Indiana University Employee Reviews

Found 226 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Community and Great Management
Paid Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INAugust 15, 2017
I was an Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in the Psychology department. I was only eligible to work 8 hours a week but the pay rate was high compared to minimum wage. Often, students wouldn't come to office hours so my time was spent grading and doing other management tasks instead of one-on-one instruction. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the grading near the end of the semester with my assignments also becoming heavier but Irene, head of the program, was supportive and a great advocate. I highly recommend the experience.
Pros
Good pay for hours worked.
Cons
Hours worked cap.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conductive place for research
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INAugust 4, 2017
I am a graduate student and have been a research assistant for over 6 months now. Working here is fun since a lot is focused on results and research and staying on top of technology as much as possible. More focus can be given to development of soft skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love teaching - I got to teach!
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INAugust 2, 2017
Administratively stress free for a part time trainer - great leader, ability to influence curriculum and create my own classes. Opportunity to explore new ideas and "try them out" - loved it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy and fun place to work
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJuly 27, 2017
If I hadn't a need to move, I wouldn't have left there. Management is good. Work conditions are good and it had good work/life balance. IU treats their employees well and offers very nice benefits
Pros
great benefits and management
Cons
night shift work but hey, that's doable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Punxsutawney, PAJuly 27, 2017
The schools a great place to work at despite me noting getting any benefits maybe because i was a student. Every job has its ups and down but overall its a good place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Construction Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJuly 19, 2017
I had the opportunity to work on many different types of construction projects which made the days interesting. Overall, great work environment, great co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Something new
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 17, 2017
Management was very off but great people
always learning new things and very understanding atmosphere
management was my biggest issue! all over the place and not a team player
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about higher education administration.
Fiscal Officer (Former Employee) –  Gender StudiesJuly 7, 2017
Was able to work while taking on classes and finishing my degree due to the tuition benefit program.
Overall it was a good experience and I learned quite a bit.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
High pressure to perform over and above normal expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Teaching Assistant for Applied Ecology (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, IN, USAJuly 5, 2017
Standard TA/GA position, overall experience highly dependent on the professor you work with. Good hours and good opportunity for additional skill development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Department Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJuly 4, 2017
Indiana University is awesome place to work for.

But, keep in mind that...Bloomington doesn't have much things to enjoy. Small town in the middle of nowhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place to improve yourself
UITS Support Center Computer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJuly 1, 2017
A good place to hone one's skills without the intense pressures of a more corporate environment. The Support Center is an excellent place to start building a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good education
Associate Instructor (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 29, 2017
I learned a lot during my time at Indiana University; the professors are very knowledgeable and will work with you individually. My professor and the department were also very helpful and understanding when I had to address medical issues and take a leave of absence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience
Volunteer Opportunities (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 28, 2017
My time working for the homeless ministry in Bloomington, Indiana was incredible. Even though the work was only volunteer, I really felt like I was able to connect with people in need and make a difference in their life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Red
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 9, 2017
IU is one of the largest employers in the state of Indiana. The culture is still predominately White and can be uncomfortable for minorities except for a few "safe spaces" like the multicultural center. Overall this is a marvelous institution but the racial climate still has a long way to go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment.
Financial Aid Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 6, 2017
Rate this company*required
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Not comment at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great total compensation package
HR Operations Administrator/Generalist (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 6, 2017
Indiana University has the best overall total compensation package in Bloomington. The healthcare premiums are discounted for non-smoking and provide a health savings account of either $1,300 or $2,600 for spending on eligible items.

there is no waiting period for benefits. They are effective on your first day on the job.

New professional staff receive 6 weeks of paid time off per year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Manager
Research Lab manager (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 2, 2017
A wonderful way to learn about research while expanding your knowledge of the field. This was also a very effective way to encourage interaction with many international students and many other classes of study.
Pros
Multitude of avenues of learning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facilites to work at
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 30, 2017
Great pool system to work at which makes for a great atmosphere to work. Lifeguards make a competitive salary which would be hard to find at other pools around the area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Graphic Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 23, 2017
Fast-paced gameday based job focusing on social media graphics. I learned to be quick yet efficient to get the best quality. I worked from home and submitted designs daily.
Pros
Games
Cons
Quick deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Community Educator (CUE) (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 22, 2017
Great people, great environment. A great way to promote diversity and social justice to the student body. Always creatively stimulating and fun atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Indiana University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 227 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

83%
49 ratings
Add your rating