Inova Health System Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Improvement
MRI Technologist (Current Employee), Falls Church, VAFebruary 5, 2015
Co-workers are great to work with. The work environment is a positive one. It does not seem that safety is a top priority and there have been a large number of layoffs in the last two years even with new construction occurring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honoring our high ranked officials and soldiers
Medical Support Technician (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 3, 2015
Working for the military showed you how to serve in a place of diversity. I enjoyed listening to soldiers as they shared their experience. I worked in pre surgery services, which was a critical area. You had to ensure patient identifiers were accurate, and forms completed and signed by surgeons to prepare for surgery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work.
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAFebruary 1, 2015
Pros: team unity, patients, learning abilities
I worked on a Med/Surg unit for recovering surgical patients. It was fun and educational and gave me the opportunity to learn about different procedures and their treatments. I was able to work with and meet people from all walks of life. Management was ok, I didn't feel very connected or related much to the one of my supervisors. This lead to a social disconnection in being to communicate with her regarding some occurances. I did work with a great clinical team. The physicians, nurses, therapist and social workers worked as one complete unit. There was no challenge to hard working for the hospital. The most enjoyable part of the job was the unity between the staff, outer team member and the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Logistics & Administrative Manager (Former Employee), Charlottesville, VAJanuary 31, 2015
Pros: good hours
Cons: job ended
variety of work activies; always learning more about products. Supervise workers. Keeping track of production of product for customer.
Working with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely Good place to work for.
Cost Manager (Current Employee), Falls Church, VAJanuary 29, 2015
Great Company working as Cost Manager in Inova Facilities & Management Department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at the hospital
Environmental Services Assistant (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJanuary 26, 2015
the best job.. you get to meet alot of people it was like home working around family i treat the patients like there was my own family...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for new and advanced experiences
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Falls Church, VAJanuary 21, 2015
care of neuro critical pts, assmts q 1hr meds and labs as ordered, calling doctors with critical results or change in assmts, suctioning and evd and line care. , work with a team of nurses, doctors and respiratory. It is hard at times to deal with the not so favorable outcomes of the pts, some as young as 18yrs. The most enjoyable is of course seeing the positive outcome of our intense care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE, GOOD ATTITUDE, PLACE TO BE IF YOU LIKE TO HELP OTHERS
OB/GYN Clinic (Former Employee), Falls Church, VAJanuary 21, 2015
just be ready with a good attitude to help the patients who needs from us as employees. start the day with a I can do it :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain loads of experience and knowledge
Exercise Physiologist Intern (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAJanuary 14, 2015
It was an internship so I can't comment on benefits and salary. But all staffers were competent and knowledgable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging ,caring place to learn healthcare skills
Clinical Technician, Cardiac Telemetry (Current Employee), Inova Fairfax HospitalJanuary 11, 2015
typical work day involved adult daily care to cardiac patients.
excellent manager
helpful co-workers
team players
the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing patients get well and
return home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to gain experience but working on a busy Med/Surg Unit has many challenges.
RN II (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJanuary 7, 2015
Great co-workers for the most part but many times understaffed due to budgeting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inova Fairfax Hospital 1990-2008
RN II (Former Employee), Falls Church, VAJanuary 4, 2015
Pros: opportunity to provide excellent patient care, many learning and teaching opportunities, high salary with excellent benefits
Cons: was terminated in a very hurtful and undeserved manner, and subsequently vindicated by the vec.
Please see experience summary in which this information is covered.
I loved most of my employment at Inova Fairfax Hospital, which was over 18 years. I was an experienced RN at the time I joined Inova Fairfax Hospital, with extensive experience as a medical surgical nurse with large knowledge base and adaptability and accountability. My vocation has always been for behavioral health nursing, I trained at Payne Whitney Clinic, worked on staff on the metabolic research unit and adolescent borderline units. Later I worked as staff nurse and then nursing coordinator at Psychiatric Institute in NYC. I yearned to master nursing competency and excellence in other areas, including but not limited to routine med-surg, oncology, and obstetrical nursing. I studied REBT , and had a small counseling practice for 4 years collaborating with a psychiatrist and LCSW. I moved to VA from NY in 1989, and joined the staff pool working full time at Inova Fairfax Hospital in the summer of 1990. The Nursing Coordinator of the Cardiac Telemetry Unit asked me to join their staff, which I did after about 3 months on the pool. I worked on the CTU and developed skills with pre and post surgical open heart surgery and heart transplant patients, as well as medical and cardiac patients on cardiac telemetry. I developed competency in this very demanding area and received good reviews. In 1993 I decided that I would prefer to return to psychiatric nursing, and was employed on Psychiatry 4 Main in the fall of 1993. I was held in high regard, received good reviews, became a Geriatric Resource Nurse, engaged wholeheartedly – more... in the Caritas initiatives, and was a member of the Ethics Committee. I was named Nurse Educator of the year in 2003 . I have an enormous love of psychiatric nursing and have highly developed skills and body of knowledge. In 1998 I completed my MSW from VCU, and applied the knowledge and skills from this study to my practice as clinical nurse. In 2006 I was accepted as a staff nurse at the Partial Hospitalization Program, which at that time was on the same floor as the inpatient hospitalization service. Over time I became the staff member doing the most groups per day and week; I love doing groups and have a high level of proficiency, having studied at Payne Whitney Clinic, Psychiatric Institute, 4 Main , and social work school, including internships as well as course work.
I have advanced skills in patient assessment and intervention in person and by telephone, crisis intervention, working with families, interfacing with insurance companies and other agencies, computer documentation, as well as team work, independent functioning, and accountability to agency and governmental policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the unexpected was intriguing
Security Officer (Former Employee), Alexandria, VADecember 30, 2014
i didnt't enjoy the favoritism shownbut the constant changing needs on a daily basis was a plus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the hospital
Patient Transport (Current Employee), Falls Church, VADecember 23, 2014
this is what i love.
help people.
hate the staff tho
i hope with the years all the units will belong to inova again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Banker
Patient Relations Representative (Current Employee), Los AngelesDecember 15, 2014
Evaluate client’s financial needs and recommend products to meet their needs.
Manage premier client portfolios of consumer lending as well as business banking products.
Cross sell consumer and business deposit products that assist in retaining and expanding the relationship with new and existing clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCU
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Lansdowne, VADecember 10, 2014
Progressive Care Unit. Good unit. Staff provide excellent care. Management motivated for quality and patient satisfaction. Poor ergonomics make assignments more difficult and reduce patient safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you always learn something new at inova
House Physician (Current Employee), Falls Church, VADecember 10, 2014
I have enjoyed working here as a house officer for the last decade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and productive place to work with a lot of opportunities to learn.
RN, BSN (Current Employee), Falls Church, VANovember 24, 2014
Working in critical care float pool is a great way to learn about different units within the health system as well as continually learn and meet new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inova can suck the life out of you
Unit Secretary IMC Inova Fairfax Hospital (Former Employee), Falls Church, VANovember 23, 2014
It was the best first job I could ever have. Taught me a lot about dealing with people. but it is a heavy load to carry for years and the longer you are there apparently the worst they treat you.

First impressions are king with this company. keep up with that and you are golden. Make sure you KNOW your stuff and you are fine.

and even still... it is so heavy. its like highschool in there if you work with the nurses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much click
Operating Room Staff Nurse III (Former Employee), Falls Church, VANovember 22, 2014
Pros: magnet hospital
Cons: clickish
working for this company was stressful because management had favorites if you wasn't part of the click you were treated differently.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
8110 Gatehouse Rd.
Ste. 200e
Falls Church VA, United States 22042
Revenue
$500M to $1B (USD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Inova Health System website