J. Polep Distribution Services Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
Inventory Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicopee, MANovember 19, 2017
It's a mixed bag. Some management is good, others don't know what is going on. They skip annual raises and its hard to get paid. Most of the people are nice.
Pros
Fast environment, alwasy changing
Cons
hard to get promotions and raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours go by really fast
Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Chicopee, MAOctober 15, 2017
Good place to work if you like challenges its like any orher job you have to work your self up to get set routes if you work good and fast and safe you get a route if you wanna cry every day about the routes or work this its not the place for you very physical job
Pros
Take brake
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont be fooled
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicopee, MAOctober 22, 2016
Hours suck you never know what time your leaving you have a start time but never a finish time. They will cancel your benefits for no reason. Management is very unprofessional. Drivers are rude and disrespectful. They will hire murders and child molesters. And you are forced to work over time.
Pros
None
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Driver (Former Employee) –  Stratford, CTOctober 11, 2016
I worked for this company for a year out of stratford ct the hours suck, the pay sucks, it has a high turn over rate i was one of the top driver in a few months its a good job to get experience but now the requirements says 1 year anyone that has experience wouldnt do that job
Pros
Nothing good
Cons
Nothing good
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job
Hi-Lo Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicopee, MASeptember 10, 2016
I came to this job looking for different opportunity instead I work on my first day and guys are arguing with each other cause of lack of communication and others talk bad about the new guy no matter what position. On top of it the pay is too low for the amount work they want done. And the profanity is outstandingly horrible. The F word comes out of their mouths even supervisors after every other word. And too many convicts with no common sense working their. I would only tell ppl to work here to just gain operator experience. That's it other then that if you have experience go elsewhere but here. You are guaranteed to quit the first day.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
To much ignorance and bad language directed towards you or others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a starting company but a year into working with company soon realized its not worth it.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Stratford, CTAugust 13, 2016
Worked for a year with company. Fresh out of school I should have just went Over the road.

Trailers are not maintained reefers build ice on floor and climbing ladder on side are not replaced if broken. Good luck getting inside through side doors.
Trucks are not properly maintained should all be out of service.
New hire drivers coming in were making more money than someone who had been with the company for a while which is completely unfair and unprofessional on jpolep part.
Pros
I wish i had something to put here
Cons
No bonuses i.e. xmas thanksgiving etc, Bad equipment, Bad management, very disrespectful towards hard working drivers, No consideration, Expendable
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Selector (Former Employee) –  Chicopee, MAJune 20, 2016
This place sucks . It's horrible . The men are disgusting and the warehouse is like high school with the drama and all that . They mess with your pay checks alot too . I once worked 57 hours and i had witnesses who seen it on the time clock and got payed for supposedly only working 46 hours ... this job is like a last resort . They play favorites and you basically have to have "connections " to get a hire position or higher payer position. I worked my butt off for unfair pair.
Pros
The pay is weekly and sometimes you get overtime .
Cons
Short break, expired food being sold on break, Managers/supervisors don't take employees serious .
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicopee, MAApril 13, 2016
I worked here many years ago and by some of the reviews I have read I can see it hasn't changed at all. Management played favorites back then and looks like they still do. For such a big company you would think they would be more respectable. No wonder the turn around is so huge. And the pay back then wasn't great. They always put freezes on raises and apparently still do.
Pros
none
Cons
Not appreciated for the work you do. No room to move up unless you are in the "click".
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promise you the world but forget what they promised you
Drver (Former Employee) –  MaSeptember 10, 2015
Expect to be underpaidispay raisesare like $0.35 a year if you even get onr.job is tough and your doors to the trailer must be kept shut and locked at all times while deliverying . they hive you points on this drive for gold which is a joke . Insurance is very expensive so if they pay you $16 an hour and you're paying $150 aweek for health insurance .they watch every hour you work they have people follow you its a joke that's why I'm no longer working here. This is not a career job it's great for new drivers to learn and get out after 6 months of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of Hours here, be ready for physical work!
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Providence RIAugust 2, 2015
Overall the place isnt bad. Good place to come in and get your experience. The pay could be alot better. There's a ton of hours here, due to the high turn over rate. Its a very physical job, most guys arent up to the task. I was there a couple months, got my needed experience and now i dont touch freight at all. And im local. Management is very biased. They play a favorites game. If your a kiss brown-noser you can get far. If not then, keep your head down..real low and get your exp.
Pros
Alot of hours avail. So makes up for the cheap wages in extra hours. Place to gain Exp.
Cons
Pay and benefits could be much better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to work your life of for garbage pay apply here!
driver (Former Employee) –  woburn, maMay 26, 2015
This place is horrible. So much work for one person and you have a horrible pay with almost no raises, please people don't work here, unless you need expirience. That's why I took the job.
Pros
Quitting
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired within two hours of filling out app.
new hire 2nd shift (Current Employee) –  chicopee maMay 5, 2015
I hear a lot of people crying about the over time and you work long hard hours. I think over time is great they tell you in the beginning mandatory over time so you can say i dont want to work sorry, you should be lucky to have a job i cant wait to start and over time bring it. Its a job your suppose to work. Dental medical 401k lots of different promotions i hear. Happy to be part of the team
Pros
growing company with abilities to get hired with in for a differnt position s
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Work Place
customer service (Former Employee) –  chicopee maApril 28, 2015
Loonng hard hours. Raises on permanent freeze. Completely mismanaged. No heat in winter, sewage back ups every spring with raw sewage on floors. Rude rude managers. Basically like selling your soul for min wage.
Pros
none
Cons
poleps expects you to do the job of three ppl while paying min wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
CLASS A DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Stratford, CTJanuary 4, 2015
Work is hard and management is unforgiving. Employees assigned as trainers are rude and humiliate new employees until they either quit or make a mistake to get themselves fired.
Pros
None
Cons
Rude management, long hours, difficult working conditions, Hostile work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 66No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work,good management
Dispatch Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Stratford, CTJuly 23, 2014
enjoyed assisting drivers and customers also problem solving
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 40Report

See more J. Polep Distribution Services reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J. Polep Distribution Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.7
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
1.9
Compensation/Benefits
1.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.1
Management
1.7
Culture
1.7

J. Polep Distribution Services Reviews by Location