Find companies:
Internal Revenue Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,169 reviews

Internal Revenue Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable
Data Entry, S.C.R.I.P.S (Current Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 10, 2014
People wear to much perfume and have pore communication skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
data transcriber
Data Transcriber (Former Employee), fresno, caNovember 10, 2014
it was fun. was able to do my work as asked wheather standing or sitting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall pretty static position
Tax Examiner (Former Employee), Holtsville, NYNovember 10, 2014
Pros: overtime was ready available
Cons: temp assignment and no room for perm position
Good company culture, not much room for growth and development.
Pretty static position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Capital
Lead Human Resource Specialist (Consultant) (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 6, 2014
Nice company in hiring applicants to gain experience in tax processing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goverment entity
Tax Examiner/ Data Transcriber (Former Employee), Chamblee, GANovember 5, 2014
code and edit confidential tax and tax credentials documents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Numbering Unit/Tax Examiner (Former Employee), Fresno, CANovember 5, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long nights
A day at work at this office was long and preformed at night that was the hardest part of the job, I generated , stamped for days of delinquency and mailed out patient statements. I worked alone most nights, cleaned a medical lab while statements printed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Government Employment
Contact Representative/ Tax Examining Technician (Current Employee), Ogden, UTNovember 5, 2014
Pros: good training, job security
Agreat place to work with many different departments and jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IRS
Training and Development Analyst (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 5, 2014
The IRS was a great job! However, there was no upward mobility in my department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IRS
Data Transcriber (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 4, 2014
Pros: gym access
Cons: job security
Its a good job if you are trying to buy something quick but definitely not easy to become permanent as a data transcriber.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Customer Services / Mail File Clerk (Former Employee), Ogden, UTNovember 4, 2014
Pros: great job
Help customers with tax questions and tax problems, Dealt with large some of money everyday, Lean more about the Gov.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal but decent pay
File Clerk (Former Employee), Norcross, GANovember 4, 2014
Pros: great pay for part-time seasonal job
Cons: work can be boring, tedious, and physically exhausting
filing tax papers using an alpha-numeric code. Large warehouse environment with lots of walking and repetitive motion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We receive adcentives like raffles to motivate the unit
Data Transcriber (Current Employee), Fresno, CANovember 4, 2014
Pros: cafeteria
Cons: noise
When I walk into work I immediately get a batch of taxpayers paperwork and start working right away. I learned that handwritten ones are much more harder to read than typed ones. My managers rotate every year so I have to get used to their personal style of management. They are very knowledgeable and are very helpful.
The hardest part of the job is when the other department brings us processing at the last minute, although we always work extra hard to meet the deadline. The most enjoyable part job is knowing you feel an achievement making a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work atmosphere and job security a big concern
Clerk (Current Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 3, 2014
Cons: short lunch break, unfair work environment
From the hiring process I should have already known that there was something wrong with this place of business. From the management to the people that you work around on a daily basis it could possibly be the most unprofessional place that I have ever seen. Under qualified employees doing jobs that they have no business doing but because of the amount of favoritism and most people growing up together you have no future of potential promotion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Contact Representative (Current Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 3, 2014
Pros: laid back work environment, good benefits, flexible schedules
Cons: seasonal
Your typical day to day at the IRS is very a laid back but complex challenge. As a Contact Rep you have to come up with the best solution for clients by assisting customers with tax errors, and investigating accounts, and setting up payment arrangements for customers to stay tax compliant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work and be a mother
Large Corporate Auditor (Former Employee), Oakland, CAOctober 28, 2014
Working at the Internal Review Service allowed me to be in a professional job with various opportunities and it also allowed me the flexibility needed as a mother raising children. I was able to successfully balance work and motherhood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Internal Revenue Agent (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 28, 2014
fun place to work, difficult culture to adjust to. IRS went after the wrong individuals in the division I was in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Seasonal Tax Examiner (Former Employee), Fresno, CAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: good salary, benefits
Cons: short working season
Great job. Great Place to be if you need experience. The money is pretty good. I made a mistake and left. Don't make that one for yourself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal
Candler (Former Employee), Chamblee, GAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: great compensation for the work
This was a seasonal position. One of the easiest jobs that I ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy meeting new people and learning new skills.
Supervisory Tax Examining Technician (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: learning new skills and meeting all sorts of people.
Cons: benefits keep changing and incentives disappearing.
I enjoyed the work I performed, which was several different duties since I worked in several areas of the IRS. I learned how to communicate with all sorts of people, and enjoyed working and meeting everyone.

Some of the managers were great, but others were in the position and should not have been.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Revenue Officer (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INOctober 21, 2014
I loved working here. The pay was OK for only needing a high school diploma. Worked with a lot of fun people. Management changed pretty often.

About Internal Revenue Service

WASHINGTON - The Internal Revenue Service today released new withholding tables that will result in more take-home pay this spring – Read more