Inova Health System Employee Reviews

Found 474 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unable to rate
Emergency Dept. Nurse (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 23, 2017
I have not worked at Inova for a number of years so I don't feel like I can accurately provide an assessment of working here. Will say that when I worked here. It was a really busy ED
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was always a challenge
Management Coordinator, RN (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VAApril 22, 2017
I loved my time working On this Floor I learned Teli and the staff was a great team. We always worked together to get the work done. The patients always came first and so the management reports got put to the end of the night.
Pros
loved the staff
Cons
that I had to leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Clinical Technician (Former Employee) –  VirginiaApril 21, 2017
Pretty good place to work. Always friendly faces, good benefits. No real room to advance in my position, but that was understood up front. Wasn't a fan of crabby patients, but that's a given
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your career.
Clinical Technician/ Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VAApril 17, 2017
The only thing I would have to comment about is the compensation. Pay is really low even though there is plenty of work to be done. It takes many years for you to be recognized as eligible for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
STROKE UNIT REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 17, 2017
Inova is an excellent place to work. There are many opportunities within Inova. They provide in depth teaching and there is great teamwork environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Financial Quality Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 14, 2017
I think this is a great opportunity if you are given the chance to work for INOVA. The employees are very helpful and everyone is typically willing to help to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but I am ready to move to a different company
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 11, 2017
Great place to work but i am ready to make a move to a different company. I love the diversity of the place and the opportunity to work with others. Management changes a lot and that seems to have caused a fracture in the system and potential dissatisfaction.
Pros
great group of people to work with
Cons
I do not feel like a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities here.
RN (Current Employee) –  Leesburg, VAApril 11, 2017
Learned from great nurses here. The best part is the I interdisciplinary collaboration and collegiality. Get reimbursed for attaining certification. All benefit with an bonus great HCAPS scores.
Pros
Clinical ladder advancement
Cons
The usual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Information Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 10, 2017
Worked as transcriptionist for many years. Eventually this job evolved into more editing than transcription and we were eventually outsourced. Initially the work was very challenging and required a broad base of knowledge of medical terminology. Inova was a great place to work with wonderful people
Pros
Company provided up-to-date equipment and a very good work environment.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Insurance Analyst III (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VAApril 8, 2017
Awful place to work. I worked at Telestar 4 years. Management is not good, you will not advance unless you hang with the "in crowd" even with great annual reviews. If you speak with HR, no point. The director's have HR under their thumb. It is like high school. Pay is ok, but on the low side for the area. Had good benefits, not sure about now.
Pros
Tuition assistance
Cons
The politics there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management on the Business Office/Billing/ Customer Service side
Patient Account Representative IV (Current Employee) –  Falls Church, VAApril 7, 2017
-Very poor management and leadership culture at the Billing/Business Office side.
-Limited to None growth opportunity. HR does not help and usually unresponsive to inquiries.
-Limited Benefits
-Salaries below average
-No Flexible hours
Pros
Reputable and Large Organization
Cons
Very Poor management and leadership culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours vary
Medical Assistant/ Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 6, 2017
if you have experience and a high position you will do well and like your work, otherwise you are overworked and underpaid. no one likes the new person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible pay and benefits
RN (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 4, 2017
Love the people I work with but the salary needs to be adjusted. My insurance premium went up 7% and I have higher deductibles. My pay only went up 2%. So my paycheck is getting smaller and smaller.
Staffing ratios are only based on numbers and not acuity so assignments are very heavy. Don't expect breaks or lunches.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement
Cons
High acuity assignments and no Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, employee and family parties, clean environment, friendly
Field service engineer (Former Employee) –  Home base Stafford Tx traveled the worldApril 4, 2017
I loved working for Inova. Friendly atmosphere, clean. For the first 5 yrs we had stock options. We're given bonuses, could use your accrued time off for pay. Were always treated fairly even when they laid off 99% of the company.
Cons
Went bankrupt
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trustful, productive and wonderful place to work
Medical Assistant Volunteer research assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington hospital centerMarch 28, 2017
Very good reputation center .

Professional excellent doctors .

Very good staff to deal with them .

Well equipped .

Production and outcomes are owsome
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 22, 2017
Unsafe staffing, horrible benefits, pay is embarrassing. Management is unsupportive of the bedside nurse. They only care about the bottom dollar and receiving their bonuses
Pros
None to speak of
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Clinical Technician I, PCU (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 19, 2017
Team environment. Able to voice my opinion and make changes as necessary. Several training opportunities however not much room to advance. Learned many skills from training.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Staff turnaround
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was fun place to work but not anymore
Server Administrator (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 16, 2017
Even though they did not have good compensation, working at Inova was relatively okay until a year ago. Limited to no opportunity to learn and develop skills. There is partiality if and when there is opportunity
Pros
Job/work balance
Cons
No growth Oportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inova nurses need union support
RN (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 14, 2017
Working at Inova involves:
Long hours
being on call a lot
Very low pay compared to other hospitals in the area
Horrible health plan benefits
No raises and minimal to no annual bonuses
Poor management-little to no experience
High turnover
Short staffing
High acuity assignments
Unsafe assignments
Pros
Can't think of any other than it was the first job I could get when I moved to Virginia
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
Registrar (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMarch 13, 2017
No room for improvement outside of having a degree. Great place for certified and nursing degrees to work. Non nursing clinical field areas are often over looked and given a multitude of task. Seniority is over looked
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Inova Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 504 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7