Find companies:
Internal Revenue
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

Internal Revenue Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Account Management (Former Employee), Memphis,TnJuly 1, 2014
Pros: responsibility
Cons: training
Great place to work. Great Co-workers
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job with a field work
Internship (Former Employee), ho-volta regionJune 9, 2014
Pros: example: free lunches.
Cons: safe
i was able to go to the field with my immedisate superiors which made me to gain a little exposure to a lot of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Temp. Clerk (Former Employee), FT. Campbell, KYMay 24, 2014
What can I say. This is the military. You have good and bad days but at the end of the day you are still priviledged to wear the US flag on your uniform.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A secure federal job
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 5, 2014
There are some intersting projects, but agency lacks motivated workers. Budget uncertainties have caused some turmoil of late. They will be hard pressed to bring in younger, motivated talent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Contact Service Representative (Current Employee), Cleveland, OhioMarch 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: seasonal
Great Place to work and excellent benefits. Great supervisors and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and professional
Clerk (Former Employee), Baton Rouge,LaFebruary 20, 2014
I have work in vary productive fast pace office environment, where we transcript documents for business, and personal income tax. I have learn how to do many things such as data entry, word processing through transcripts, and how to prepare my own taxes. My co-workers was awesome we help each other perform our duties in timely manner. In this job it – more... was no hard parts everything went smooth sailing and I really enjoy working with the company. I enjoy running errands, typing documents, and working with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a great career if you can get past the red tape
Computer Investigative Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: job security, the work!
Cons: management for the most part is self centered self seeking non professionals
The employees are some of the best you can ever work with however there are way too many chiefs and not enough indians. Upper management is self centered and self serving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse, demanding and fulfilling position which required ongoing professional training.
Revenue Officer (Former Employee), State of North CarolinaFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: diversity of clientele, independence, opportunity to interact with congressional offices and other agencies with autonomy
Cons: strict accountability for actions by several layers of management, little or no interaction with peers, rigid structure for securing tangible taxpayer assets
Managed caseload of 50-75 delinquent taxpayer cases. Multi-tasking required in that progress varied from case to case. Learned means and methods for researching records and uncovering hidden assets. Independent field work on a daily basis both scheduled and unscheduled. Typical top-down management structure with many levels to navigate. Rarely interacted – more... with coworkers due to independent job requirements; occasional in-service training brought us together. Dealing with clients in crisis and having to make decisions on their behalf was often stressful. Time spent as union steward mediating employee grievances with management was fulfilling and rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tons of incentives
TAX EXAMINER (Current Employee), Kansas City, MoFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: awesome lunch service
Cons: short breaks
I enjoy working there and the training is very intense. I am grateful for having gone through this process
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Program Manager was just fabulous
Training Consultant (Former Employee), Oxon Hill, MarylandFebruary 1, 2014
I trained managers from all over the country. I was able to work with all of them in a professional manner.
I was able to make the course accessible and understandable to all, even those with "math and statistics phobia". This was a great professional achievement for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of Duties
Management Assistant (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: always learning something new
Cons: must pay for parking
A typical day may consist of writing memorandum to agents and filing away information by hand. Answering the phone and ordering office supplies. It may be necessary to schedule a meeting or provide recommendations with a convincing argument.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
examing tax returns for corrections and errors
Tax Examiner (Current Employee), kansas city, kansasNovember 19, 2013
Pros: advancements to move up
Cons: seasonal employment
Though out the day, I kept a steady pace, exceeding at time above required. Assigned addition task when asked by management to help out the team to meet daily task. Hardest part was, hand writing of tax payers. Enjoyed all parts of my task. Kept very busy, days seem short.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee), Chamblee, GANovember 5, 2013
Pros: flexible, great salary
A typical day with Internal Revenue was kinda mondane. It was just the same every day. Transcribe data. Verify data. Management was strict and work volume was heavy. Really nothing new to learn just key your little heart out. It worked out really well for my life due to the flexible work schedule that I was able to choose from despite the heavy volume. – more... The Salary was great as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Task driven atmosphere.
Tax Examiner I (Former Employee), Marietta, GAOctober 9, 2013
Excellent workinh environment. Very professional atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
data entry (Former Employee), Springfield, ILOctober 5, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Fast paced enviorment, entering in a series of numbers 8 hours a day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, work hard, ethical and challenging work place.
Tax Examining Technician (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 25, 2013
I enjoyed the experience . Supportive and Co-operative management, great co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Tax Preparer (Former Employee), Miami Gardens, FLAugust 19, 2013
Pros: great experience gain and networking
· Prepared tax services for individuals with incomes below $49,000
· Verify Identity to be able to process a tax return
· Reviewed all information to make sure of accuracy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Seasonal Job
Tax Examiner Technician (Current Employee), Austin, TXJuly 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits, good compensation
Cons: seasonal employment, permanent full time not available
The work environment is good, great people in my unit. Each season we work about 6 to 8 months, this is the negative about the job. With all the recent budget cuts there won't be any more permanent job openings for awhile. The challenge each year is to learn all the new tax law changes that affect my unit. We usually have software changes as well. I – more... like how independently we work and the ability to manage our workload. Overall the job is ideal, it just doesn't last long enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Data Transcriber IV (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 18, 2013
Pros: able to make alot of overtime
Working environment wasn't environmentally safe. Mold in building leaving workers ill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producive and team building environment
Lead Data Transcriber / Manager (Current Employee), Chamblee, GAMay 4, 2013
I process an average of 500 - 600 checks a day, quality control of checks uploaded by co-worker, I balance customer checks on a daily basis,I then batch all checks, I supervise as well as cross train other emplyees.
If needed I I will correct any errors made by co-worker and/or the system, I am a contac person for customers to set up payment accounts.
I – more... enjoy working in a team environment as well as with management, I have leaned how to internal data bases as well execellent customer service, problem solving. – less