J.B. Hunt Employee Reviews in United States

Found 823 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILApril 4, 2016
work day around 14 hours. paycheck very small .missing stops and missing miles on paycheck . no dispatch no money. office is not providing sufficient paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fall back company
Transporter (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GAOctober 18, 2015
Everyone knows about JB HUNT. They are JB HUNT. It's not about the money, it's manly about family stability. JB HUNT in my opinion is more for drivers that don't want to take the hard of being an owner operator. JB HUNT is a good company to retire from. But I feel that JB HUNT is for more of the older drivers that cares more about home time, weekly paychecks, steady work and light driving
Pros
Family stability
Cons
You can't make the type of money driver could make with this company
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much skill needed
Logistics Broker Intern (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAFebruary 1, 2016
Was basically the role of a telemarketer. Anyone with a High School Diploma could complete that task. At first I liked the work, but it was the same thing every day and got boring over time
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARDecember 7, 2015
Local position with some regional deliveries. Not to be afraid of the big cities and that people come in all different opinions. Co workers were friendly and management also. The hardest part was learning New York , the enjoyable learning
Pros
great experience in the city
Cons
bad weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no home life
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Windsor, CTJanuary 5, 2016
i began work at 11.30 pm work tell 12.00 noon the next day the hardest part off the job is the over night driving i being honest the best part is theirs no psychical labor not to much inter action with other drivers
Pros
job security
Cons
no real home life
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so Fun Driving the Box Truck
FMS Operator/Install Specialist - (NON-CDL) (Former Employee) –  North Liberty, IADecember 7, 2015
The hours are ridiculous and the deliveries are not routed properly which means you'll pass up a location going to another location and then have to back track.
Pros
None
Cons
Better Helpers instead of 60+ age workers makes it hard on the other guy.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this company at all costs!
Driver (Former Employee) –  various assignment locationsOctober 15, 2015
I worked at this company in several divisions for over six years, off and on...don't plan on "going anywhere fast" - no pun intended...

Oh, pay is alright, but if your truck could actually DO the speed limit, pay would be a lot better -

Intermodal is alright, I guess. At least they will keep you busy, there

Avoid DCS as if it were the bubonic plague and you were a medieval European peasant. Perhaps you will be lucky, but I would not count on it... you see, DCS account management is staffed by young, fresh-out-of-college pseudo-intellectuals who do nothing but find reasons to write you up, set you up, or terminate you because they can -

Do yourself a favor - buy your own rig, watch your money, and stay away from JB Hunt!
Was this review helpful?Yes27No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Heavener, OKDecember 24, 2015
No work life balance for management at this company. Compensation is below national average with longer working hours. Advancement opportunities exist, but with advancement comes less work life balance
Cons
Compensation, work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck Driving Job
Van/ Truckload Driver (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2016
Typical Truck Driving Job. Mostly Intermodal. Work week is 5-6 days at a time. Management is good about getting you home for a 34 hour restart.
Pros
Home every weekend.
Cons
Home time is maximum 48 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 27, 2016
One of the best companies I ever worked for. Fair and honest. Delivered to chilli's and jack in the box all over the state of tx
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy place to work
Carrier Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARDecember 17, 2015
I worked here for awhile and I really enjoyed working for Kelly. He knows everyone so it was a good way for me to get a job and get some contacts for people I could be working with in the future.
Pros
Good pay for the work
Cons
The early hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good source of income
Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 19, 2016
I was a solo driver so I really didn't meet any other employees. I enjoyed the open road. I learned patience If you ran hard then you could make a decent pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a horrible job, but wouldn't recommend.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 5, 2015
The actual job has potential if they'd fix major problems. It's 12 hour days with shared trucks, many times I had to wait for my truck to come back. The pay was lousy, I averaged about 13/hr. A lot of local companies factor in when traffic will be heavy for certain deliveries, this company doesn't.

If I lived in a place like Kansas/Missouri/etc, I could see potential to make money from open road miles, but in Seattle, not a good job.
Pros
Local and home every night.
Cons
Long hours and low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure job placement
truck driver (Current Employee) –  East Brunswick, NJOctober 27, 2015
Fun work environment and supportive staff, For a big company some places act like you're a number but JB Hunt is a very decent trucking company to work for, unlike others JB Hunt cares seriously about safety.
Pros
numerous places to fuel the truck, easy pass, constant training either online or ect.
Cons
some terminals small and not enough ammenties
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to gain experience for new drivers.
Local Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 4, 2015
The management needs improvement. Dispatch needs improvement. Compensation by the hour would be ideal for a time consuming job such as working a JB Hunt. You're in and out of rail yards for various times in addition to traveling to the destination.
Pros
Well maintained equipment
Cons
Compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was Ok
Poultry Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARFebruary 2, 2016
Like the Job but the managment was always on a powertrip. it was like they owned you and your family. They did not know how to schedule at all.
Pros
Good Job Overall
Cons
Super Bad Bad Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
School Recruiting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARJanuary 12, 2016
You will learn a lot if you push yourself. It had its ups and downs but overall was a great experience working with the new drivers.
Pros
seeing a lot of the country
Cons
giving up my life and never being home
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Dedicated Driver (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJanuary 30, 2016
dedicated account loved the home time and fast turn arounds. then they started keeping us out like a OTR driver which is not home time friendly
Pros
pay
Cons
not consistent with home time
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plenty of work poor manegment
CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 8, 2016
Have plenty of work but for some of the managers need to work on social skills and fight for their employees not customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1-10 j.b hunt gets an 8
drivers helper, loader (Former Employee) –  swedesboroSeptember 23, 2015
I was an ambient loader/unloader/drivers helper
the job is tough and requires sufficient effort but with patients it becomes quite fun. i wouldn't sleep to much because i became accustomed to my work schedule. i learned that the night shift is no place for the average human. the hardest part about j.b hunt was the drivers helper portion; when encountered plenty of problems on he road. the best part of the job was installing our appliances
Pros
learning how to install appliances
Cons
no benefits, under payed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 826 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1