Iowa State University Employee Reviews in United States

Found 150 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but rewarding
Community Adviser (RA) (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAApril 17, 2016
Can be a great job or bad job depending on your hall director and your on-call hours.
Ample opportunities to make a positive impact on students and learn new skills.
Pros
Free Housing, work where you live, see a positive impact in your community
Cons
Potential for extreme amounts of unpaid work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant
Volunteer Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAApril 12, 2016
Typical laboratory procedures and analytical techniques
Perform Radioactivity material experiments
Work both independently and collaboratively and maintain regular duties such as ordering and purchasing drug and other supplies, ensuring waste disposal including sharp or biohazard waste, maintaining equipment, and educating students to learn lab skills and safety standards
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, relaxed enviroment with easy to work with staff
Front Desk Attendent (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAApril 8, 2016
I managed the front desk at a Iowa State University building. On a typical day, I answered phone calls and student inquiries.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment
IT Student Technician (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAApril 8, 2016
The job is in a professional setting. A lot of experience is gained by working with computers and other co-workers. Schedule is very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Research Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAMarch 3, 2016
I was given freedom to independently design experiment to achieve a predetermined goal. The management gave me support and direction to achieve my goals without controlling my day to day work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enjoyable, friendly.
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAMarch 2, 2016
Typically 9 am - 5 pm everyday, involving research and teaching responsibilities. Research advisers are really good. They are very understanding and helpful. Gained teaching experience after coming here and I enjoy it fully. Co-workers are friendly, easy going.
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great educational Institution
Graduate Student, Department of Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAFebruary 17, 2016
Powerful educational institution that cares for student welfare. Great academic departments that nourishes the qualities of hard work and accountability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional school with some truly dedicated professors
Senior Design Project (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAFebruary 16, 2016
Experiences vary between professors in the Computer Engineering program, but I worked with some very inspiring people that fueled my desire to be a great engineer.
Pros
Beautiful campus
Cons
Get what you put in
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Communication
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAFebruary 13, 2016
I worked as a Teaching Assistant in which I demonstrated the lab procedures and cautions of the upcoming experiment. I also help students to find out the solution they have during they are doing the experiment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work opportunity during the school year
Student Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAFebruary 8, 2016
Iowa State offers very flexible scheduling to help students schedule around classes. Gives lots of opportunities to gain leadership experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience as a Graduate Teaching Assistant
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAFebruary 8, 2016
Everyday is a new learning and I am able to share my knowledge with the students on a regular basis. The duties are not stressful and can be managed efficiently.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAFebruary 3, 2016
If you get the research assistance position you can get in-state tuition which helps a lot to those graduate students who has financial pressures.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
INSTRUCTOR, History Dept. (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 28, 2016
This place was a wonderful to work at. It was a beautiful campus and the people were kind, intelligent and welcoming. Always willing to assist.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent univeristy
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 20, 2016
I've had an amazing experience at Iowa State thus far and thats partially because of the courses and professors. There are a variety of classes offered at Iowa State. Most of my classes have been beneficial towards my major and future career although some I also just needed to fill a requirement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 18, 2016
Top class research university for applied econometrics and data modeling. Its a land grant university, so most of the agriculture related programs are exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 3, 2016
Worked as an undergraduate researcher. Worked with graduate students in the mechanical engineering group for the Self aware complex systems group. Made some trips to the test bed and also made some data analysis. Used wireshark for packet capture and carrying out simulated cyber attacks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for school
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 29, 2015
I do research at the Microelectronics Research Center. I have learnt a lot about conducting research and I am ready to apply it either as part of a company or in academia.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety, quiet, and concentrate.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 21, 2015
It is very nice place to study and work. People usually loves and focuses on their research, study, and work. I live the style people lives. If any chance, I would come back and spend the rest of my life in here.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends, big university, difficult to summarize
Laboratory Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 19, 2015
if you work in research, you will be surrounded by highly educated and talented individuals. However, if you work in a commercial lab, you will be surrounded with people who are very difficult to get along with
Pros
job security
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Research Opportunity
Field Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 8, 2015
The ability to conduct research with minimal prior experience is incredible in advancing your knowledge. A typical day consisted of recording data, evaluating, statistical analysis, and report writing. The ability to be a part of a major project and receive accommodation for your work was excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 151 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture