Find companies:
Intermountain Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

Intermountain Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurses are very hard to work with
Certified Nurses Aide (Former Employee), Murray, UTDecember 26, 2013
Pros: taking care of people who need help
Cons: working with nurses with god complex
I like being a nurses aide but the pay is horrible and nurses are next to impossible to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Training program was excellent.
Registrar (Former Employee), Riverton, UTDecember 19, 2013
Intermountain was a great company to work for. All the people I worked with were friendly and helpful. The only reason I left was because my husband was relocated to another state. I Would highly recommend joining this team. The training program was excellent, they really prepare you for the position you are hired for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly standards and fun people to work with.
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTDecember 14, 2013
Pros: excellent coworkers
Administrative Secretary for busy outpatient wound care and ostomy center. My main duties were payroll for multiple departments; billing; coding; maintaining dashboard for FTE reports and productivity; data entry; inventory; supply management; patient equipment orders; patient transport; travel arrangements for physicians; recording minutes for a variety – more... of meetings; records management; and assisting front office staff with patient scheduling, check in, check out and answering multi line phone system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive company with continually ongoing education within
Emergency Department Nurse (Former Employee), Murray, UtahDecember 10, 2013
Pros: retirement package
Cons: impersonal
Predictable patient loads at certain times of day. Learned to work as a team and to also be self sufficient. Management may be unpredictable. Co-workers are educated and active in their lifestyles. Difficult to deal with corperate politics. Best part is the variety of patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Ogden, UTDecember 2, 2013
I learned a lot from working at Intermountain Healthcare and enjoyed the office environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, tough job
Courier (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTNovember 26, 2013
Pros: freedom, out in the open
Cons: isolation, traffic stress
A typical day of work has been tough for me lately, only because of the isolation faced by delivery drivers. There are pros to the job of course, such as freedom and the ability to listen to whatever you want in the vehicle. Management is interesting, as most of them sort of slid into their positions without really earning them. My co-workers are fabulous, – more... and my favorite part of any job. The hardest part of this job has been the isolation and constant stress of traffic, the most enjoyable part is the time I get to spend with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun people to work with
Driver, see above (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTNovember 25, 2013
Pros: working with people who care about others
Cons: i am always gone until late each night.
My part time work day is driving medicine, beds, oxygen, wheel chairs to the one in need with a 150 mile radius. Been here over two years. I've learned that I must be prepared to deliver all medicines ore equipment that have been prepared for the patient (not leave any in the warehouse, which I have done before). My co-workers even though I am much – more... older treat me as one of their own. I have a wit that keeps up with them also, and they like that. The hardest part is to see someone who is dying and can see it on their face, and being helpless in that and the most enjoyable is to see someone who is getting of the meds or equipment and seeing their joy of life return to them once again. Second to none. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Homecare Medical Biller (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTNovember 22, 2013
Pros: employee compensations and recognition
Cons: pay was not so good.
Nice people to work with and I learned their billing systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided a great learning enviornment
Student Nurse / Clinical Rotations (Former Employee), Saint George, UTNovember 19, 2013
provided a great learning environment. The staff was friendly and helpful, was willing to let me a student do a lot of things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Linen Distribution Clerk (Current Employee), Provo, UTNovember 18, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: n/a
Every day at my job i make sure linen get delivered to the areas that need it. I pick up dirty linen and i run the washer's and dryer's. My management team are nice people but they do not communicate very well as a team and with us. Half the time we have no idea whats going or if something needs to be done. The hardest part of my job is probably picking – more... up the solid linen. my job can be very tiring but i like it because of the people i work with. They are a fun group of individuals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and opportunities for growth
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Ogden, UTNovember 15, 2013
Pros: working 2-3 days a week, the patients, professional environment, wonderful co-workers
Cons: not a set schedule
Typical day at work
•Maintain up to 5 patient load per shift
•Medication administration
•Provide care for Medical/Oncology patients
•Provide care for Geriatric/Alzheimer/Dementia patients
•Provide care Hospice patients and their families
•Could do any of the following on a given shift
o Blood administration
o IV starts
o IV therapy patients
o Assist – more... MD with any of the following at bedside: conscious sedation, colonoscopy, placement of chest tube, removal of ascites fluid
o Come in contact with active chemo therapy
o Possible care of surgical patients
o Fetal Demise

What I learned
•To give extraordinary care for patients using The Nurses Practice Act and abiding to ethics and codes of facility.
•Gained vast amounts of knowledge
•Sharpen my assessment skills and critical thinking
•Practice Healing commitments

Management and Co-workers
•My manager has always been there. A compassionate person who strives to have the staff better themselves and always willing to provide guidance. This manager has made me growth personally and professionally
•My co-workers utilized teamwork to its finest. Always supportive and united to make sure quality care was provide for each and every person and family member through practicing healing commitments

The hardest part of my job
•Comforting patients and families through the grieving process for a death. Though each and every case was different, they all touched me and I was grateful that I could be a supportive individual during this process/transition.

The most enjoyable part of my job
•Meeting new people
•Learning of new disease processes and implementing care
•Being in an upbeat environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A beautiful hospital with outstanding mountain views
Medical Secretary (Former Employee), Park City, UTNovember 3, 2013
Pros: healthcare for my family was a great rate
Cons: weather could be detour work days
A typical day at work started with encounter forms from over 11+ physicians to enter in charges. I was also arriving patients, answering a multi line phone system, assisting patients with financial assistance paperwork and answering billing office questions via email daily. Very busy but productive.
My co-workers were great to work with. Daily laughs – more... and smiles.
The hardest part of my job was completing daily tasks in an order form most important to least. Sometimes emails would go unanswered for a couple days. Being on task was most important to me and I would have stress if I fell behind.
Learning new things was a daily goal. Sometimes they would be about coding, patients or physicians. I am passionate about my medical coding career and can't wait to become an expert. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling place to work
Nurse (Former Employee), Ogden UTOctober 28, 2013
IHC has high standards of care for their clients/patients and on going training for the employees helps with providing excellent care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for School
Core Technician (Current Employee), Saint George, UTOctober 24, 2013
Pros: good for school
Cons: wishy-washy management
Good company to work for if going to school. Great benifit plan. Managment doesn't seem to really care for their employees. Doctors are great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a large corporation, no real advancement, dictatorial
Finance and Information (Current Employee), Supply Chain CenterOctober 24, 2013
Pros: always something to do
Cons: so large that accomplishing anything takes too much time to be effective.
While the company appears amazing from the outside, being a member of it is completely opposite.

Tasks and responsibilities are so unevenly distributed that the hardest of workers are frequently overlooked due to the requirement of "Intermountain values" for those who skate by and abuse the system.

Within the organization as a whole, the emphasis – more... on mutual respect, fairness and assuming good intent are used to the advantage of those who shirk their responsibilities and restrict those who strive and thrive on accomplishment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Health and Medical Company
Project Coordinator/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTOctober 17, 2013
Pros: excellent opportunity for paid healthcare training
Monitored and responded to 2 email accounts within a 24 HR time frame. Managed 4 databases for Employee Visa Program card issuance and data, closure. Ran reports and queries from Chase bank software to determine history and hierarchies. Contact and assist employee cardholders on card usage; purchasing receipt submittals and statement reviews; card functions – more... and procedures. Assisted and trained new employees to issue cards and use bank software per – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Critical Care Technician (Current Employee), Provo, UTOctober 17, 2013
Love the job. Would keep it but need a larger salary for new family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a LPN
LPN (Former Employee), Home HealthOctober 16, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: not willing to help replace employee after 30 years of employment.
See my resume. Great co-workers and supervisors. Enjoy helping people and being a caregiver. Have broad range of experience and knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Internship and employment ever
Social Worker, intern graduate (Former Employee), Murray, UTOctober 10, 2013
Pros: best internship ever
Cons: great training
Experienced in conducted bio-psychosocial assessments and social history on clients
•Work cooperatively with multidisciplinary Treatment teams
•Ability to quickly and effectively establish therapeutic relationships
•Exceptional, dependable and good time management skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Supply Chain Organization Employee - On Call (Former Employee), Murray/Riverton hospitalOctober 9, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: they offer benefits, give you 1/2hr for lunch
good place to work, I work indepandently,learn to pick orders for different medical floors,
I work part time, they don't have a full time position,but I need a full time job that why I left

About Intermountain Healthcare

Intermountain Healthcare is an internationally recognized system of 22 hospitals and a full range of medical services, multi-specialty – Read more

Intermountain Healthcare Photos