Find companies:
Iowa State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
113 reviews

Iowa State University Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Laboratory Technician I (Former Employee), Ames, IAFebruary 9, 2015
Worked here while in High School. Flexible hours, not too strenuous, I got a lot of great experience, and learned that I didn't really like science.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Waiter (Former Employee), Ames, IAFebruary 7, 2015
I could serve my customer well and offer a clean and delicious deli for them.
I enjoy the time working with my co-worker. We could wash dishes together and also making deli together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace
Undergraduate Supply Chain Consultant (Current Employee), Ames, IAFebruary 5, 2015
Flexible hours
Great people
Able to work individually and in teams
Work with many different companies
Able to expand network
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense Work Place
Assistant Recruiting Coordinator - Football (Former Employee), Ames, IAJanuary 21, 2015
100-120+ hours/week

A typical day entailed answering phone calls and emails. These emails/phone calls typically came from recruits, the parents and coaches of recruits, and a number of university employees. On a daily basis, I also managed a group of 20-25 students, including graphic designers. I delegated tasks for the students to perform and organized their use for the events that I planned.

I worked under 2 supervisors. One was my primary supervisor and in charge of the recruiting department; the other was a supervisor of the entire staff, with the exception of coaches.

I worked closely with another recruiting coordinator along with the students I managed.

The most difficult part of this job were the hours. Working upwards of 120 hours a week is daunting. There was little time left for anything else in life.

The part I enjoyed the most about this job - working with people. Plain and simple. Every week I met a multitude of people from varying backgrounds. It was such a joy to introduce them to Iowa State University and show them our facilities. Making sure they were happy, made me happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun
VOLUNTEER PARKING (Former Employee), Ames, IAJanuary 16, 2015
i always to to learn fast and get the work done help others and bea great team player.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A valuable research internship
Lab Assistant Internship (Former Employee), Ames, IAJanuary 14, 2015
Pros: first internship, exposure to lab setting
This particular job experience was a summer internship at Iowa State University. I was chosen to intern in the Chemistry Dept. conducting research on nano-particles my junior and senior year in high school. A normal day consisted of me reviewing data from the previous days experiments. After that I primed my station for the days experiments, conducted them, and recorded the data until the end of the work day. I worked with current undergraduate and graduate students in the lab. They assisted me in in conducting my experiments and at the end of the internship our data was presented to various professors at Iowa State University. This was a valuable experience and learning opportunity. At the end of program I was offered to return the following summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice PT job for student
Iowa State Foundation (Former Employee), Ames, IAOctober 17, 2014
Nice job for students, worked around class schedule, lots of phone calls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical graduate life
Graduate Research Asistant (Former Employee), Ames, IAOctober 8, 2014
casual work environment
winter/summer vacations
interesting research topics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good university
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Ames, IASeptember 17, 2014
Wide range of courses to choose from and reachable professors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work environment with fun co workers
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Ames, IASeptember 5, 2014
I keep up the calendar for the office and do many small tasks for the office on a daily basis. I also do a lot of large projects to help students throughout the year. I am able to talk to my co workers about anything and they are very supportive of anything I have to do to get a new career. The hardest part of the job is balancing many tasks at once but it can be done. The thing I like the best is being organized and meeting new friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for a graduate student
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ames, IASeptember 2, 2014
Great place to be as a graduate student if you get a good major professor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Ames, IAAugust 13, 2014
This is my dream job. It is a challenging, busy place with fun co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college job
Tutor (Former Employee), Ames, IAAugust 9, 2014
You set your own schedule and still get paid some money if no one shows up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Ames, IowaAugust 6, 2014
productive and fun place to work.

Enjoyed interaction with colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent student job.
Student Employment & Scholarships (Former Employee), Ames, IAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunches; ability to show initiative
The Financial Aid Office was always trying to speed up processes as the University was tracking more and more information pertaining to students; management was accepting of suggestions for process improvements and time saving procedures. Co-workers were easy to get along with even if they were not studying the same material. I learned how to use a scanner with specialized software for the volumes of documents that are kept for administrative use.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Research Associate (Current Employee), Ames, IAJuly 30, 2014
Very enjoyable work experience that challenged and excited me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with good learning environment
Teaching assistant (Former Employee), Ames, IAJuly 21, 2014
You can learn a lot in this university. The environment is peaceful which makes people spend more time on study.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ames, IAJuly 15, 2014
My greatest experience to learn, research, and assist students in their assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Assistant
Sports Information / Media Relations (Former Employee), Ames, IAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: sports!!
Great university environment to learn about media relations while supporting 17 men's and women's athletic teams
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the university and faculty
Client Based Practicum (Former Employee), Ames, IAJune 30, 2014
Pros: work in class
Cons: not always easy to communicate
Worked directly with the head of the graphic design program. Amazing woman and with the team I had we achieved a lot to help develop the Design Camps provided by the College of Design.

Iowa State University Salaries

Research Assistant
$20,000 per year
$10.00 per hour
Research Associate
$35,000 per year
Teaching Assistant
$20,000 per year
Graduate Assistant
$20,000 per year