Find companies:
Inwood House
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Inwood House Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, rewarding, dedication
Safety & Security Administrator (Current Employee), 80 Maiden Lane, Suite 1504 New York, NY 10038July 6, 2014
I work with children, it is very rewarding and uplifting. I have learned a lot with the Inwood House organization. I've been taught group management skills to effectively implement activities to school age children and I've also gain leadership skill's that allowed me to effectively run my own after school site in multiple school's in the bronx. The – more... hardest part of my job at times would be to counsel line staff, in difficult situations. The most enjoyable part of my Job is working with children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very friendly atmosphere and people do not work together.
CASE MANAGER (Former Employee), NY, NYMay 29, 2014
Staff is very much to themselves and it is very difficult to communicate and to work together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic
Case Worker (Former Employee), Queens, NYMarch 7, 2014
Pros: new partnerships
Cons: lo
to much work for minimal employees. Expectation are high without proper support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff, office location was in transition
Manager of External Affairs - Interim (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: friendly, knowledgable staff
Cons: shaky senior management
I came into a period with great turnover in department and senior management. It affected my job status, as I became an incumbent who was removed in the department restructure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teen Choice
Teen Choice (Former Employee), new yorkNovember 22, 2013
Leadership(Director) was difficult to work with for the past few years.Does not know how to treat personnel with respect and dignity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Youth Counselor (Current Employee), NYOctober 8, 2013
Enjoy working with the young teenage mother and helping assist with their toddlers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hepling Teens take charge of their lives
Assistant Social Worker/Housing Specialist (Former Employee), New york NYJuly 6, 2013
Pros: the covered all medical
Cons: new administration
As an Assist Social Worker I assisted Teens apply for Housing, register them in school, go to court with them. I also assisted in apartment hunting help them get ready for Section 8 interview. Once they obtained the voucher helped them find an apartment

I learend everything about Case Management, I got along well with co-workers. The hardest part of – more... my job was calling in a case to ACS when needed.

the most enjoyable part of my job when they moved out into there own apartment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The WORSE agency ever!!!!
Youth Development Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 16, 2013
I hated my time at this agency. My program in particular was ran by very unprofessional and vindicative management. My program director introduced herself at a staff meeting and went on to inform the staff that she was "going to get rid of all of us and get people she knows to come and work with her". She was later fired because she was totally unqualified – more... to supervise anyone besides a toy poodle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A frustrating place to work
Fundraising (Former Employee), New YorkMay 15, 2013
The organization has a great mission but it fails to reach its potential due to Senior Leadership issues. Many line staff are dedicated but lack education and leadership skills. Development staff are churned through on average every 12-14 months. Much attention is placed on PR but not nearly enough on results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Assurance at Inwood
Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 14, 2013
I love my position because I have a very autonomous role. My supervisor does not micromanage me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Clerical Aide (Internship) (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 5, 2013
really nice people to deal with and had a good time working was happpy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can have longevity
Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 30, 2012
Pros: time off
Cons: lack of commuication
Inwood House was a very fun place to work. I met alot of good people throughout the years that I was employed with them.I learned how to really become the best at customer service and fine tuning my ability to deal with stresseful situations in a professional manner. As a non profit mamngemnet was always changing, but that was because they were trying – more... their best to make things less complicated and more structured. The hardest part of my job was dealing with clients and having to deliver bad news that would effect their lives. The most enjoyable part was working with my co workers and servicing my clients. They were truly grateful to my hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission to help teens take charge of their lives
L.P.N./Medical Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 3, 2012
Pros: working with this population.
Cons: low wages, insurance package could be better
Speaking with the youth and teaching them about their bodies, helping them make decisions that will enhance their well being. Providing them with the tools to make sound medical choices for themselves and their children.
Answering question about the changes their bodies are going through and making healthier choices in food during pregnancy.
I've alearned – more... what may work for one may not be the best for another providing a human with choices can be the difference between being ally or a foe.
I respect and admire most of my colleagues a close net working environment that makes transitions smoother.
Watching a young lady bond with her baby after being scared and frustrated for months. Down side not being able to reach all the girls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid and not supported position
Former residential staff (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 23, 2012
This position is underpaid and has no programmatic support. You will be caring for six infants/toddlers with little staff and supplies. The space is small and there is not adequate equipment. As previous reviewer stated that organization is heavy in management and administration and little pay and support for front line workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission and focus
MANAGER BUDGET AND FINANICAL ANALYSIS (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 16, 2012
The management has no vision for tomorrow. The most enjoyable part of the job is the clients and seeing the young people grow and become self reliant. The hardest part of the job is management. The co-workers work well together and support the mission. I learned the client is not the main focus of the organization and it's top heavy and management is – more... over paid when the line staff is not appreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable, yet professional environment.
Site Coordinator (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 19, 2012
I really enjoy working with Inwood House. I work with an afterschool program, and although I love to be around the students, the overall culture of the office is quite unique compared to other establishments in which I have been employed. I have developed from an immature youth worker into a professional advocate for youth development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but hard place to work
care worker (Current Employee), salisburyFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: no free lunches
not a verey friendly home to work in due to staff you dont get free lunches you have to pay some staff can be rude and unfriendly