Find companies:
Internal Revenue Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
978 reviews

Internal Revenue Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SHort term job Loved it
Clerk (Former Employee), Fresno CAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great cafeteria
Cons: not too many long term jobs
Lots of work, but the atmosphere is friendly and full of intergrity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
TAX EXAMINER (Current Employee), Fresno, CAJuly 1, 2014
Cons: short tax seasons
Relatively new to the IRS so far have no complaints. Training was about a month. Lot of computer work, and memorizing what to look for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for to bad it"s seasonal
Data Transcriber (Current Employee), Fresno,CaJune 30, 2014
As a data transcriber we need to be accurate, fast. There are rules for interring information from tax forms into computer. You must be knowledgeable with all rules and changes that occur each year. You cannot stay fast if your always looking up the rules. So u must stay knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A difficult Job
Sr Employee Plans Specialist (Current Employee), Mountainside, NJJune 28, 2014
Pros: benefits such as vacation and credit hours
Cons: asked to close out cases too fast
I learned many skills as outlined in my Resume such as being an On the Job Instructor, Teacher, Speaker Actuarial skills english skills with eclectic ability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Contact Representative (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 27, 2014
Pros: 45 minute lunches
Cons: two 15 minute break per shift
the most enjoyable part of this job is being able to help the taxpayer to better understand the tax law.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good government job
Contact Representative (Current Employee), Chamblee, GAJune 26, 2014
Great job with great benefits. Making a difference is the best part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Mail Clerk (Former Employee), Covington, KYJune 26, 2014
• This was a temporary appointment not to exceed 30 days.
• Passed the FBI security check for government service.
• Sorting and batching of payments. Approx. 3000-5000 per day.
• Processed $1Million + dollar payments.

Also worked as a Tax Examiner for 15 years.
• Processed forms and correspondence.
• Liaison for other branches and agencies.
• Updated – more... and adjusted accounts.
• Team leader for unit.
• Reviewed and amended IRM.
• Multiple Performance Awards
• Lead Instructor for new unit employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An always changing and challenging place to work
Tax Examiner (Current Employee), Fresno, CAJune 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: 1/2 hour lunch
Examining taxpayer forms albeit 1040, 1040EZ, 1040A, analyze financials to determine ability to pay, implement and input installment agreements, respond to taxpayer letters of correspondence with letters of correspondence, phone calls to taxpayers and their Agents like Attorneys, Tax and Accounting Firms, work within the guidelines set forth by Congress, – more... be a team player by helping others, offer up possible solutions to issues raised by fellow employees and management, acknowledging understanding and ask questions when I don't understand, and the best feeling one can realize is a taxpayer who thanks me for helping them understand and achieve a fair and equitalbe outcome. How many people have thanked my manager is not known to me nor do I require being recognized for outstanding achievements because we all know when we have done the job right. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced call center requiring good customer service skills.
Developed Customer Service (Former Employee), Cheektowaga, N.Y.June 25, 2014
There were often difficult customers or problems that needed to be resolved. I did very well with these issues at the IRS. The employment is seasonal but full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Relaxed Environment
Legal Assistant (Current Employee), Detroit, MIJune 25, 2014
Pros: great manangement and co-workers
Cons: temporary position does not offer benefits
The Internal Revenue Service is a great place to work. Management and my co-workers are very friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with wonderful people.
Management Assistant (Former Employee), Covington, KYJune 24, 2014
Pros: seeing everyone work together and always willing to help out.
I was a Management Assistant. Everyday was a different experience. Dealing with all of the employee issues and personnel actions, there is no 2 days a like.

They are very good at making sure everyone is well trained for their jobs.

The hardest part about the job was when I had to leave. I got married and had to relocate.

The most enjoyable part about – more... the job were the people (co-workers and the tax payers). My co-workers were always caring and willing to help each other. They always went out of their way to help the tax payers. It was always nice to talk with the tax payers and help them with their situation. They were always nervous when they called in, but most of the time, they were always relieved (less stressed) by the time they hung up the phone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refer to resume
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Current Employee), Franklin, TNJune 24, 2014
Assist with taxpayer needs and assist with returns and any questions they may need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Tax Examining Clerk (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 24, 2014
i learned not to eat big lunches due to sleep would kick in,overall the job was pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal job
Treasury Agent (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: seasonal job
I enjoyed my job at IRS.. it was only a seasonal position but i was kept on longer than most folks because i ranked #2 in the production of my work...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 20, 2014
I was an office clerk in the accounting dept. I love the people I work with and the manager that was over me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Code and Edit Form 1040
Temporary Tax Examiner Technician (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 20, 2014
Plan daily tasks.
Set up work station.
Code and Edit Form 1040.
Work with management when information needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Advanced Tax Preparer (Former Employee), Irvine, CAJune 19, 2014
• Reviewed clients’ income, adjustments, deductions to assess their eligibility for tax credits
• Filed Federal and and California income tax returns using TaxWise software
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Office Aide/File Clerk (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJune 19, 2014
Pros: diverse workforce
I learned mail room duties and met some life-long friends.
I enjoyed working there; management was fair and knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, large work load, stayed busy, friendly, clean environment
revenue Officer (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJune 17, 2014
A typical work day would be working on cases/ home visits/preparing taxes with clients.

I learned how to be more organized than I was before, set deadlines, how to work independently , how to handle difficult situations.

the hardest part of the job was informing an individual of property leans and informing them that we will take everything that they – more... have to pay the debt.

the most enjoyable part was meeting different cultures of people and interacting with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with great benefits
Collection Representative (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 16, 2014
Pros: free parking, great atmosphere and great people
Cons: short breaks
Being in call center you conduct telephone interviews with people assessing their ability to pay and file delinquent. Primary duties are to answer phone calls for the entire work shift.
Management styles very, but management are approachable and willing to accommodate for work and family issues.
Hardest part of the job is getting customers to understand – more... the reason why certain actions occur. Best part is helping those customers who did not know the reason for the errors and how to correct them – less

About Internal Revenue Service

WASHINGTON - The Internal Revenue Service today released new withholding tables that will result in more take-home pay this spring – Read more

Internal Revenue Service Photos