J. F. Ahern Co. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Equal
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 1, 2017
Does not treat employees fair nor equal. Never a fair warning on any level. Work hour are very good. Management does not know how to manage. No diversity in the work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place and people
Technician (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 7, 2017
nice place and people good training good benefits can make a really good home there because it allows you to grow with the company. you can achieve your goals through success
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first start
Fire Protection Design Intern (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 1, 2017
I never ahd experience working in fire protection until I found a job working with Ahern. Despite my limited knowledge, I found it to be an engaging and fun first job experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIJuly 7, 2017
Loved working here. Great benefits and great pay advancement. The job can be hard and it does get busy but we were always having a good time. Shop foreman was extremely understanding if you needed time off.
Pros
Great pay advancement, excellent work environment.
Cons
None if you dont mind overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good company
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  NebraskaJuly 5, 2017
I am not sure how they stay in business, other than ripping off their employees. They will promise you a quarterly bonus, but find any reason they can to not pay out the bonus!

Over promise and under deliver is their saying!
Pros
All the hotel points I accumulated
Cons
All the hotel point I accumulated lead to stress at home since I was never home!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
N/A (Current Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIMay 1, 2017
Ahern is a growing company that is committed to the professional development of their employees. Ahern invests in the long-term success of the company which provides on-going career opportunities for their employees.

Ahern is big enough to reap the benefits of a large company yet small enough to still feel the family-owned atmosphere.

The pace can be challenging, you need to be self motivated to work here.
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient, well run organization
Organizational Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIFebruary 22, 2017
Well run company with fast pace and significant attention to detail in everything they do. Tripp Ahern is visionary and strategic in his leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Plumber; Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIJanuary 11, 2017
I have worked for a number of union contractors. We are usually assigned per job so I have been jumping around a bit. I would like to have full time employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In house lunches.
Project Manager/Design (Former Employee) –  Menomonee Falls, WIJanuary 6, 2017
Very fast paced. Type of office atmosphere that not everybody knew one another. This at times made it an akward work envirnment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an AWFUL company
Field (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 30, 2016
I have never in my life worked for a worse company. I was convinced to leave a decent electrical installation position to come work in the fire suppression business with them.

Biggest mistake of my life. They demand that you be on the road, but get upset if you have a hotel more than $80. I am not going to sleep in a roach infested hotel if I am on the road.

However, the bosses will stay at a decent Holiday Inn Express, but expect the workers to stay at the economy inn...

Negative stars for management and work life balance.Fie
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ahern Fire Protection
Road Sprinkler Fitter (Former Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIOctober 3, 2016
Traveled to job sites throughout the United States working on commercial buildings installing fire sprinkler systems.
Accurately read blueprints and repair manuals to identify mechanical problems and fix them through service calls.
Managed a crew working on job sites to install systems under budget. Also worked directly with office personnel on
issues that arose on the job site such as design, managing or safety.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
Lots of travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can I give Negative stars?
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILAugust 11, 2016
If you like living in a hotel and getting a divorce, this is the job for you!

The management is who I would give negative stars to! I was pressured into not reporting all of my overtime on a job so it would be extra profitable.

Some of the coworkers are alright, and the pay was ok.

The lack of training that this company has is gross considering the lack of experience that the SH division has. How many Nicet technicians do they have? Not that many! Lots of newbies into fire protection.

Did I mention how bad the management is?
Pros
Very little
Cons
Pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active in safety
Metal Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIApril 30, 2016
Start with a stretch or warm-up
Maintain a clean work area
Label all materials according to job locations
Co-workers are all age groups
Enjoyable to work as a team setting in some tasks
Pros
Lunches provided on ocassion Nice breakroom
Cons
Work hours may vary according to work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feel that the company
Guide loads (Former Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIFebruary 6, 2016
I feel it would have been a great place to work, until I worked there and found out otherwise. I think that some of the management is partial to all employees. And the fact that at no point did we find out about benefits which most employers tell you about during the new hire process was brought up by this employer. Even more so when one inquired about this to other employees no one could answer on this. I learned that they expect perfection once you get hired there even if it is something you have never done before. The most difficult part of the job was trying to understand the perfection expectation from day one, with no prior experience.
Pros
not one thing
Cons
long hours and minimal pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIOctober 27, 2014
Everybody helps each other
Great work environment
The balance work - personal life is perfect
Just in general, the ideal place to work for!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting/engaging work
Pipefitter/Welder (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIJune 10, 2014
Varied tasks and jobs
Opportunity to learn
Satisfaction of keeping operations running
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIMay 6, 2014
Excellent work environment
Great place to work for
JF Ahern is an excellent place to learn about how to follow policies and procedures
Very knowledgeable people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not an ideal work environment
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIApril 21, 2014
dangerous work environments with inadequate safety measures
mandatory overtime that lead to working 50-60 hours a week
not a team oriented staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspection and maintenance of fire equipment.
Fire Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Sparta, MIMarch 8, 2014
Worked in the southern half of Michigan.
Inspected Fire Extinguishers and other fire protection systems in hospitals, industrial buildings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
Refrigeration Fitter (Former Employee) –  Menomonee Falls, WIMarch 6, 2014
worked 7am to 3:30pm 5 days a week. It was a short term job for taking out old boilers and installing 2 new ones. We finished or job early so they had me work there longer that i expected just catching up on their pm contracts. I also ended up with some service calls out of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J. F. Ahern Co.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4