Indiana University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Construction Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJuly 19, 2017
I had the opportunity to work on many different types of construction projects which made the days interesting. Overall, great work environment, great co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Something new
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 17, 2017
Management was very off but great people
always learning new things and very understanding atmosphere
management was my biggest issue! all over the place and not a team player
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about higher education administration.
Fiscal Officer (Former Employee) –  Gender StudiesJuly 7, 2017
Was able to work while taking on classes and finishing my degree due to the tuition benefit program.
Overall it was a good experience and I learned quite a bit.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
High pressure to perform over and above normal expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Department Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJuly 4, 2017
Indiana University is awesome place to work for.

But, keep in mind that...Bloomington doesn't have much things to enjoy. Small town in the middle of nowhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place to improve yourself
UITS Support Center Computer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJuly 1, 2017
A good place to hone one's skills without the intense pressures of a more corporate environment. The Support Center is an excellent place to start building a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good education
Associate Instructor (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 29, 2017
I learned a lot during my time at Indiana University; the professors are very knowledgeable and will work with you individually. My professor and the department were also very helpful and understanding when I had to address medical issues and take a leave of absence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience
Volunteer Opportunities (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 28, 2017
My time working for the homeless ministry in Bloomington, Indiana was incredible. Even though the work was only volunteer, I really felt like I was able to connect with people in need and make a difference in their life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Red
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 9, 2017
IU is one of the largest employers in the state of Indiana. The culture is still predominately White and can be uncomfortable for minorities except for a few "safe spaces" like the multicultural center. Overall this is a marvelous institution but the racial climate still has a long way to go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment.
Financial Aid Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 6, 2017
Rate this company*required
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Not comment at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great total compensation package
HR Operations Administrator/Generalist (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 6, 2017
Indiana University has the best overall total compensation package in Bloomington. The healthcare premiums are discounted for non-smoking and provide a health savings account of either $1,300 or $2,600 for spending on eligible items.

there is no waiting period for benefits. They are effective on your first day on the job.

New professional staff receive 6 weeks of paid time off per year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Manager
Research Lab manager (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 2, 2017
A wonderful way to learn about research while expanding your knowledge of the field. This was also a very effective way to encourage interaction with many international students and many other classes of study.
Pros
Multitude of avenues of learning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facilites to work at
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 30, 2017
Great pool system to work at which makes for a great atmosphere to work. Lifeguards make a competitive salary which would be hard to find at other pools around the area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Graphic Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 23, 2017
Fast-paced gameday based job focusing on social media graphics. I learned to be quick yet efficient to get the best quality. I worked from home and submitted designs daily.
Pros
Games
Cons
Quick deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Community Educator (CUE) (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 22, 2017
Great people, great environment. A great way to promote diversity and social justice to the student body. Always creatively stimulating and fun atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxed enviornment
I101 Undergraduate Lead Instructor (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 20, 2017
The university is fairly relaxed on undergraduate student instructors and I recommend this position to those interested. Those above me were always pleasant and there was a great camaraderie among co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great outdoor job
Facilities Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 18, 2017
For a young man seeking part time cash working for Indiana University in the grounds keeping department is fantastic! I you enjoy the outdoors, and working with your hands this place is for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture with a very collaborative team
Resident Assistant (RA) (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 15, 2017
I worked as a Resident Assistant at Briscoe Residence Center at Indiana University. It was a very fun and welcoming environment where a lot of my coworkers became lifelong friends. It was a 24 hour live-in position but it was worth every second.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 12, 2017
A great and fun place to work. I help to seat people in the athletic events on campus. I learned customer service skills and teamwork. I really enjoyed meeting the many new people and helping them enjoy their time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to work
Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 11, 2017
Friendly and enjoyable place to work. Student are well taken care of here and made a top priority at all times. Interpreters are brought in if there is a language barrier so the patient gets the best care possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Basile Center Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 10, 2017
IU has been a nice place to work. It is a relaxed environment with access to students and facilities. IUPUI is a nice campus and is located in Indianapolis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Indiana University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 264 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0