Institute for Defense Analyses Employee Reviews in United States

Found 11 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Supportive Management and a lot of teamwork.
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAOctober 15, 2015
Great place to work with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company.
Pros
education reimbursement; Teamwork; Supportive management
Cons
Gov Contracting is a problem when there is a shut down of the federal government.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ida
Control & Distribution Coordinator Administrator (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMay 1, 2015
A typical morning/day is moderate my learning came from co-workers and reading, management conduct monthly meetings
co-workers we all work as a TEAM, the hardest but manageable part with the job was maintaining a DoD contact list within the pentagon, but buy the end it all turned out good.
Pros
Driving accross the WWB for FREE parking
Cons
SHORT lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a young professional, please avoid.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  VirginiaDecember 10, 2014
Nepotism is rampant here. There is very little to no opportunity for advancement. Once you are in your position, you stay there. This place is biased regarding your educational background; i.e. if you are from an ivy league school, you are more likely to receive call back. Management is unprofessional and possess very little knowledge regarding their position.
Pros
benefits are nice
Cons
little to no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with all different kinds of people and there personality no one was the same
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  alexandria vaAugust 15, 2013
would rather not discuss ida but if required i have no choice .....i was there for over 26years and i loved my job . lots of deadlines it was awesome to do payroll from start to finish it was very rewarding.
Pros
excellant pay
Cons
traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good place to work
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 8, 2013
IDA is a solid place to work with competitive compensation and good benefits. It is a bit more of a formal atmosphere, however. Further, the structure more academic than corporate so there isn't much in the way of advancement if that is the type of thing you are looking for.
Cons
not very diverse though that is changing.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers; some management staff were a little stuffy, but nice
Senior Staff Secretary (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 25, 2013
The job was mostly routine, with the majority of the assignments being document production and formatting, which I enjoyed. Great frontline staff. I had the advantage of learning different software packages.
Pros
job assignments very clear
Cons
commute a bit too far
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of well educated employees here
Staff Accountant II (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMay 6, 2013
This company is a government contractor think tank. Out customers are the DOD, Army, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard, and other government agencies who want to know the answers to a "What-if" senerio. How does the war in Somalia effect the drug cartels in South America is an example of what these PHD's have to research and think about. However, that is not in my scope of work. My primary function is make sure the employees submit a timesheet so they can get paid for the hours worked on these task and the capture that data and submit that to the billing accountant to create labor invoices to the customers for hours worked on their projects.
Pros
cafe located inside the building gives 25% discount on food, ample parking in 3 basement parking lots, good benefits
Cons
set in their way of doing things, hard to get new processes initiated.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well respected company with incredible benefit package.
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VASeptember 17, 2012
I really enjoyed working at IDA. The only caveat I have is that it is, for certain legitimate reasons (they are a research and analysis firm), biased towards PhDs and retired high-ranking military. Pay and the opportunity for advancement is somewhat limited for people outside of these areas. However, if you understand that going in, you will enjoy your time there. The work is relevant and there is an excellent corporate culture.
Pros
incredible benefit and retirement package.
Cons
llimited room for advancement for non-phds.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great working experience with a diversite environment.
Services Assistant II/Diver (Former Employee) –  VAApril 27, 2012
It's a great company to work for. They have alot of opportunities that you can benefit from, like the unlimited sick leave which come in handily for me with my ongoing foot problem or they pay for your schooling the list goes on.
Pros
unlimited sick leave
Cons
short lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company, high talent work force, challenging work
Senior Project Lead and Research Staff (Former Employee) –  Alexandria VAApril 26, 2012
Small company atmosphere ... lots of freedom
Extremely bright - accomplished employees ... mostly PhDs
Very challenging work
Lots of customer interaction
If you are engineer note - you aren't building systems
Was this review helpful?Yes5No

See more Institute for Defense Analyses reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture