Find companies:
Institute for Community Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Institute for Community Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Queens, NYJune 10, 2014
Cons: work hours
Depends on the Residence; overall not stressful. Must be friendly, caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ever-changing environment.
Case Manager (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 21, 2014
There is always a new learning experience when working for ICL. There is a continued want and need to provide the best services possible to all persons daily. Working in a residential setting produces different challenges due to it needing 24 hour staffing and there is always the possibility of dealing with a crisis. The staff is all about team work – more... and helping each other complete tasks. Direct contact with the persons served allows a greater chance to know each person on an individual level as well as learn the best methods of interaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience for my internship positions
Fee-For Service Therapist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 8, 2014
Pros: alot of experience in mental health
Cons: location
learned alot abput different populations, worked with children, ica populations, chronically mentally ill, great staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working as a House Manager at Borden Avenue Veteran's Residence
House Manager (Former Employee), 21-10 Borden Ave, LICMarch 10, 2014
Pros: facility provided services and housing to all vets.
Cons: frequently had to work double shifts due to staff shortages.inconsistant shift scheduling.
A typical day involved answering phones, resolving conflicts between residents, assigning job tasks to housekeeping, unit counselors, and security staff, interacting with EMS, NYPD, and FDNY during crisis situations, conferring with DSS, Case Managers, and Housing staff regarding residents needs, conducting a census count and reporting it to DHS, monitoring – more... all "high risk" residents, and ultilizing the computer to input and retrieve client information. I learned how to conduct fire drills and man the fire safety panel. The hardest part of the job was working with those staff who didn't see the value in helping others,while the most enjoyable aspect of my job was the appreciation of those vets who understood that I was there working on their behalf. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good human services organization
Employee (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: every day is interesting.
Cons: cannot think of any.
There are many people who need help from others. I am glad that I can be part of a team who dedicate their lives to helping others improve their lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Care Coordinator (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: clients
Cons: forget to eat
I spend two hours in my office then in the field most of the day visiting consumers in the community. I have learned how to advocate and research needed links in the community for my client,management is fine,love my coworker professional and great people to work with also resourceful. Hardest part of my job is helping multiple clients with many issues,my – more... clients,co workers and many providers that I met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Growth
Case Manager, Voc. Srvcs. Asst (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Very good company to learn and grow. There is alot of support from management in regards to professional development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and quite
Entitlements Technical Asst (Current Employee), 125 Broad Street, New York Ny 10004January 25, 2014
Pros: working independently
Cons: poor benifits
ICL is a very quiet environment to work in, most of your work is done independently and and at the end of the day much is accomplished. The employees are mostly friendly, willing to help out and occasionally you hear laughter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
(Former Employee/Act) Great employee Team work.
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), BROOKLYN, NYJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: working with consumers is rewarding
Cons: no room for advancement on the merit system!
Worked as Admin. Assistant, usually the first to arrive in AM. I typically start up all equipment fax, copiers, printers etc. Take minutes each day during morning meetings of visits. Manage mountains of reports, updating various lists, medical billing in Anaszi, custodial of Metro cards daily. Management is horrible, lack training, such as how to respectfully – more... and professionally converse with staff. they reassign their workloads to staff, want you to spy on employees and inform management of their ill doings. Management creates a hostile working environment, which is why I left. My co-workers were the best. The hardest part of the job was balancing stress of consumers as well as management. MOST REWARDING PART OF THE JOB WAS KNOWING EACH DAY I MADE A POSTIVE DIFFERENCE IN THE CONSUMERS LIVES by encouraging, being resourceful and just being a friend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Work
House Manager (Former Employee), Long Island CityDecember 26, 2013
I've worked in the social service field for over 10yrs, starting out as a security officer and advancing within the years. A typical work day within my previous shelter and employers was diligently working to ensure permanent housing for those we serve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult but rewarding work
Licensed Social Worker (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 13, 2013
typical day at work entailed assessments, crisis intervention, and group work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok site
Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 23, 2013
Complete risk assessments and or mental health evaluations on clients.
Maintained client records, office files and other pertinent documentation and reviewed said items for accuracy.
Obtained patient care services and provided connection to community resources for clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Non - Profit
Case Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 22, 2013
Pros: ample openings for employment
Cons: poor training and site ti site mgmt
A decent non-profit to join the world of social services. Small settings. Poor management. manageable clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping individuals with they daily living
Skill Builder (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: helping individuals with there goals.
Cons: getting attacked but i got used to it.
A typical day while I was working there was always interesting because when I assisting the individuals with their planned goals they usually seemed to enjoy doing it.
While working the I learned to have patients and my views on life changed. My coworkers and I had a good working relationship our communication was great.
The hardest part of the job – more... was the unpredictability of some individuals while we were on a community inclusion. And the most enjoyable part of the job was the look on the individuals faces when they was having fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genuinely not a healthy work environment
Client Care Manager (Former Employee), Tillary Street ShelterAugust 11, 2013
I worked at a shelter owned by ICL for almost 2 years. Not to sound overly dramatic but ICL is the most mismanaged non-profit at which I've worked. If you ever have the displeasure of working here you will see what I mean. Management is completely blind to the low employee morale that seems to permeate. The expectations are unreasonable, you are expected – more... to intuitively know which policies have changed in any given day, and the raise structure/chances for advancement are relatively non-existent. All this to say nothing of the ways in which you are implicitly forced to lie to the department of homeless services.

To be fair to ICL though, the economy is hard. That's why I had to stay for the time that I did. Still, if you are desperate enough that you must take a job with ICL, my advice is to keep looking for work while you're there. I wish I hadn't waited so long to start looking again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work for
employee (Former Employee), Tillary StreetJuly 15, 2013
No cost of living increases or bonus while employee insurance rates increase each year. Moral extremely low and client violence on a daily basis, smoking of illegal substances as well as cigarette smoke are encountered on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place can be relaxing
Family Development Specialist (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 29, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: low staff moral
Working in the field and being able to provide clients with the support they need.I learn to work with many different personalities.Management needs to more supported of staff.Hardest part of the job is not getting the support when you need it.Most enjoyable part of the job is solving a crisis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for errors.
Case Manager (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 11, 2013
Must be a great team player and have great work ethics. Also working with ICL there is always opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced Mental Health Organization. The CEO worked as hard as the employees. A wonderful boost for employee morale.
Administrative Assistant - Executive Offices (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: excellent benefit package
Provided high level administrative support to Chief Executive Officer, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer. Prepared and screened documents, set appointments, greet visitors and set up multimedia meeting and conference calls. Corresponded with Board members and transcribed minutes for four separate Boards.

I learned the dynamics of – more... how an Executive Office facilitates and implements programs. I was an efficient and effective team player and worked independently as well.

The most challenging was meeting multiple tasks with the same deadline but I was able to accomplish all on time.

The most enjoyable aspect of the job was seeing a project from start to finish and the results were astonishing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting with medical appointments
Assist developmentally disabled individuals (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: get proper training and experience
Cons: n/a
A typical work day for me consists of accompanying consumer(s) on medical appointments, making sure prescriptions get refilled, dropping consumer(s) off to program after their appointment, inform the medical specialist, nurse and management about the appointment regarding the consumer(s). I'm still learning about the medical field. The management schedules – more... myself & co-workers for specific appointments each day. My co-workers and I get along and work well as a team. The hardest part is not knowing if a consumer may a behavior out in public. The consumers always makes me smile – less

Institute for Community Living Photos