Inter-American Development Bank Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to work, teamwork skills, and willingness to constantly learn new processes .
Customer Service/Mail Assistant (Current Employee) –  1300 New York Ave NW Washington DC 20577February 25, 2016
A typical day at work are: Perform administrative tasks such as filing, managing incoming phone calls, receiving correspondence and provide information to bank officials. Other administrative tasks as required.Arrange delivery and logistic for mailing sensitive mail packages to different countries, and IDB country offices.point of contact with clients, couriers and bank officials.
• Inform customers about the what company offers and services that we offers.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Low payment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well structured and polically correct enviroment
Experienced SAP Functional Consultant and Trainer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 3, 2016
I have learned ServiceNow / Lead Concur appliaction / test and change business requirements. I have tested and help business to implement and L2 support for FI & SRM.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interesting place to work
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 6, 2015
I had a very interesting work at the Inter-American Development Bank. I have learnt the politics and procedures to process the bank loans to different countries.
My co-workers sometimes were nice others not so nice.
My direct bosses were very kind and learnt from them many useful skills.
Pros
Excelent benefits
Cons
Difficult people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for if you are a Native Spanish speaker
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 19, 2015
Very competitive and stressfull work environment. The benefits are good though.

It is great if you are a native Spanish speaker since all the work is held in Spanish.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idb
Project Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 30, 2015
Typically looked over loans and insured that disbursements were performing. Created quarterly reports to demonstrate performance. Created database to demonstrate future risks to be resolved if project continued on current path.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington DCAugust 31, 2015
INTER-AMERICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK April 2015
Administrative Assistant – Temporary Assistant to the Board of Executive Directors Office for Belgium, China, Germany, Israel, Italy, The Netherlands and Switzerland; responsible for updating the agenda of all the Directors and Counselors; preparing documents for meetings; receiving and screening incoming calls; performing general office duties. Additionally preparing the office guideline for temporary assistants.


.Senior Administrative Assistant expertise in providing timely, efficient and accurate administrative support to senior level executives, managers, and office teams; trained in archiving, processing of invoices and other bills; preparation of general sales report and balances knowledge of bookstore inventory systems. Knowledge of various administrative tools and programs at IDB’s, OAS, and PAHO. Aquainted in performing a variety of administrative or executive support tasks that are highly confidential and sensitive.
Pros
1 hr. lunch
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to professional environment
Accounting Internship (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 17, 2014
A great place to learn all the skills necessary to start out in the business world. Staff employees are some of the most intelligent individuals with very impressive resumes. Unfortunately, that means it's difficult to advance or secure a position from internship since the bare minimum for staff is often a Master's degree. Very fast paced environment, good place to start if you seek a career in international business.
Pros
Surrounded by ambitious, intelligent people, fast pace, professional environment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Services
Lead Technician of AV Operations Secretariat (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 7, 2013
Being the Lead Technician means clocking in before anyone else.
Daily assessment & confirmation of proper functioning for all technical equipment in conference rooms & vip areas. Daily meetings with Operations Manager to ensure all tech assignments are being fulfilled in an efficient manner. Project Implementations & overall technical assessment on a weekly basis. Stock assessment & new orders on a monthly basis. 2 month period for repairs & installations during the summer due to drastic drops in conference meetings.
Pros
Multi cultural environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing multicultural place to work.
Life and Health Benefits Administrator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 29, 2013
I learned how Interantional development Banks operate.
Hardest part of the job is to get the board to aprove new iniciatives.
Yo will love the Cafeteria, the gym, cultural activities, people, Te idb has their own credit union.
Pros
people from all around the world works there, amazing benefits, amazing instalations
Cons
old and obsolet working habits and policies. Poor job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and open workplace located in Downtown Washington DC.
Records Assistant (Former Employee) –  1300 New York Ave NW Washington, DCMay 11, 2012
I worked from 8 am to 4:30 pm monday through fridays. I was in a spanish speaking environment classifying spanish documents. Had great management and co-workers. Hardest part of my job was the spanish.
Pros
located a block away from the white house
Cons
did not receive any benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and multicultural institution filled with strongly motivated professionals whose work has a positive impact in people’s lives.
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington DC and Los Angeles, CAFebruary 22, 2012
Amazing place to work, specially for young professionals, who have the opportunity to deal directly with real-world problems. The Bank promotes diversity and inclusion.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent international organization
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 17, 2015
Serving Latin America and the Caribbean this 50 year old organization is a wonderful place to work. The diversity of the staff members is one of the best things about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have nothing good to say don't anything
Desktop Support Engineer/Administrator/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 7, 2014
It was a nice place to work, some clients were nice to work with,
I did learn alot about people and desktop support in general.
Pros
Food, work load was managable
Cons
cultural
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance and interesting work.
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 25, 2014
The Bank's mission is inspiring, as is the work done with/for the Bank. There is bureaucracy like any where else but overall it is a fun place to work and there appears to be decent work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice quiet environment, but not really exciting
Senior Associate Economist (Current Employee) –  Washington DCFebruary 23, 2015
The place is good for someone looking to settle, but not really for young and ambitious people starting off their careers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington, D.C.January 21, 2014
I used to work early and organize my job daily. Everyday we learned something new. I am an easy going person. I always learned a lot from my co-workers, and also, sometimes they from me.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work
IT Consultant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 5, 2014
It is the best IT Consultant Opportunity, as a experienced technician I have a technical challenge that take in prove my background skills.
Pros
G4 Visa Status
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Organization
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 17, 2015
A lot of politics, good benefits and pay, office is very beaurocratic.
Pros
Pay, holidays
Cons
Office Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term contracts, little advancement
Sustainability Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 3, 2014
One year contracts make life and career planning very difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

See more Inter-American Development Bank reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.4

Inter-American Development Bank Reviews by Location