Iowa State University Employee Reviews

Found 220 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, not so good communication
Animal Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 18, 2017
Position was terminated in 5 months. Received a good review in month 4 and was fired in month 5 without a real reason or explanation. Was not trained very well and then was expected to know how to do things I hadn't been shown.
Pros
Benefits, coworkers were friendly
Cons
Management, cliques, Communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Place to Work
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 17, 2017
If I could have a full time job there, I would accept it without second thought. The best is expected and hard work is always rewarded. The lab is always busy and in motion, but always giving enough time for a short break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful place to work
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 11, 2017
ISU is a safe and friendly place to work. The salary might not be high compared to other industrial company. However, considering the location, Ames, which is a low-costing, the salary is usually enough for a decent life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ISU in transition
Laboratory Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 10, 2017
The ISU campus is in a time of transition, with many of the top university officials finding jobs at other institutions. The culture has the potential to improve, but will take a few years and new vision from a new president.
Pros
People are nice and well intended.
Cons
Traditional cultural values keep Iowa from accepting the flux of immigrant populations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iowa State University
LAB MONITOR (Current Employee) –  Ames iowaJuly 7, 2017
Iowa State University has a lot of opportunities, but working for a state school is usually a dead end job unless you're on a tenure track or other promotable position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 29, 2017
Academia is competetive but people who are open to learning will advance. ISU is a community of enthusiastic people. A lot is expected of you, a 40 hour week would be considered slacking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 22, 2017
As a research assistant, you have good flexibility of working 20 hours per week. The job work/life balance is great! And I love the job culture here at ISU!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly proferssors with ample opportunites
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 21, 2017
Teaching assistant position at ISU is a challenge to find but if you look at the right place it is possible. Professors are friendly and helping to make the job easier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpaid for Research Experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 20, 2017
Tough to review anything for pay when I volunteered for simply for experience. I performed research for 2 years, and was never treated unfairly. I was told to focus on my school work first, and never struggled to manage both research and life. It was rather easy-going.
Pros
Experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work while going to school
Technical Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 19, 2017
I worked as a technical research assistant for the Entomology Department at Iowa State University.
It was hard physical work, but still enjoyable.
I liked the people I worked with. My manager although a little rough around the edges, was a nice guy to work for.
Pros
Fun Place to work
Cons
Maybe could pay more for how hard we strain our bodies
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Iowa State University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a gluconeogenesis protein FBPase.
Post-Doctoral fellow (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 16, 2017
purification and characterization of mutant protein of FBPase protein from bacterial expression system. point mutated proteins were cloned, expressed and purified and studied.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Chemistry Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 13, 2017
Very good college. Every department you work in you are well received and your talent is appreciated. If you work hard, you will achieve success in your field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Choose your own adventure
Teaching Assistant & Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 12, 2017
Basically get to make your own schedule and lesson plan, and I find that what you put into the job both off the clock and on, really determines how much you get out of it. I fell in love with teaching and the challenge it provided, and I felt absolutely liberated when I realized how much I grew as a leader through teaching in a small and large group setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent school
Math Tutor/Grader (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 8, 2017
I worked as a grader and tutor in the math department. It was fun helping the students grasp mathematical concepts. I also enjoyed the staff. They are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent community, students, pay and benefits. Terrible administration.
Senior Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 7, 2017
Administration is regularly sued for retaliation, discrimination, etc. The taxpayers subsidize the settlements, so they keep making the same mistakes. Don't expect the culture here to change anytime soon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 1, 2017
My boss was great. I was able to interact with people from all over the world. It was a relaxed work environment. The health insurance and retirement benefits were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time college job
STUDENT WORKER (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAMay 31, 2017
Worked for Iowa State University which is a great atmosphere being around fellow student workers. Had hours that I could fit around my class schedule which was very convenient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Culture but suffers from funding
Director of Athletic Bands (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAMay 23, 2017
Hours are flexible outside of your classroom assignments. The management is typical of a university environment as they are not really experienced managers and more academics who get thrown into the role that they are not prepared for and many times do not manage people or finances well.
Pros
Good hours and beautiful work environment
Cons
Poor management, low budgets, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAMay 22, 2017
Iowa State University is a very good place to work. I am a research assistant in the department of materials science and engineering. The culture in our department is very friendly and efficient. I love this place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study opportunity
Dining Hall Staff (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAMay 18, 2017
● Worked in one of the largest dining halls on campus
● Duties included food preparation, maintenance of sanitation standards, and cleaning the kitchen and cafeteria
Pros
Hours worked with class schedule.
Cons
Very early start times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Iowa State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 223 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Iowa State University Reviews by Location