Indiana Grand Casino Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare for the elderly
Cage Cashier (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, INSeptember 4, 2016
Indiana Grand Casino is a loud, smoke filled entertainment center for the elderly, poor and uneducated. I feel.so guilty working here most of the time. I see the same customers every week, many several times a week, throwing away their money hoping to win the big one. Employees are like high school. Security are the bullies and restaurant staff the unpopular kids. I've actually seen security take patrons to the floor with physical force for "refusing to leave"...it's ridiculous.

There are no freebies for customers like other casinos and the giveaways are rare. I would never recommend.having a function here.
Pros
Food, benefits
Cons
Smoky, loud, and taking advantage of poor and elderly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Executive Pastry Chef (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJuly 3, 2016
Working at the casino has been a great experience. I would continue to work there but I am leaving due to my husband being relocated to LA.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prdutive
Cage Cashier (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, INMarch 31, 2016
I love working for the company, every one is very nice and supportive. The customers are great too. I have learned how to work with a lot of money all at once. I have met new people working there. just making people laugh and having a good time.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
need longer breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company to work for
EMT-B, SLOT TECH, SLOTS PARTS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, INApril 15, 2015
check id's at doors, assist other departments with cash movements, preform other customer services as needed. provide emergency medical services to sick or injured patrons and employees.
Pros
good benifites
Cons
the smoke in air
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Casino I'm Told
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  ShelbyvilleFebruary 25, 2015
Indiana Grand demands a lot out of their employees. You have to work holidays, weekends, be flexible with hours to fit their needs.

Pay is consistent for the demographic of the area, but little opportunity to advance, must be willing to leave the company to move up.
Pros
$2.00 meals, 1/2 off at restaurants
Cons
demanding of hours and family time.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guaranteed hours are always amazing
Count Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  ShelbyvilleFebruary 9, 2015
I've been a count room attendant for a while and I absolutely love it . The hours do suck, but that's pretty much the only downside.
If you're thinking of applying you should do it if you're okay with weird hours.
Pros
2 dollar lunches, management, and becoming close friends with attendants.
Cons
weird hours, and some little negative attitudes.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Count Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJanuary 31, 2015
None competitive pay especially considering employees must obtain a state license. Would not refer any friend I actually cared about to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh...
Count Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INDecember 4, 2014
I was a count room attendant. The job itself was okay. Hours were 3 am to whenever the job is done. I really didn't have any time for my family after taking this job. The casino offered a great insurance plan. The people, including management, in this department have some serious attitude issues. I was the only one coming in with a smile on my face and ready to get the work done. The department is all about drama. I went to the manager about something personal and she took it upon herself to tell the whole team. If considering going to work for the casino, I wouldn't apply for the count room attendant position unless you like going to work and getting made fun of and talked about behind your back.
Pros
$2 lunches.
Cons
almost no breaks, not appreciated when you work hard, drama filled department
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits, hourly rates
Slot Technician (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INOctober 23, 2014
if you like customer interaction and service, lots of standards to follow and procedures.
Pros
working in doors, benefits
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work most of the time.
lead count room attendant (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJuly 10, 2014
waking up by 1 am to be there by 3am. learned how to pull money boxes out of the slot machines. My manager was awesome, I could talk to him about anything. Liked most of the people I worked with. Dealing with drunk patrons was very hard. meeting new people
Pros
didn't have to work a full 8 hours but got paid for 8 hours.
Cons
the pay wasn't very good to start out
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Main Bank Cashier (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville INJune 23, 2014
great co workers
work environment great
I like working at the Casino, its was fun and enjoyable
to work there, but at the same time you have to be serious about you job
Pros
benefits
Cons
understaff
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the people
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJune 5, 2014
i loved my manager and everyone i worked with we were a very close "family" it was hard shutting down and losing a lot of friends
Cons
no insurance for part time employees
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Manager of Planning and Analysis (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 27, 2014
Great opportunity to learn more about the casino industry.
Pros
fun industry
Cons
constant turnover at the top management level
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here. I was sad to leave.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INApril 22, 2014
The casino has a lot of great people there. Grew very close to the customers. It was a fun, fast-paced work place.
Pros
customers
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Experience
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJanuary 17, 2014
Great Company to work for if you are a hardworking person
I would still be working for them if i did not have to move out of state for family.
Pros
decent healthcare and paid time off, professional in all ways
Cons
most positions are not for every one but there is usually a fit somewhere
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a great place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INOctober 8, 2013
This company takes good care of its employees. It provided me with a chance to learn numerous skills that can be used throughout my career. My co-workers engaged with me in a way that a family would. Overall, this was my favorite place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Count Room Attendant, Finance (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INAugust 27, 2013
Collecting money from the slot machines, bundling money and replacing slot machine baskets.
Pros
flexable hours
Cons
slightly dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazingly bad place to work
Cage cashier (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville indianaApril 2, 2013
Worked here for 2 years, I have to say do yourself a favor and do not apply here.
Pros
a company that does not care for you
Cons
dishonest managers, horrible hours, low pay, idiots everywhere
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do yourself a favor and do not apply here
Cage Cashier (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, IndianaMarch 31, 2013
Worked here for 2 years. Got tired of management lies, departments hating each other, ridiculous policies that were always changing. Quitting was one of the best decisions I have ever made.
Pros
free second-hand smoke
Cons
horrible hours, low pay, dishonest management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has its good times and bad
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, INMarch 29, 2013
The only reason I am still there is because the people that I work with. The turn over rate is very high. It seems like as soon as somebody new is hired the work there for awhile and then they quit.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2

Indiana Grand Casino Reviews by Location