Italian Restaurant Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food service with managerial experience
Customer Service/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 25, 2013
Since, 1991, I began my experience into the world of work. From 1991 until 1997, I worked for several restaurants as listed below. Most of the jobs had the same responsibilities, for the most part.
A typical day at work meant that I was responsible for the preparation of the foods. Chopping, slicing vegetables cheeses and meats. Creating doughs and sauces for pizza. Setting the food stations with the ingredients needed. Making reports for opening procedures. Counting the money and even making a bank deposit of the previous nights sales. Ensuring the restaurant was ready to operate before turning the open sign on.

The challenge was to ensure smooth operations were maintained regardless of staffing issues. There were times that we were understaffed and very busy. I also had to resolve quality control issues and be sure to account for the money and the assets of the business as an assistant manger. I became an assistant manger at Terina's, Tropicana, Milano's and Round-table pizzerias. At all the other places I learned to make the food, serve it and account for the money.

I enjoyed the variety ensured within the food industry. I learned to quickly adapt and work efficiently in a fast paced environment. Usually the management noticed my capabilities and often I became their assistant.
Pros
quick advancement
Cons
physical labor/low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Saute Chef (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PADecember 9, 2012
With a few changes can be a great place. Prepping raw food ingredients for sauces or salads. Preportioning and cooking entrees by following italian recipes. I like to cook but I am planning to return to residential construction or mechanical engineering. I do not have much in common with my coworkers but we are friendly.
Pros
close to home, reputation, small company.
Cons
schedule, professionalism suffers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DISORGANIZER owner,not trusworthy,
Director of operations (Former Employee) –  Cape Coral,FT.Myers,Naples FLMay 23, 2012
dealing with contractors,food vendors,liquor vendors,training young inexperiance staff,kitchen is ready to go,specials,stock,..i learned the owner was dishonest,...co-workers were good,(some of them) some had no clue,dealing with the owner who was absent all the time,...opening a brand new resturant from the ground floor
Cons
weak ownership
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good restaurant to learn the job
Waitress and Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 7, 2015
Fun work place where you can learn different types of job and start a career in hospitality. My coworkers are great and amazing people to work with. It is a friendly environment where everybody is treated like family
Pros
Good salary, family meal every day
Cons
No paid vacation or paid sick days
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and romantic place
Sous Chef, Casanova (Former Employee) –  George TownNovember 4, 2013
Working from morning till night in a very busy restaurant.
I have learned Italian language.
Good management.
Fun- loving co-workers.
The hardest part was singing for birthdays, papara-papara....
The most enjoyable part was listening the Italian music.
Pros
free lunch and dinner
Cons
health care, penssion
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very upscale restaurant and a fun place to work
Busser (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CaJuly 7, 2015
.Serve bread and water, and reset table
.Excellent customer service
.Management were always on the floor assisting
.Co workers were somewhat friendly and money motivated
.Not spilling the water while serving
.Collecting the tips and helping customers
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the owner
OWNER/CHEF RISTORANTE DA TULLIO (Former Employee) –  Palm Harbor, FLAugust 19, 2015
I was one of the owners, we had a wonderful restaurant. I am fairly certain that most all of our past employees would have nothing but great things.
Pros
fulfilling
Cons
consuming
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Italian Restaurant
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  West HollywoodFebruary 27, 2012
As an Italian Professional Iternational Executive Chef they only things I have to say is easy for me to manage an Italian Kitchen, but many owners operators, you never know how they can turn in you around!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place low pay
Kitchen manager (Current Employee) –  miami beachSeptember 25, 2014
low paying but nice people

9-5pm
12-9pm
3-1:30 am shifts

labor/food cost education

great people

pay is hard part

customers and scratch kitchen are most enjoyable
Pros
hours
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress
Food Prep Brookpark (Current Employee) –  CleOctober 9, 2014
Maintain the dining room, greet guests, answer phones, and to help as needed in the kitchen and on delivery. Create a comfortable dining experience for each individual guest.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and Fast Paced
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Avon, INSeptember 26, 2012
I work in a fast paced environment in which I work closely with guests to accomodate their needs.
Pros
working with my co workers
Cons
new management, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome food
Former Navy Junior ROTC cadet (Former Employee) –  Bladensburg, MDMay 5, 2015
The food tastes so wonderful. The staff is young and caring. The restaurant also has it's own little grocery market, and a deli.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
WEEKEND MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Middle Village, NYOctober 31, 2015
Managed restaurant requirements and inventory. The money was good and everyone was friendly and extremely kind. Working at the restaurant was enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exceptional environment
chef/assistant (Former Employee) –  quad cititesFebruary 14, 2012
great feedback, reviews and quality leadership
full menu
good training
Pros
exciting to go everyday
Cons
closed to soon
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable serving environment
Server (Current Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHJanuary 15, 2014
First Serving job and it has been hard work but enjoyable.
Rewarding tips
Pleasant customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

See more Italian Restaurant reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture