Find companies:
Inova Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
193 reviews

Inova Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-paced med/surg unit
Clinical Technician (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: being apart of a team who saves lives and makes people happy
Cons: being understaffed
A typical day for me is having 10 to 15 patients. We have our morning huddle with staff and PCD and afterwards we get our report from the night shift staff. We find out the details of our patients and proceed with taking vitals while introducing ourselves to our patients. We find out if we need to collect blood or other specimens, change or insert IV's – more... and see who has to have their blood glucose done. We clean patients and change occupied and unoccupied beds. We receive report from the nurses who have the same patients with me. We check and provide skin care and we assist with wound care. We learn how to manage our time from day to day and manage our patients. The hardest part of the job is not having enough staff to handle patients who are not only total care but the ones who are very needy and confused makes it a little difficult to handle when you are working with 15 patients, but you become a team and work together with your coworkers and get the job done and we always do. My most enjoyable part of the day is making my patients happy, Sometimes when there is a rapid response it makes me happy when your patient comes out ok after the emergency and knowing that you were apart of saving a life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment
Bariatric Educator (Former Employee), Fair OaksJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: strong senior staff
Cons: too much doctor interference in nursing issues
Strong support from senior staff, who strive to meet their mission statement.
Patient care is in the forefront.
Many long term employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Experience that I have had as a Nurse
INOVA Hopital (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAJanuary 14, 2014
The largest Hospital I've ever worked in. Clean, organized, Helpful
I have no complaints about this hospital. Hands down the best experience for this nurse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
coordinator/associate (Former Employee), Faifax,VADecember 27, 2013
Its a perfect place to work at . Daycare available for Mothers with young children. Excellent benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient care
Staff RN / Intermediate Care Unit (Current Employee), AlexandriaDecember 20, 2013
I enjoyed caring for patients but felt I did not have enough time to spend with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved having the opportunity of working here
Patient Safety Associate (Former Employee), Alexandria, VADecember 12, 2013
Pros: free lunch, long breaks, promotional opportunities
Cons: staying with one patient all day
INOVA was a great hospital I loved being apart of team, hey ad great benefits, and i loved the continuing education training classes. at the time I was in school for medical assisting and I learned a lot about the clinical side of medicine. I had great co-workers we all looked out for each other, and made sure we all had what we needed. the hardest – more... part of the job was not being able to the do the things I was trained to do because it wasn't in my job description. The most enjoyable part of my job was that it was in one of the greatest hospitals in the Northern Virginia area! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
LPN-Clinical Technicial (Current Employee), Falls Church, VADecember 12, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: poor structure for lpn's, poor staffing
Its a great place to work. Its nice that there are so many departments and locations. It provides some flexibility and opportunities to transfer and try something new, without having to find a whole new job or company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR is is not a great place to work.....
Recruiter (Former Employee), Falls Church, VADecember 10, 2013
Pros: friendly coworkers & hiring managers
Cons: high turnover, low morale in department, vindictive hr managers/vp
This department has really high turnover. The employees are not happy due to how management treats them. The Recruiters and Recruitment Coordinators stay in their positions give or take at least 4-6 months....

The overall Inova Health System is a great place to work but beware of HR.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Clinical Technician (Former Employee), Leesburg, VADecember 10, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management doesn't have a clue, one has to go out of there way to get time off.
From day one, I was met with lies from the DON and other management. The staff that I worked with were friendly but that did not make up for the rest of everything that went on.
It surprised me that Full time employees make more than PRN. When one needs time off, it is met with resistance from the scheduler and the management. You must have PTO to take – more... off one day, you can't just switch the day with another here, even before the schedule comes out. To ad to it the schedule comes out 2 days before that schedule period.
Quit here for a better place to work. Even with less pay it's worth being cared about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to get your feet wet in the Biotech industry
Research Associate (Current Employee), Falls Church, VADecember 4, 2013
Pros: fantastic work environment
Cons: salary is quite low
I am very interested in pursuing a career in biotechnology and applied fundamentals in clinical research. Thus, this is a fantastic place to learn the basics. However, after over four years of having worked here, I do not feel that i am learning as much as i could in industry and corporate biotech firms. Therefore, I bid farewell to Inova in the hopes – more... that I can move on to bigger and better things – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
LPTA (Current Employee), Alexandria, VANovember 21, 2013
Pros: learning from eachother
INOVA Mt Vernon Rehab is an excellent environment in which Therapist work well together in reaching patient goals and outcomes.
The Therapist who work there are very dedicated to achieving the goals set for their patients. They go out of their way to care for these patients and help families learn how to care for their family members at home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced health care system
Vice-President, Human Resources (Current Employee), Falls Church, VANovember 9, 2013
Inova is striving to become the center for destination services in this region. They have great physicians and staff. I have learned a great deal about driving change in a large organization and greatly enjoy tackling the challenges in today's health care environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The health system provides great intrinsic satisfaction
Donor Operations Trainer (Current Employee), Fairfax, VANovember 5, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: work-life balance
The work that is done is vital to the overall health and well-being of the public. Great organizational principles and concepts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Patient Accounts Representative II (Former Employee), Fairfax, VANovember 3, 2013
I worked for the CATS department which is a rehab center on INOVA Campus. I was blessed with a chance to meet new patients every day and help them with sobriety. I’ve learned that we all handle troubles in life differently but it is never too late to make the right choices. The hardest part of the job was receiving news of our patients passing. I enjoyed – more... the graduation ceremonies. During that time we weren’t employees but an extended family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural Organization
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee), Falls Church, VANovember 1, 2013
Da Vinci training available for workers. More than enough parking. 3rd new building within five years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to get your foot in the door
Catering Associate/Caterer (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: management
A typical day can be very hectic and sometimes stressful. I learned to be very independent and the management wasn't very dependable. The co-workers are awesome and very encouraging, the hardest part is the incompetence of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great kind and helpful co-workers.
Registered Nurse, Medical and Oncology Unit (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: good benefits, small hospital
Cons: short breaks
On a typical day one RN will have 4 patients if doing primary care or 6 patients with a tech. Most likely one RN will have multiple isolation rooms. There is a lot to be learned on the medical/oncology unit with a wide variety of diagnoses. RNs will perform IVs, foleys, NG tubes, EKGs, wound care/dressing changes, including wound vacs, and care for – more... chest tubes; techs may perform some of these responsibilities. Management is helpful depending on what the need is, but is not very flexible with scheduling. Management is very encouraging with RNs to advance. The co-workers are all very kind and willing to help. The hardest part and most enjoyable part of the job is caring for the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Friendly
Administrative Specialist (Medical Affairs Office) (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAOctober 15, 2013
Pros: boss takes his employess to lunch on busy days
Cons: small desk area
A typical day at work is busy, learn how to be detailed orientated, my co-workers are helpful, and funny. The hardest part of the job not enough hours in a day. The enjoyable part of my day is my co-workers we are a great team!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Pharmacy Technician Manager (Former Employee), Falls Church, VAOctober 10, 2013
Learned a lot about management and how to deal with many different people. Good environment to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn and advance
EPIC Super User/ Oncology RN (Current Employee), Falls Church, VAOctober 7, 2013
Inova offers many ways to further your career and education.

About Inova Health System

Inova Health System Foundation provides financial support and assistance to the Inova Health System, which operates about 10 not-for-profit – Read more