Find companies:
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Indiana University of Pennsylvania Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Helpful
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Indiana, PAMay 26, 2014
Pros: high pay
Cons: long assignments
I undertook various projects that were assigned to me by my graduate advisor. I completed all projects and they were received with praise. It was very relaxed and laid back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, not so good management
Community Assistant (Current Employee), Indiana, PAApril 28, 2014
Pros: free housing and dining
Cons: work amounts vary, sometimes at the worst times
The hiring and retention process for the CA job at IUP is not very good. It seems to rely more on personal relationships with the managers themselves than an actual review of how the CA performed their job and related to their residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work-study job
Web Developer (Former Employee), CHSSApril 5, 2014
Pros: knowledge
Cons: minimum wage
It helped me learn a lot as i had to figure out most things on my own. The point is, i learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical grad position
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Indiana, PAMarch 14, 2014
Pros: pays portion/all of tuition
work in office, make copies, research for professors, answer phones, deliver mail. All professors and office manager are extremely nice and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with other college students.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Indiana, PAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: schedule was worked around class schedule
Cons: temporary position for one semester
A typical day was sitting at a desk scheduling appointments, taking calls, and helping students that came in for appointments. I learned administration skills. The management was friendly and organized. My co-workers were fellow students at the university. The hardest part of the job was dealing with sick students that came in. The most enjoyable part – more... of the job was working closely with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing School!
INSTRUCTION DESIGN GRADUATE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Indiana, PAJanuary 24, 2014
This is a very great school and you get your money's worth for the quality education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
Professor's assistant (Former Employee), Indiana, PADecember 3, 2013
Pros: experiance
Cons: one year job
good experience working with a professor. I enjoyed the day to day activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the best place to work as a part-time student tutor, while continuing your education
Student tutor (Current Employee), eberly college of businessNovember 30, 2013
This is confidential. I cannot say anything about it here. am sorry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work, wish it would turn in to full time.
Painter/Plasterer (Former Employee), Indiana, PANovember 6, 2013
Painting the schools classrooms, halls and stairwells
it was a great place to work
my boss was easy to work for
everyone that I worked with got along
setting up equipment
working with a good group of guys
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scholarly work environment
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Indiana, PAAugust 26, 2013
I am currently a graduate assistant at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. I work 20 hours per week, on average, for one or two professors per semester. The jobs vary depending on the professor's needs. I have participated in two, ongoing research projects, taught undergraduate Introduction to Sociology classes, graded assignments and worked extensively – more... on literature reviews and bibliographies. I also able to work with other graduate assistants, who are earning the same degree as I am. This allows for networking and communication with other individuals in my field. The most difficult part of the job only occurs when my job interferes with my classes. However, this only occurs once or twice a semester. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to work with scholars and professionals in my field. I am trusted and treated as an adult and employee, not a student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teachers concerned about teaching
Temporary Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee), Indiana, PAAugust 7, 2013
PASSHE schools are staffed with exceptional faculty who care about teaching. Emphasis is placed on new technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Employment
Computer Technician (Current Employee), Indiana, PAApril 18, 2013
Pros: learning it knowledge.
Cons: low pay and working simultaneously as classes.
During a typical day at the IT Support Center would include checking student machines for errors, viruses, root-kits, and various other tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational workplace for a beginner in an archaeology lab
Archaeology Lab Technician - Project Leader (Former Employee), Indiana, PAApril 3, 2013
Pros: educational
Cons: only allowed to work 10 hours a week
The job was created from a grant through the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and employed students enrolled in the Graduate and Undergraduate program.

A typical day involved checking the artifact collection against the original field notes and inventory provided with the artifacts. Job responsibilities involved inventory edits, correct number – more... counts, and the proper storage of these artifacts according to the State of Pennsylvania's regulations.

The hardest part of the job was correcting the errors in the original inventory against the actual physical artifact collection. I learned how to identify historic and prehistoric artifacts based on several characteristics. The most enjoyable part of the job was handling the artifacts and storing them correctly. It was fulfilling to be a part of the correct preservation of these artifacts after decades of improper storage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and built communication skill
Computer Lab Attendant (Former Employee), Indiana, PAMarch 15, 2013
Typically at work I was stationed at the computer lab area. I was in charge of technical support for everyone in the lab and to assist them with any other issues. This really built my communication skills because patrons from all different types of ethnic backgrounds would come in and have trouble using the computers or printers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work a valuable team in place
District Chef Aramark Higher Education (Current Employee), Indiana PAMarch 11, 2013
Inat 6:00 am out by 6:00 pm- work closely with culinary team in all areas of Residential Dining, Retail, Catering and Special Events
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Internship IUP Football (Former Employee), Indiana, PAJanuary 16, 2013
A typical work day would consist of coming in to the football office, gathering information about the next opponent. Then I would would work with the coaches but also by myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job where you intact to a lot of different people. You help students in residents life feel at home away from home.
Community Assistant (Former Employee), Indiana, PANovember 1, 2012
Pros: free room and board
Cons: get paid once a semester, interferes with school work
Create several programs base on the REACH method. Once a week you are on duty, which is staying in the building for the whole night and being available if any problems occur. You have to always be available for the residents on the floor that you are assigned to. Make daily checks in mail box because there are always ads you have to post on the walls – more... of your floor. Make a bulletin board once a month and attend staff meetings once a week. Mostly importantly make sure your community is safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Lab state of the art equipment
Research Assistant,Narayanaswamy Bharathan (Former Employee), Indiana, PaAugust 20, 2012
Pros: great lab atmosphere
Cons: graduated before getting to be acquainted with some of the equipment
Nucleic acid research lab with state of the art real time PCR and sequencing. Learned invaluable research pertaining to nucleic acid cloning, sequencing and bioinformatics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school, bad administration
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Indiana, PAAugust 10, 2012
Pros: paid tution, flexible hours, learning experiences
Cons: paper pusher for lazy professors
Working for the Geography Department was a good experience. I would definitely recommend everyone to get an assistant-ship with whatever graduate school the individual attends but this department was even better. Grading papers, sitting in on tests, helping with field trips, and general helping around the department all make you earn your keep. You – more... generally get the bulk of the paperwork to do but it is worth it as you get to see the inside of how schools function. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My best job experience ever.
Residence Assistant (Former Employee), Indiana, PAJuly 19, 2012
I loved being a RA. I loved all my residents and I had the opportunity to explore many obstacles with people from diverse cultures and backgrounds.