J.B. Hunt Employee Reviews

Found 532 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current driver. Es3 C+S account York pa
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  York pa C+SSeptember 2, 2015
Great pay ... Home every night. Good job. But constent changing management, young college kids looking to move on. Office disorganized and concerned with anything but getting equipment working or problem solving. Need to remove themselves from liability which means they blame who ever they can.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work, just the company is losing business.
Driver's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 2, 2015
JB Hunt wouldn't be a bad place to work if the company had set hours and wasn't slowing down on business. I like to have a set schedule for the week instead of the schedule being made on a daily basis.
Pros
Get to enjoy life on the road doing routes
Cons
Heavy lifting of objects and weather conditions can cause problems
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Intern for College Grads
InformationS ervices Intern (Former Employee) –  Lowell,ARSeptember 2, 2015
Good Intern Opportunity Overall. Team is very good and the project is challenging.

Lots of opportunities to learn. Training is good.
Pros
Employee Oriented
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job, long unpredicatable hours
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  york, paSeptember 1, 2015
JB Hunt is a good company with many benefits.
However, we are contracted to a warehouse and they suck! The start times are unpredictable....you call at 9:30am and get told to come in anywhere from 10am - 5pm and then work 12-14 hours from there........Store personnel isn't bad....it's all about the warehouse and management who...
Pros
good pay, easy work
Cons
hours suck
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant III/CSA 2010 Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARAugust 26, 2015
JB Hunt is a great place to work. Management treats the employees very well. Office equipment is current. There is some flexibility on work hours for hourly employees.

I would have liked a newer, more ergonomic chair.
Pros
friendly management, good computers/ office equipment, clean bathrooms and lunch area
Cons
sometimes hard to find a parking space
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Almost Perfect
Sales/Account Management (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARAugust 18, 2015
I LOVE this company, and the Executive Leadership has almost everything right. The only things lacking are: below average pay, above average working expectations and extremely outdated views regarding work-life balance.
Pros
Values, Executive Leadership, Vision, People
Cons
Lower than average compensation and poor work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes16No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy, supportive workplace with vairied opportunities
Senior Account Represenative (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ArkansasAugust 11, 2015
Transportation is fun and challenging. Every department is intertwined in goals and objectives. This makes for a cohesive environment that promotes a great "we're all on the same team" feeling.
Pros
Great facilities, catered breakfast and lunch, exercise and health programs.
Cons
Pay could be a lot better, the benefit packages and bonuses are good though. Some outdated processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JB Hunt is a good company
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 11, 2015
I had a good experience with JB Hunt. I learned much about the transportation business, and I learned many skills, such as communication, payroll, profit and loss analysis, and employee relations.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Not very dense for career growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck issues
driver (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VaAugust 11, 2015
Good company to work for; However being on a dedicated account having a truck ready when it is time for you to start work has been an ongoing issue
Was this review helpful?Yes21No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a money motivated hard worker
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARAugust 7, 2015
Well 1st and foremost the most enjoyable part of the job is payday!!! Nothing is hard on your job if you know and perfect what your doing. I usually don't have co-workers as a truck driver. I manage the truck and my schedule and my sleep so that my work day goes smoothly! I learn not to trust vehicles around me because I just don't know what they are going to do!
Pros
Money
Cons
Home Time
Was this review helpful?Yes33No23

Want to know more about J.B. Hunt?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAAugust 7, 2015
This company believes in team work and working together to give customers the best service that they can, they care about there staff.
Pros
Promotion within company is always a option
Cons
Small work space.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work, could stand to make improvements.
CDL - A Driver (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 4, 2015
Work is consistent enough. The problem I have found is that there is little to no cohesion between driver managers. No one seems to be able to do their job effectively.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very high demanding lots of hours but not paid by the hour
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAAugust 3, 2015
If you like staying at work most of your life and not paid by the hour this is the perfect match for you. If you don't mind management changing your rate of pay you'll be a great asset to j.B. Hunt
Pros
stable work
Cons
always changing rate of pay, never statted on paper, sketchey, very high demanding .extreme work hours. not worth the effort given the pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes46No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Carrier Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 28, 2015
A typical day is spent negotiation rates and establishing new customers. The mornings are spent covering freight and checking on shipments delivering and picking up that day. The afternoons are spent soliciting current and new customers.
Pros
Hour lunch breaks
Cons
long hours, on call requirements
Was this review helpful?Yes6No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced general labor
Dock worker (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, Ca.July 28, 2015
A typical day at J.B. Hunt for me was preparing drivers/ installers product load and route paper work. After that task was done, i would make my way to the docks where i would scan incoming and out going products and label them accordingly. What i learned from this job was how a warehouse operates from dock work, shipping and receiving, bill of ladings, labeling, and route paper work. I was also assistant to the dock manger. The co-workers i had were amazing. We were a great team that were all in sync to accomplish tasks that were asked of us. The hardest part of the job was waking up at 2am Monday through Friday and the most enjoyable part of the job was pay day.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Waking up at 2am Monday through Friday
Was this review helpful?Yes7No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Driver/Safety Driver Trainer (Current Employee) –  memphis tnJuly 26, 2015
my biggest problem with JB Hunt is management if you get a good manager its a great place work how ever those were hard to find in my 10 years with the company
Pros
they always have loads
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes23No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help build cases
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAJuly 25, 2015
I had a great time learning how to put together cases and learning what how things worked in our government organization. I also was able to to learn some key attributes when it comes to putting together and working with legal cases too
Was this review helpful?Yes10No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love hate relationship with this job
Swamper (Former Employee) –  odessa,txJuly 20, 2015
Work was pretty easy.
A lot of sight seeking on the drives.
You learn a lot while working here.
Management was very unorganized .
Pros
pay rate
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes15No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over the road
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 14, 2015
I like that they gave a rookie a chance to go out over the road but it isnt for me.
pay is good if you dont want to see your friends and family.
Pros
always gone
Cons
big money
Was this review helpful?Yes39No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They did not view their drivers with respect
Shuttle driver (Former Employee) –  N Hatfield, MAJuly 13, 2015
No respect from dispatchers and did not know when you were going in for the day, if they needed you. Had to call every morning.
Pros
none
Cons
No communication for shuttle drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes31No9

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 534 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture