Find companies:
Indiana University Northwest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Indiana University Northwest Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Temporary Office Assistant (Former Employee), Gary, INAugust 2, 2014
Pros: co workers, sometimes free lunches, the cafeteria on campus and taking classes on campus.
Cons: low pay
IUN was a great place to work. I enjoyed coming to work and it was a pleasure working in the SPEA dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were pleasant to work with.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Gary, INApril 14, 2014
Pros: to get to see the special events that would go on from me doing setup and clean ups.
Cons: cleaning up behind other people who knows others has to do the work make much more mess.
The location is good and the opportunity for furthering your education is good. The room for children to get an education free is a blessing good benefit.
The hardest part of the job was the strain on my physical health.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work experience
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Gary, INOctober 28, 2013
Pros: my school work was always complete and on time.
Cons: temporary; i would love to have experienced more time in this position
work study position; temporary employment but afforded loads of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent dental hygiene program
Adjunct Faculty/Instructor (Former Employee), Gary, INOctober 22, 2013
Pros: great faculty/staff
Cons: no benefits
I was able to teach both dental hygiene and assisting students. I was part-time and worked with an amazing group of individuals. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with my fellow colleagues and helping the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn new ideas and strategies
Critical Literacy Lab Tech / Student (Former Employee), Gary, INAugust 22, 2013
Great place to work and learn !Professors and staff care about their students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, fun place to work
Reference Librarian (Current Employee), Gary, INJune 3, 2013
Cons: pay could be better.
IU Northwest really is a good place to work. It has a laid back atmosphere. You get great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The individuals in the department are very patient and understanding
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee), Gary, INApril 23, 2013
Pros: flexible times for activities.
Cons: no health care
A typical day at this institution are at times very chaotic. There are times in the department when students are needing advising time as
to what courses to take that is time when it is very busy.

The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing students being satisfied about the classes that they have taken.

The hardest part of the job is the information – more... regarding classes will change from one semester to the next. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, easy, safe work
STC Consultant (Current Employee), Gary, INMarch 19, 2013
Pros: easy work
Cons: few hours
It's super easy work! Plus, you're allowed to work on homework during downtime (which is most time). The supervisers are really nice. But you don't get many hours, which can be difficult. However, you know your entire semesters schedule!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of constant education
Reference Librarian (Current Employee), Gary, INJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: salary could be higher.
IU Northwest has a laid back atmosphere. Everyone is constantly learning from the faculty, staff and students. I learned to enjoy further educating myself. Working in the library taught me how to be a team player. We worked together to provide information to all who request it.

The hardest part is the reality that the pay could have been better but – more... it definitely was not the worse for this area.
The best part of the job is being able to get to know the students and that people that work here are treated like family to each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Learning Environment with Great Cohesive Technical Teams
Junior Web Programmer / Analyst (Current Employee), Gary, INAugust 8, 2012
Pros: information sharing, software, cutting-edge technology
Cons: benefits, guidance
Create new functionality for Content Managers' Web Pages. Add Functionality to the Homepage. Help solve problems with University-Wide Web Applications. Co-workers are friendly and supportive. Get recognized for creating new features.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
computer lab monitor
Academic Lab Monitor (Former Employee), Gary, INJuly 17, 2012
Pros: gained a lot of computer knowledge
Cons: work study position
assisted students with their educational needs, assisted professors also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Senior Intern for Assessment CenterAble (Former Employee), Gary, IlJune 26, 2012
The only school I know that offers its students an Assessment Center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Regional Coordinator (Former Employee), Gary, INJune 11, 2012
Pros: personal office space
Cons: salary
Great work environment, good food, I liked working here until I was laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and learn about exhibiting art.
Contemporary Art Gallery attendant (Former Employee), Gary, INMay 16, 2012
Pros: can take breaks whenever you want
Cons: n/a
I loved working at the art gallery at IUN. My supervisor is extremely nice and easy to get along with. A great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
Program Assistant, Student Support Services (Former Employee), Gary, INMay 3, 2012
This job was a learning experience. Able to learn something everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Environment to work at
Security Booth Attendant/ Weight room Attendant (Current Employee), Gary, INApril 28, 2012
Meet new people daily,
Learned to work as a team.
Management is great, amazing bosses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and fast-paced environment.
Web Services Intern (Former Employee), Gary, INApril 23, 2012
Pros: good experience for students, diverse environment, great management
Cons: benefits for student workers, hours for student workers, non-competitive pay scale
Report to supervisor.
Get requirements for projects.
Work on projects.
Submit projects for review.
Get feedback on projects.
Revise or Implement projects.
Troubleshoot.

What I have learned: Detailed requirements are extremely important in providing a great service to a customer.

Enjoyable Part: Collaboration between other programmers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at.
Contemporary Art Gallery attendant (Former Employee), Gary, INApril 13, 2012
Pros: meet new people, take breaks whenever you want, gain knowledge on different forms of art
Cons: n/a
Working as a gallery attendant for the IUN Contemporary Art Gallery is a very rewarding experience. I have had the opportunity to help set up different art exhibits, meet artists, and interact with people with knowledge and experience in the art world. My supervisor is very nice and carefree, always willing to listen and is great to work with.