Ivy Tech Community College Employee Reviews

Found 437 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ivy Tech
Financial Aid Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INMay 12, 2017
A good place to work, fairly good pay and benefits. Many campuses available so there is always the opportunity to relocate but pretty much only in Indiana.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to get a starter education
Ivy Tech Carrer Summer Camp (Former Employee) –  Gary, INMay 11, 2017
ivy tech sponsored summer program for kids starting middle school. Teaching basic learning skills. Many choices for kids to pick from including physical activities and creative art projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Facilities Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INMay 5, 2017
I like the people. I do a lot of different things during the day so my day is never the same and I like that. I think the hardest part of my job is lifting the boxes that come in.
Pros
Free schooling for yourself and your family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Financial Aid Office (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INMay 2, 2017
The environment was fun and I enjoyed working here. The job responsibilities were pleasant and there was not a work over load for my job title. The environment was friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally an excellent place to work
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 2, 2017
My experience at Ivy Tech has been very satisfactory. I have been trusted to perform tutoring in my own way, with many different subjects in addition to the several math subjects.
Pros
flexibility in days and hours
Cons
nothing major
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great school
Associate (Former Employee) –  Ashburnham, MAMay 1, 2017
Ivy Tech is a great school with a diverse array of education possibilities. I hope anyone who gets to go there will have as great of an education as I did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed teaching the students
Professor (Former Employee) –  Online and Face to FaceApril 27, 2017
I had been a professor for years and it came time to move on. My typical day would be preparing for my classes that I would be teaching that evening.

I enjoyed working with the students, teaching the knowledge that I had to them.
Pros
It worked with my full time schedule
Cons
no growth for professors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great
Social Science Chair and Faculty (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 27, 2017
A culture of change and interactions with people of different cultures and groups. A friendly environment to work with much support from the co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Instructor
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INApril 26, 2017
Ivy Tech, during the time I worked there, was a fun environment. Both students and staff made this extra part time job seem like fun more than work. I would recommend it.
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting Egde Technology leading the path to developing service technicians
Automotive Instructor (Current Employee) –  East Chicago, INApril 26, 2017
Work day consists of helping students repair vehicles and diagnose problems with vehicles. The best part of my job is seeing the students have a breakthrough and understand something that they have been struggling with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Secretive towards employees
STUDENT AFFAIRS CLERK II (Former Employee) –  Valparaiso, INApril 25, 2017
On an average day it could be very busy or very slow. When there is nothing to do, one is expected to do others work. One is expected to MAKE people apply to the college.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the pay and job requirements, fun place to work.
Automotive Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, INApril 23, 2017
I enjoyed the various projects handed to me. Some easy, and some requiring long planning, resourcefulness, and patience.
Immediate supervisors are friendly and steer employees to the task at hand or required time table.
Despite having worked there for several years, Administration failed (in my book) to help me seek a full-time placement on the department's staff. I demonstrated and performed every task, so I was disappointed with the Dean at that time. So, I had to move on.
Pros
Enjoyed the students, promoting safety, and learning new skills.
Cons
Low pay, but the responsibilities are light.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the students immensly.
Adjunct Faculty Instructor (Former Employee) –  Kokomo, INApril 18, 2017
Teaching the students was always a joy.
The hardest part of the job was getting students to turn in their work on time.
Nepotism runs rampant at Ivy Tech Community College.
Pros
The students
Cons
Nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun place to work in
STUDENT AFFAIRS RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INApril 14, 2017
This is a very busy department but they really made it a fun and exciting environment to work in. The staff are amazing and do an excellent job for the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Instructor
Clinical Instructor (Former Employee) –  Sellersburg, INApril 6, 2017
As a clinical instructor I meet with students in the inpatient setting to provide hands on learning. I currently teach in semi-critical and critical care environments.
Pros
Great support
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 31, 2017
You get to teach and give back to the community and get a little pay for it. Helping change peoples life's.

You also get to learn new software. It is a very rewarding experience.
Pros
Learn
Cons
Does not pay very much.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ivy Tech is a great place to work and learn at the same time!
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Valparaiso, INMarch 30, 2017
A typlcal day a work includes being busy and interacting with many positive professionals.
There are many opportunities towards higher learning, a supportive faculty and pleasant work environment.
You are surrounded by positive and encouraging faculty, administrators, students, and employees. The hardest part of the job is not being able to use your creativity. Very structured and a bit behind on being a learning organization as a whole. The most enjoyable part of the job are the opportunities towards higher education and the ability to transfer credits to keep abreast of changes in education.
Pros
A great place to learn
Cons
Salary levels are low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INMarch 29, 2017
Enjoy employment with Ivy Tech. Great place to work! Management great. Hours 9-6 not good. Great opportunity working with students. Lots of activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Falling Apart at the Seams
Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  IndianaMarch 27, 2017
Administration has managed to put the school so deep into debt that we are currently laying people off. They take the first wave of budget cuts from faculty. Advancement is almost impossible unless someone retires or gets fired. Administration is very non-supportive of faculty. Morale is very low, and pay is even lower.
Pros
Depends on the department
Cons
Pay, benefits, work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Accounting Intern (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, INMarch 22, 2017
While attending College I was able to do the internship for college credits while getting on the job experience and I was paid for my time as I was getting hands on training
Pros
working while earning college credit
Cons
the job ended at each semester
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ivy Tech Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 438 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Ivy Tech Community College Reviews by Location