J.B. Hunt Employee Reviews

Found 1,087 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and at times rewarding.
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARJuly 20, 2017
Much responsibility is expected of drivers in safety performance. Management works with drivers to ensure loads are picked up and delivered safely. Feedback from drivers is usually attempted by management to be implemented. Excellent open door policy. Drivers are highly respected and appreciated. Highly safety oriented.
Pros
Family picnics, Rewards safety performance. Excellent open door policy.
Cons
Training of new management. Not consistent with dispatchers. Always new dispatches.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no bing pong table
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  South Gate, CAJuly 19, 2017
B sevice and preventative maintenance removing and replacing parts and detecting and noticing any safety conditions that were brought to the attention of our driver/customer was what i enjoyed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment not so great
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 19, 2017
I was an over the road driver for them, not a lot of time home with family. Got to see a lot of the country yet when it was time for home time they could never get me home on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contract service
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJuly 17, 2017
contract services work not a sure thing, never know when the work is going to end, and amazon freight is good freight most part but a lot of changes all the time to save money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get through 3 months here and you will be immune to the cons of jb hunt.
Driver (Current Employee) –  West Haven, CTJuly 16, 2017
If you dont have a year of experience and you want to be home somewhat everyday.

Enjoy being in your own truck majority of the time with privacy

depends on how bad you want to expand your resume. If you dont care about that than you dont want to be here.
Pros
privacy in your own truck.
Cons
You will get stuck a lot in hotels for your first couple of months
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like most companies, find a good dispatcher
OTR/ Dedicated Driver (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GAJuly 12, 2017
For the most part I have nothing bad to say about jbhunt it's kept me afloat I get miles I get benefits my only complaint I don't like the international truck the inside is the sign small to be for over-the-road drivers
Pros
free laundry at terminal have courtesy cars and Atlanta terminal management is awesome
Cons
The trucks only come with one bed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intermodal Driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 11, 2017
Management is clueless. Promised dedicated routes in state, left state multiple times. Loads aren't promised you may have to move chassis all day, for about 70 dollars that day. Don't work here management will throw you under the bus at the first sign of trouble
Pros
Weekends off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job securety at a cost
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARJuly 9, 2017
no pay for time away from family. if no work available you wait for free and must be on call without any pay. ...................................................
Pros
safety
Cons
cheap labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 9, 2017
The job was okay..................
The workers was okay.......
I worked there for 1 1/2 years........
I might work there again....
Hopefully the money is better....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
REGIONAL TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 8, 2017
Great place to work with an accepting atmosphere. I would recommend this position to other drivers that are just starting out. The benefits are good..
Pros
good
Cons
no Cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start off
CDL-A Tractor-Trailer Operator (Former Employee) –  Perryman, MDJuly 8, 2017
Very good training, a little overboard on safety but to be expected, overall good. many chances for advancement, friendly environment, they do their best to take care of one another
Pros
well paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAJuly 6, 2017
Good place to work fun people i dont know what i am supposed to write for 150+ characters but I am doing my best to say that i do not mind working for jbh
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest days work for Honest days pay.
Intermodal Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  North Baltimore, OHJuly 5, 2017
Easy to get along with management.
Breakdowns were tackled head on and done very quick. 2 hours tops.
OBS is the system they use.
Phone app is awesome.
Shows your daily pay that adds up for weekly pay.
Important.
JB Hunt was good to me and would go back to work for them if, I wasn't able to do physical work 100%
Pros
Lots of work to go around., If you don't want to work hard they leave you alone., Safety is a big deal here.
Cons
Nothing really.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best trucking company
Dedicated Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Coppell, TXJuly 4, 2017
This is one of the best trucking companies you will work for. This is a company that actually cares about each individual driver and their unique needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local is the best
Yard Driver (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 3, 2017
Working there was cool I got home right before bed time with the children and Management had a open policy on your view of things. They try to be fair on the work loads. Some work faster then others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 30, 2017
Love to drive, need good benefits and good trucks. All you need is 6 months a verified driving and a clean background. Paid orientation, managers that answer the phones, people know who you are not just a number or a phone number.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment.
Account Rep / Starbucks (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARJune 30, 2017
The hardest part of this job is also the most enjoyable to me which is the constant interaction by phone, email and sametime. Constant communication with the customer and co workers are key to resolving any issues surrounding their freight.
Pros
Good benefits and work/life balance.
Cons
No ability to move up without a degree.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, will help you if they see that you need help
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Rialto, CAJune 30, 2017
The other drivers at JB are real cool people and will help you if they see you struggling. Most of the people in the office are cool as well. There are just a few bad apples, just like anywhere else.
Pros
You get free stuff every once in a while.
Cons
The pay is not as good as it should be, Office people have the control on how much you make in a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver is on his own!
Regional Driver (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARJune 28, 2017
Company does not have the drivers back. I recently was told I would not be held responsible for a matter I had been accused of. Safety Manager told me not to worry about. Three months later I was let go because of it, only because corporate decided to pay on the claim. I was never told. management are gutless individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good home time
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARJune 28, 2017
Starting as a regional I found didnt work for me but management was very open door to see a better fit and moved me to more dedicated local driving. Alot less stressful except the going to Chicago everyday was just to much. I was intermodal going to railyard. I got burned out with the Chicago run. Overall though it was great people to work with and the home time and paid time off was great.
Pros
pto - management
Cons
going to chicago everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J.B. Hunt. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,095 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2