Find companies:
J.B. Hunt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
315 reviews

J.B. Hunt Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive atmosphere
Construction Worker/Team Leader (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: plenty of money
Cons: sometimes had to replace workers frequently.
Typical day at work consisted of breakfast on the site, safety meeting, and stretches.
I learned some management skills
my co-workers were very hard working.
The hardest part of the job was probably the early hours at first.
The physical activity of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee
Operations (Former Employee), LowellJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: nice building, exercise equipment and classes for employees
Cons: 1. hostile, bullying, micromanaging, back bitting going on, 2. hostile to people from other cultures
There is a lot of bullying and back bitting going on in the operations side of this company, which prevents it from functioning as a team. In addition, the culture is anti-foreigners, even though they do hire foreigners in IT and Mexico operations. If you have an accent, stay away from this company, because they WILL NOT like you. Some will make sure – more... you are out of there as soon as possible. So, if you are looking for a true international, open minded, and forward thinking company, stay away from this one. They speak in a very derogative manner about Mexico, even though they do business with that country. Their knowledge and tolerance of other countries, languages, and cultures is low, limited, none. The nature of the work is repetitive and people don't talk at any level above TV shows, beef jerky, and beer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Factory Driving
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee), Lowell, ARJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: decently maintained equipment
Cons: too much time away from home for too little bring home pay.
JB Hunt Transport is what I call factory drivng. You are a tool as a driver, and while they maintain their trucks quite well, people for any position there are expendable and easy to come by. I will say that I agree with a lot the programs and actions that the company takes from a legal and safe point. Most of it makes real intelligent sense from a – more... logical point of view. However, the working atmosphere can be often cold, calculating, and ruthlessly efficient. Everything was a driver's fault, period. The pay wasn't worth the headache. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady employment,good pay,great home time
driver (Former Employee), mentor ohio,solon,ohioJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: good pay, good equipment, good driver support.
Cons: no cons at the dcs account
good company,stable work place,however dcs closed with out notice.I would have liked to stay with company,however no interest in driving over the road,ie,14 days out ,2 days at home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Far Away
logistics (Former Employee), Columbus OhioDecember 30, 2013
Cons: pay, no advancement, politics
Run from this company. The reputation speaks for itself. This company has a high turnover and revolving door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dcs and local
Truck Driver/Trainer (Former Employee), Lowell, ARDecember 29, 2013
Pros: pay and safty
Cons: d.o.t.
hauled glass out of dewitt ia in the begain. at the end hualed for home depot pro account. sleeping 15 miles from the house was the hardest thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Maxton, NCDecember 28, 2013
Pros: relaxed worked environment but fast pased as well which i love.
Cons: lack of respect from my superiors.
I enjoyed my job but would like to have more responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
supervisor (Current Employee), TexasDecember 26, 2013
Pros: good wages, good people
Cons: little to no brakes. expect to eat lunch at your desk daily
its great. i like it.challenging but fulfilling. more work then life in the balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and high energy kind of job.
Packing Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 18, 2013
Pros: great crew, great team work
Cons: short breaks, sometimes none.
On a typical day, i would take nightly truck list and find the pallets that would go onto each truck and mark them. My crew of 4 and i would load each pallet while scanning each individual piece. On this job i learned how to supervise my crew and kept everything timely and in control. The manager on duty would drive trucks into the designated bay. My – more... co-workers were very helpful when needed. If someone was behind, we would all jump on to the lane that needed help. The hardest part of working there is mixing up truck orders and putting them on the wrong trucks. We would then have to unload the truck or trucks and load them back properly. I enjoyed working at this job for its fast pace and the crew members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
logistics (Former Employee), solon ohioDecember 18, 2013
Cons: pay hours, age
This company pays nothing, and does not like older workers and the interviewee is 20 years old.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it to yourself
Driver (Former Employee), Lowell, ARDecember 12, 2013
never had a truck available ,waited 3weeks for a truck i just gave up and went looking for something else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the work environment and the management staff
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Solon, OhDecember 4, 2013
Pros: work environment
Cons: long commute, no advancement unless willing to locate out of state
I deal with a lot of customers and project managers. I maintain reports and drivers logs. I leaned how to use SAP at this company. I love my management staff and the drivers. We are all like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
otr truck driver (Former Employee), south gate, caNovember 28, 2013
Pros: lots of pay
Cons: benefits
70 hours per week, keeping current log books, following safety and FMCSR regulations performing daily truck inspections, maintaining good costumer skills, and making on time delivery. I don't see my co workers often since we all drive trucks over the road. The hardest part of the job is getting home after being on the road for over 3 weeks. The best – more... part of the job is getting the pay check, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is not professional
Regional Driver (Current Employee), Forest Park,GaNovember 28, 2013
Pick loads up from rail and del.them and go somewhere else pick up a load and del. it back to one or the other rails in atlanta,ga
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable experience
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Lansing, MINovember 26, 2013
Great position to gain real-world experience and tremendous responsibility directly out of college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, good place to work, compensation not very competitive
Manager (Current Employee), lowell,arNovember 20, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, job security, strong company
Cons: compensation, micromanaged
Work schedules are flexible. Typically work 6-4 or 7-5 monday through friday. Rotating weekend scheules. Management is very involved and depending on the department can be micromanaging. Overall a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you want to hear
Driver (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 17, 2013
Told me what I wanted to hear. No miles, terrible dispatcher, slow truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Material Handler (Former Employee), Southaven, MSNovember 16, 2013
Pros: 10 min breaks every 2 hours
Cons: short brakes
Work you hard for little pay.
very unorganized
management is not well
good workers just geting paid little
nothing is hard bt you will work fast and hard
the coworkers are very nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain and improve skills.
Fork Lift Driver (Current Employee), Lumberton, NCNovember 15, 2013
The day starts out by knowing what needs to be done. Once we know what to do we get started staging our first shipment. My co-workers and I have great chemistry wihich makes the job easy and the days move along quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours (10/11) same miles for same pay that we did at Hire 9hrs
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee), Van Buren, OhioNovember 13, 2013
0415 come in see if your load is ready and do pre-trip inspection on truck/trailer Fix or call in for repairs on equipment if any, (sometimes there are repairs to deal with (no pay for repair issues could take a couple of Hours and most times you call the 24hr # for dispatch they don't answer so 0500 they may come in or not). Most of the time you are – more... out of yard by 0500. On most occasions I'll have two drop/hooks loads that are around 100 miles one way with Detroit or Cleveland area rush hour traffic to deal with both coming and leaving stores areas.The real back breaker to this dedicated account is when they added in rout back hauls that was no more pay miles but extended your day 10.5 hrs to 12.5 cause they were live loaded. Management spent more time thinking of ways to make a driver at fault for any thing (hard break recorded on your trk, they write you up then a week later the truck was in the shop for speed o sensor bad). Co-worker for most part was ok, some didn't know how to take their trash with them after using your Truck or calling in defects on trailers they drop on the yard. Hardest part about this job was not getting paid for all the down time cause by the management inabilities to get a grip on the repairs and stopping the drivers who dropped the defected equipment on the yard (these two issues cost me a lot of time and money). And the long hours every day made it real hard for exercising and normal family life. Enjoy ability in this job use to be fun, at the past year I began to think of how much transportation has changed sense I started 8 years ago. Now it's all about who can we get to take the blame most and easiest was the drivers. – less

About J.B. Hunt

J.B. Hunt Transport Services, Inc. (JBHT), incorporated on August 10, 1961, is a holding company. The Company provides a range – Read more