Italian Restaurant Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Piacere Mio (Former Employee) –  National City, CAMay 11, 2017
Well I wash dishes and never end washing, you need to work by pressure and I dint get no brakes and no lunch brake.
There was no benefits.
Not sick to different areas cause it was hard to get there (someone has to quit to get the position you want).
Pros
Good Food
Cons
No brakes a lot of work as a dish washer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server/Bartender
Server (Former Employee) –  Montebello, CAApril 26, 2017
I have worked for the hospitality industry for over five years and for different restaurants with different types of food and software system. I feel like I could be a strong asset to your company or restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard workplace
Bella roma (Former Employee) –  HarisonvilleApril 7, 2017
the customers were great. But the work team was a little off.
never had a set work time
never realy got payed
but the food was great thay just needed to work more on how thay ran bella roma
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CHef or pastry chef
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLMarch 20, 2017
I love cooking. I cook for passion and not for money, when you do it just for the money, the taste is completely different and boring, I work and I enjoy it, although it is hard work, the joy you feel when creating new dishes is incredible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Original Calzone
Host, waiter, and delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 8, 2017
Nice and secluded Italian restaurant. Had better food than many of the restaurants I've found at four star hotels. Try the Gnochi Firenzi or the Scarface if you dare.
Pros
Solid hours.
Cons
Very busy on the weekend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy but good peeps
Dishwasher/busboy (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXNovember 22, 2016
better money could have been made for everyone. Big restaurant small town scenario> San Antonio would be a better environment to have a restaurant like this. Better pay would also make the employees perform better and actually care about losing their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sudisfaction in see the finish product
Owner of a successful (Current Employee) –  DublinMarch 30, 2016
In my years of work I have learned to deal with people nor two are a like. It is fun to see how they click to get the most out of them and making them feel that they do matter, that they are part of a team. I also notice that some of the disgruntle employee if given the opportunity to lead they become you best supporters. (not every time). I was lucky enough to attend many seminars and to apply what I learned to my work environment. my best teachers were the people I worked with,
Pros
i was able to travel all over europe most of all Italy
Cons
free trade . I would have loved to keep doing it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying every second
Venetion Hot Plate (Former Employee) –  Port Aransas, TXFebruary 16, 2016
I learned about the restaurant life, so much more than what you see when you arrive to eat a meal. I loved where I worked. Moving took me away from this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
 Team player with polished communication & interpersonal skills & rapport building
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Muscut, Sultanate of OmanFebruary 10, 2016
Managing dining room operations supervising a team of 15 employees, providing proper coverage for 4 dining room settings a day of 30 guests in each setting, planning and executing functions for the day.
Welcoming ushering guests to their tables, assessing individual/group needs, introducing them to servers, oversee the dining experience and address guest's issues with prompt positive resolution.
To plan the day work when there is short staff is very hard.
When the Restaurant is going smooth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A three star Italian Restaurant
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 27, 2015
fine dinning Italian Restaurant, small, romantic atmosphere.
Great service, and servers. Supportive ownership.
Very Busy on the weekends, fine food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
WEEKEND MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Middle Village, NYOctober 31, 2015
Managed restaurant requirements and inventory. The money was good and everyone was friendly and extremely kind. Working at the restaurant was enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good restaurant to learn the job
Waitress and Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 7, 2015
Fun work place where you can learn different types of job and start a career in hospitality. My coworkers are great and amazing people to work with. It is a friendly environment where everybody is treated like family
Pros
Good salary, family meal every day
Cons
No paid vacation or paid sick days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the owner
OWNER/CHEF RISTORANTE DA TULLIO (Former Employee) –  Palm Harbor, FLAugust 19, 2015
I was one of the owners, we had a wonderful restaurant. I am fairly certain that most all of our past employees would have nothing but great things.
Pros
fulfilling
Cons
consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very upscale restaurant and a fun place to work
Busser (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CaJuly 7, 2015
.Serve bread and water, and reset table
.Excellent customer service
.Management were always on the floor assisting
.Co workers were somewhat friendly and money motivated
.Not spilling the water while serving
.Collecting the tips and helping customers
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome food
Former Navy Junior ROTC cadet (Former Employee) –  Bladensburg, MDMay 5, 2015
The food tastes so wonderful. The staff is young and caring. The restaurant also has it's own little grocery market, and a deli.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress
Food Prep Brookpark (Current Employee) –  CleOctober 9, 2014
Maintain the dining room, greet guests, answer phones, and to help as needed in the kitchen and on delivery. Create a comfortable dining experience for each individual guest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place low pay
Kitchen manager (Current Employee) –  miami beachSeptember 25, 2014
low paying but nice people


9-5pm
12-9pm
3-1:30 am shifts

labor/food cost education


great people


pay is hard part

customers and scratch kitchen are most enjoyable
Pros
hours
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable serving environment
Server (Current Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHJanuary 15, 2014
First Serving job and it has been hard work but enjoyable.
Rewarding tips
Pleasant customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and romantic place
Sous Chef, Casanova (Former Employee) –  George TownNovember 4, 2013
Working from morning till night in a very busy restaurant.
I have learned Italian language.
Good management.
Fun- loving co-workers.
The hardest part was singing for birthdays, papara-papara....
The most enjoyable part was listening the Italian music.
Pros
Free lunch and dinner
Cons
health care, penssion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food service with managerial experience
Customer Service/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 25, 2013
Since, 1991, I began my experience into the world of work. From 1991 until 1997, I worked for several restaurants as listed below. Most of the jobs had the same responsibilities, for the most part.
A typical day at work meant that I was responsible for the preparation of the foods. Chopping, slicing vegetables cheeses and meats. Creating doughs and sauces for pizza. Setting the food stations with the ingredients needed. Making reports for opening procedures. Counting the money and even making a bank deposit of the previous nights sales. Ensuring the restaurant was ready to operate before turning the open sign on.

The challenge was to ensure smooth operations were maintained regardless of staffing issues. There were times that we were understaffed and very busy. I also had to resolve quality control issues and be sure to account for the money and the assets of the business as an assistant manger. I became an assistant manger at Terina's, Tropicana, Milano's and Round-table pizzerias. At all the other places I learned to make the food, serve it and account for the money.

I enjoyed the variety ensured within the food industry. I learned to quickly adapt and work efficiently in a fast paced environment. Usually the management noticed my capabilities and often I became their assistant.
Pros
quick advancement
Cons
physical labor/low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Italian Restaurant. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 107 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9