Find companies:
Ivy Tech Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
189 reviews

Ivy Tech Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage self and enjoy co-workers
Proctor (Current Employee), Goshen, INSeptember 17, 2014
The schedule for testing changes often but I manage my own hours and check in with my supervisor when needed. I learned to give instructions and manage large groups as I oversaw the testing of many students. At times there would be 21+ students testing at a time and I had to learn to be wise with time management and give them guidance and direction – more... in an orderly fashion. This job required flexibility as well as control of a group and being disciplined with working alone. Many students spoke Spanish as their primary language and I needed to translate often for test instructions. My co-workers had a different work schedule since I did testing late into the nights usually so working alone while students test was very common. I really enjoyed managing my own time and being on my own but would love to work more with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College level tutor
College level tutor (Former Employee), Columbus, INSeptember 11, 2014
Tutored multiple students in AutoCAD, Descriptive Geometry & Statics engineering math
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Ivy Tech of all
Fronst Desk Assistant (Former Employee), East Chicago, INSeptember 8, 2014
The staff are nice and helpful. Its never a dull moment with the staff. Ivy Tech East Chicago was always clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many differnt jobs
Assistant to Academic Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee), Michigan City, INSeptember 7, 2014
I loved working at here. The people were wonderful and I learned many differnt jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school that allowed me to get the credits I needed.
student (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INSeptember 4, 2014
The school focuses on providing students an opportunity to get caught up to college level with the subjects they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Work-Study/Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Anderson, INAugust 26, 2014
It's a great school that allows you to be flexible between real life and school life. They are there to help you succeed with your education, only serious applicants should apply!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Vice Chancellor - Academic Affairs (Current Employee), Terre Haute, INAugust 26, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: the pay
I have worked for the college 21 years in different positions. Every day their is a new challenge which makes the job exciting for me. Faculty and staff work well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Student Support Services Math Tutor (Former Employee), Gary, INAugust 25, 2014
Very fun place to attend school as well as work! Really friendly and helpful people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying educational experience
Adjunct Psychology Instructor (Current Employee), Lawrenceburg, INAugust 25, 2014
Pros: working with students
Cons: part-time with limited benefits
I typically teach 1 to 3 courses a semester, which allows me a great opportunity to work yet stay home to care for my children. Preparing for upcoming semesters is time consuming, as well as grading tests and written assignments. However, the most rewarding part of the job is watching the students learn and grow in their college experience - seeing – more... the "aha moment" in students is wonderful. As an adjunct instructor I do not have an opportunity to interact with other instructors; outside of my supervisor I do not have any contact with other instructors. I have applied numerous times for full-time positions with the college, but it is very difficult to obtain full-time work because they generally promote/hire within those already holding full-time positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for supplemental income
Instructor/Professor (Current Employee), Fort Wayne, INAugust 6, 2014
Great people to work with. There are no full-time opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Adjunct Faculty Instructor - Managerial Accounting (Current Employee), Michigan City, Indiana 46360August 1, 2014
Pros: family friendly.
Cons: hard to move up due to flat organizational structure.
Typical day is thinking of ways to recruit new students to pursue their higher education degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Learning enviroment
Tax Manager (Former Employee), Creasy Lane, Lafayette, INJuly 31, 2014
Pros: learning experience
Cons: seasonal
By appointment and at time occasional walk-ins income taxes were prepared. Once prepared it was then my job to review the taxes and make sure that they were prepared correctly and submit all forms to the IRS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Gary, INJuly 24, 2014
I enjoyed meeting the people I worked with and I enjoyed coming to work after class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning a lot working with students
Laboratory Technician and Ordering assistant (Current Employee), Valparaiso, INJuly 19, 2014
A common workday as a lab assistant at Ivy Tech is filled with opportunities to work in and learn about many different disciplines. Co-workers and professors come from all different walks of life, leading to many different perspectives and interesting situations all in all a good place to work. The hardest part of the job is keeping things balanced – more... during the day, between classes coming in and out, in limited numbers of classrooms and and unrelated disciplines can sometimes get tricky. The best part of the day can also be at the very same time when you see students learning and seeing completely new things, having even a small part in that makes it all worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Service student (Current Employee), Gary, INJuly 15, 2014
Pros: birtthday parties
Cons: short breaks
Indexed and scanned student records. I learned how to calculate grad point averages, financial aid payments, and order college transcripts. I had the best supervisor. She was very helpful and fair. My co-workers were awesome. Everyone pitched in to help me learn my job. The hardest part of my job was I was only able to work less than part time. I enjoyed – more... every part of my job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy faculty loading
Nurse educator (Current Employee), Valparaiso-GaryJuly 9, 2014
Excessive faculty loading (22-23 contact hours) that does not include 8 office hours a week. There is often unrequested mandatory overload.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back work environment
Baking and Pastry Instructor (Current Employee), Muncie, INJuly 9, 2014
I teach 2-4 classes per semester. I enjoy teaching different classes that each present different challenges. Management is willing to let us have freedom with classes as long as the curriculum and objectives are met. Great team of people to work with. Sometimes the challenges I face are figuring out how to get students to understand certain concepts – more... but when they do it is very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a student
student (Former Employee), Indianapolis, IndianaJuly 9, 2014
Pros: not all my classes were in one day
Cons: not having all my books
.i took three classes i had four but math isnt my best subject so i dropped it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work environment
WORK STUDY INTERN (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 8, 2014
Pros: supportive
Cons: i was only a intern/work study
Although I was an intern/work study student for several years and work in several different departments. A typical work day for me at Ivy Tech was fun, fast pass, and supportive. What I've learned from being an intern at Ivy Tech was student support and employee support goes a long way. Co-worker and management where very supportive, uplifting encouraging, – more... and helpful. I had several struggles as an student in which my supervisor and co-workers supported me to continue my studies and complete my degree. The most enjoyable part of my job as an intern was that I built long last relationship with management and co-workers as I still remain in contact with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Accounts Receivable / Front Line Supervisor (Former Employee), Evansville, INJuly 2, 2014
Good Place to work as long as you can get along with everyone.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ivy Tech Community College

About Us: Ivy Tech is the largest singly accredited community college system in the nation serving the entire state of Indiana – Read more

Ivy Tech Community College Photos