaining the donors data base, encouraging and educating donors to be committed to donate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of Hours/Co-Workers/Donors are awesome though!
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), IndianapolisOctober 11, 2012
Pros: training dept, donors are awesome!
Cons: negative experiences are common among coworkers and management.
This is a great place to get experience in Phlebotomy and move on to bigger and better things. Dont go thinking you will move up and onto bigger/better things within the company. Those blood collection positions are filled by people who (only some, not all I am in no way referring to everyone in a Supervisor/Managerial position) for the most part have – more... either been grandfathered in or favored in by people they know within the company. The requirements are at least 2 years of college for a Supervisor. However many of the Sups are not college educated they have been working at IBC for long periods of time. They do not require these Sups or the ones who earned 2 year degrees 25 years ago to continue the education so it is up to date with current standards. IBC does encourage furthering your education, but you have to stand in line to get the days off you need and in return, you must give up every weekend. Nothing is free at IBC. When hiring in for BC, make sure you understand the hours will not stay 8-4 like in training. Your hours will vary depending on what procedures they train you to do. Your hours will vary depending on day of the week, and promotions they will hold that will put you at work even later than they already expect you to work. The pay scale for a Phlebotomist is at the bottom of the National Average. Make sure to keep track of all your pay stubs, and take notes of any conversation you have with co workers that could be turned around later and used to send you packing. There ARE people there who are awesome, super people and there are people there that they use to lie about you once you are gone in the name of protecting the company. Those people dont care that they are being used because they are working in a MULTI million dollar company and making a huge salary compared to what you will be making as BC staff. You will not be respected as the person bringing in the products that earn the money, you will be paid the least of anyone in the building, you will have the worst schedule and they will see you as replaceable. Even if you are an "ideal" worker your job can go to anyone in this economy.
The donors that come into the Bcenter are Awesome! They kept me going during the time I worked there. The people who come in are without a doubt the reason I LOVED my job. What I have said in this is not negative, just the facts and once you get a feel for things you will recognize what this says as true. Have fun, watch your back and move on once you have the experience! Hospitals will hire you with IBC experience but they will not if you have no experience. The Phlebotomy training is out of this world, the trainers there are awesome! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very close tolerance to work ethics and safety place to work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 27, 2012
Pros: easy work, fair salary
Cons: you had to fit in with the cliques
I enjoyed the work, it was a very hard place to fit in with certain groups. Management was very critical of employees but had to to insure the quality of the product. There is a lot of buddy buddy relationships that should not have happened and if you didn't fit in you were looked down on and did most of the work especially the less desirable grunt – more... work while certain co workers watched you do it. There was nothing hard about any aspect of the job and it was very rewarding to know you were doing something that saved lives every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Road Warriors ONLY
Driver/Blood Collection Processing Technician (Former Employee), Noblesville, INAugust 24, 2012
Pros: easy work
Cons: very boring work at times
Clock in,wait for Supervisor to Roll call, board van or bus drive to eat Lunch before (45min)or
Break for lunch between 2 drives at seperate locations (1 1/2 hrs for lunch and transport to next drive)
or after(optional team decision to skip lunch and go home early.) work 2 hrs, travel to second blood drive,work 3 hrs,ride home (take nap on way) clock – more... out, go home. Very unstable shift hours.
I learned to be patient in close quarters. Coworkers are kinds sketchy, untrustworthy, unreliable, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun, staff great and management is good.
Supervisor/tech (Former Employee), Noblesville, INAugust 9, 2012
Pros: saving lives
Cons: not alot of breaks or lunch times, or times to mentor staff
Going in preparing paperwork for blood drives and waiting on staff to come in to head out to wherever blood drive was going. I learned a great deal at the blood center, they teach you alot and always have countiuing education..I loved what I done and wish I could of stayed, management was helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service Service Representative (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 8, 2012
Pros: varities of duties, actually saving lives every day, prosfessional job atmosphere, insurance benefits
Cons: my job was re-organized .
My day would start usaully with a brief meeting . The meeting was very informative and brief stats were given, productivity from the night before and goals which should be met by end of work day. I would take incoming calls on a multi line phone , also make outgoing calls on computerized dialer letting previous donors know they were elgible. Assist – more... donors with troubleshooting E-donor and password re-sets. Assisting field representatives with information about potential blood drives and geographic location. Register donors for blood drives and arenas and all state wide high schools. Writing up donor complaints , forwarding emails to supervisors, department heads and departments. The position spends 75% of time calling and scheduling blood donors. Maintain confidentially of client information. – less