Insomnia Cookies Employee Reviews

Showing all 82 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYApril 18, 2017
fun job great depending if you have the tolerance to deal with drunk and high students all the time. also great benefits for in-store employees especially for a bakery company. Most food industry companies won't give benefits like the way insomnia cookies do until working there for at least 2-3 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with many different types of people, no leadership
Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 17, 2017
A typical day of work would include multiple calls and emails from your regional director that would propose several small issues. You could get written up for anything at a moments notice, especially if you are a shift lead because if someone else steals from the drawer and you come up short, it falls on your shoulders. You will constantly run out of the things you need because the manager doesn't order on time and you will have to problem solve to get through certain situations. Also be prepared to work on your own most of the time, doing all of the baking, cleaning, and register work. It can be overwhelming due to the lack of employees and the volume of business that they do. Be prepared to work harder that your hourly wage deserves. This company has a hard time keeping employees.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No leadership, you will do much more work than is needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting Point
Kaitline Alvarez-Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 17, 2017
Worked there for roughly two years. Nice place to make great funds. You will make a lot through tips and even if you don't, the company will surely reimburse you with a $12/hr incentive.
Pros
You make great tips
Cons
You'll owe a lot during tax season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery cookie shop open to 3am
Ann Arbor - Lead baker (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIMarch 31, 2017
Late night delivery of cookies and deserts made fresh every day to ensure it is as fresh as possible and delivered to customers. Pleanty of choices of cookies and ice creams
Pros
fun envronment
Cons
late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Baker (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 18, 2017
Over all I can not complain I was treated well and fairly also very good hours and they are very flexible meaning they will work with you in your times of need
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and entertaining workplace
Baker (Current Employee) –  Amherst, MAMarch 15, 2017
Bake cookies throughout the shift, assist customers with their purchases, prepare deliveries, and clean the store. I have strengthened my ability to multitask at Insomnia Cookies because of the multiple tasks I have throughout the day that I must complete before closing.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, dumb rules
Team Member (Current Employee) –  VaMarch 11, 2017
Great place for college students to work part time and you get half off of items in the store. Unfortunately the management can be extremely unhelpful and uncaring to the needs/wants of its lower employees and are constantly making unnecessary rules for the lower employees to follow.
Pros
half off items in store
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baltimore locations aren't the best
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 3, 2017
I do not reccomend this job to anyone who has something better than a high school diploma for the Baltimore location. Don't get me wrong, the cookies are fantastic. The management isn't organized. The staff is unreliable and unprofessional. They will make anyone a manager these days. Safety is kind of an issue when working in Baltimore. The hiring manager hires anyone out of desperation and probably won't check your background so if you are desperate, go for it!
Pros
Discount on cookies
Cons
Management, staff, safety
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Driver (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 24, 2017
Great environment to do delivery, tips are amazing, the incentive pay is very beneficial, and the atmosphere is based on young employees, further giving young people the chance to grow within the company. Insomnia Cookies has a lot of room for growth. You're also guaranteed to have hours.
Pros
Excellent place to grow, plentiful hours.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership,
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 16, 2017
This company is Growing fast but you will be another pawn to them. They will use you, then fire you unexpectedly. Their training team is arrogant and full of unqualified people. Stay away!
Pros
None
Cons
Upper Management lies, full of arrogant, unqualified people.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible upper management, infrastructure, and benefits
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  University City, MOFebruary 7, 2017
When I was hired on I was promised 34-40 hours per week, health, and sick days. While they do give you paid sick days, it's a pain to actually get the form to fill out. HR is non-existent. It's fine if coworkers slacked off as long as there was someone else to pick up the slack. Promotions were based off of how long someone was there, not work done. They also have to lie to everyone to get them to join. They tell drivers that they'll make at least $12 an hour, shift leads get health insurance after 90 days, paid sick leave, and 50 cent to $2 dollar raises every six months. I also felt like a dirty salesmen for selling cookies made for 15 cents for $1.50 and milk bought for 74 cents and sold for $3.10.
Pros
Free cookies
Cons
Hiring methods, management, price of product
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall energy but horrible benefits and unfit management
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vestal, NYFebruary 3, 2017
besides the 50 percent off and the free cookie a day, this job is honestly not worth it. managers will have one team member working in the front on very busy days and expect you to do everything while trying to get a line to shorten.
Pros
1 free cookie a day and 50 percent off
Cons
no breaks, managers are unprofessional, all tasks in store often fall all one person
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 28, 2017
Wonderful place to work its great to meeet new people and learn wonderful team work and work on speed. I love the team so much fun and they are caring.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never work here again
Shift Leader temple trunk (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 27, 2017
There is no help at night. Truck has been robbed mutiple times by staff an residents from surrounding project houses. Same employees stealing are still working. You basically train yourself. No security.
Pros
Free cookies
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Baker (Former Employee) –  Bryn Mawr, PAJanuary 17, 2017
Insomnia cookies was a very fun place to work at and my co-workers made it worth while to come in every day to come into work! The fast paced movement of the job was always exciting and kept you on your feet and could be a little stressful at times but made the nights go by. By far this was the best job I've ever had!
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Chilled Job
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  College Park, MDJanuary 13, 2017
Great place to work if your college student because they will work around your schedule. Drivers get great pay especially if there is a lot of deliveries.
Pros
Free time to get homework done
Cons
Open to 3 AM
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Driver (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 11, 2017
i have to be there at 9:45 am the shift leader will there before i usually do about 10 deliveries. if its slow i usually bake or handle the cash register.
Pros
free cookies
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a terrible, no organization, management was a joke.
Shift leader (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 10, 2017
I got hired and they told me they are fixing management, to hang in there and t will get better. It was unorganized and unprofessional.
I was doing way more as a shift lead then I was told, taking on multiple jobs. Upper management was rude and uncooperative. No parking spaces for employees. Management doesn't care if you are short handed, they wouldn't come in to help and would have just one person baking and selling on Friday and Saturday nights many times, and not offer any help.
Pros
1 free cookie a day
Cons
Literally everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and the people were great.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJanuary 9, 2017
I was a very good place to work at but it gets extremely busy once tech starts back up. Also as a delivery driver, it was hard to get around the Tech area because the roads are terrible.
Pros
Very cool managers
Cons
No breaks if it is busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 29, 2016
I learned to work fast.
I learned how to manage time and employees to company needs.
Hardest part is executing multiple same day high quantity orders.
Pros
1 cookie per shift
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Insomnia Cookies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 82 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3