Find companies:
J.B. Hunt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
363 reviews

J.B. Hunt Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest company ever worked for!
Regional Intermodal Driver (Former Employee), Haslet, Tx. Rail & Garland, Tx RailApril 19, 2014
Pros: good driver safety training.
Cons: they treat u like a child! low pay!
Was Intermodal Driver ran out of Haslet, Tx. Home most weekends. No touch freight! Low pay! Company worked harder at trying to write me up than anything else! When truck went in for service had to get my stuff out of it & get into older truck piece of junk! Will never work for this company again!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover and Injuries
Local Class A Driver (Former Employee), Wilmer, TXApril 17, 2014
Pros: well maintained trucks
Cons: long hours
JB Hunt does not take care of their employees. They will work you like a dog until you quit or get injured. If you get injured their insurance will not pay for your recovery. Nor do they have Workers' Comp Insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accout Rep
Transportation Rep (Former Employee), Lowell, ARApril 16, 2014
Great people with awesome goals. Enjoyed them all very much!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAISED GAME PLAYING EMPLOYER 6.7 YEAR DRIVER
DRIVER 6.7 YEARS (Former Employee), CHICAGOApril 11, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: play games
IMMATURE, EXTREMELY BAISED EMPLOYER
UNETHICAL COMPANY
RAIL AND DEDICATED ACCOUNTS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are very rude
Driver (Former Employee), Louisville, KYApril 11, 2014
I learned at this job on how to keep my mouth shut because I had called for some directions and when they gave them to me I had told them that they had sent me to the wrong place but all along the place was right behind me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honesty is not their policy!
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 10, 2014
Pros: it's a job when others have none.
Cons: sub-standard equipment, lack of accountability of maintenance staff.
A typical workday includes a whole lot of waiting to get in & out of railyards, searching for empty trailers, waiting for dispatchers to respond to your messages. Management really doesn't seem to care about your problem unless it becomes their problem. Co-workers are outstanding! The hardest part of the job is settling for less then what you're accustomed – more... to meaning; maintenance is slow & ineffective with a total lack of accountability for items needing repair but deemed unimportant enough to fix. Trucks are the lowest quality bare bone base models without any amenities for driver comfort. The company has no ability to place drivers who do not smoke into trucks that have not been smoked in because they absolutely refuse to place a new driver into a new truck. Drivers who use a CPAP device as treatment for sleep apnea cannot be forced into these older trucks that others have smoked in previously as it totally defeats the whole purpose of using the CPAP device and would contaminate the unit causing a need to be replaced. Furthermore How can you provide those drivers who do not smoke with a smoke free environment when the maintenance personnel have been observed smoking in the trucks as they are working on them performing in-cab repairs where they know a driver has to work & sleep. I have personally seen this happening while waiting for my truck to be repaired – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn from one who's been there.
Recent Driver (Former Employee), York, PAApril 10, 2014
Pros: independance
Cons: long hours, little pay, poor management
Okay, Where to begin. Well I started with JB in August 2013 and up until 20 minutes ago, I was still there.
I have had a couple days where I had to call in sick, when I say a couple I mean 3 times since I started. The last time they told me it was unacceptable, so is a 101 temperature but what the heck, they still demanded I come to work. I told them – more... I was not coming. Honestly driving 3 to 4 hundred miles feeling like I do is not my idea of working smart. Needless to say my job was over.
The job itself was not bad once you got away from the yard. The dispatch pushes their drivers however, past safe levels in my opinion, you work 12 to 14 hours everyday 5 days a week and they don't pay for all miles driven, you lose a minimum of 10% on mileage per load and your time is not compensated fairly either. You work 2 hours for free, before you start earning hourly rate. After 6 months you are suppose to get a raise. Well yes they give you an extra dollar per stop only then they cut your stops. As I do not like to Job Hop, this job just is not worth my time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agile Independent work
programmer (Former Employee), lowell, arMarch 28, 2014
Pros: 8 to 5 workday
Cons: no specified breaks.
I worked here as a java programmer for almost one year and a half, and we worked using agile methodology . I work independently and program by myself. I programmed in Java using using a Weblogic server, Spring framework, and Maven, creating a new applications called the CS dashboard that included FusionCharts charts on one the company's largest customer's – more... data: Available drivers for the day, Drivers on Vacation, Progress of deliveries for the customer, and Deliveries made per driver. I would be given descriptive requirements and then I would design it for a couple of days, and then code it, and code review it with the team, and then recode and sent it to qa, and then communicated with the server team to install it. I also used SSIS to create a batch job that would update delivery schedules for distribution centers. And I created SSRS reports given sql queries to be able to be seen by different businessmen at the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Account Manager, Dedicated Contract Services (Former Employee), Lowell, ARMarch 27, 2014
There are a lot of wonderful people working at JB and they work hard to make the company great. Benefits are good but compensation can trend toward the lower end. Many positions required extended working hours and responsibility that follows you home but I believe this to be somewhat indicative of the transportation industry as a whole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People make a difference
Intermodal Driver (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMarch 26, 2014
Pros: newer equipment, time off, vacation, co-workers, customers
Cons: rushed, unfair pay & policies, management
Worked Intermodal for 7.5 years and loved the work that I did. Long hours were not unusual. Was in and out of the rail yards many times a day. Learned many tricks of the trade within and out of the rail yard and local customers. Management needed the most work, unfair at times and biased towards drivers. Management has since changed for the better. – more... Co-workers were the best people I have ever worked with and were always happy to see each other during the day. Many friendships were made there. Hardest part of the job was the unfair treatment and stress brought on by poor management. Being able to do my job required management to do their job...many days were cut short because of situations not of my control. Most enjoyable part of the job was training new drivers to do the job and seeing them years later still enjoying the way they were taught. Out of the new hire trainers, I had more drivers stick around due to my honesty of the job performance and letting them know what to expect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jobs ok. want more pay
truck driver del tires for Goodyear (Current Employee), San Bernadino ,Ca.March 24, 2014
Pros: n\a
Cons: dont pay enogh
Companys ok just don't pay their drivers enough.no more to say
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start to build your experience
OTR Driver (Former Employee), Lowell, ARMarch 24, 2014
Pros: you will see a lot of places
Cons: you going to be gone more then you like to be
I would start my day with my per trip inspection then start my job assignments. What I have learned as a young driver is that you have got to know the the DOT laws that are out here. I also learned you have to watch for every and anything that is on the road while driving so paying attention to what you are doing is a must do. Safety is always first. – more... My fleet manager was a big help to me by sending me good loads to run. The hard part is backing some of the customers spots was not truck friendly. I do got to say it made me a lot better now I can back almost anywhere.
I enjoy driving it is what I do best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with tons of growth potential
Account Manager (Current Employee), Salisbury NCMarch 19, 2014
Pros: strong company, growing rapidly, opportunity
Cons: lack of standards
Often long hours managing all aspects of the account. Dedicated accounts run as individual businesses with P&L, payroll, invoicing, maintenance, safety, logistics planning, dispatching all handled locally.
Hardest part of the job is convincing people to do a task that they do not want to accomplish.
This job has provided a wealth of knowledge and experience – more... about the behind the scenes operations of a trucking company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I ever worked for!
Driver, CDL-A (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: i quit
Cons: management lied to me. write ups for every perceived infraction.
This is high stress, inept management who have a holier than thou attitude. They treat drivers like indentured servants rather than people.

If what I said already doesn't convince you to move on, just let their own numbers tell the story: they have around 130 company trucks, and they are hiring between 12 and 20 drivers every Friday. And they can't – more... keep the trucks filled. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical OTR company
CDL A Truck Driver (Former Employee), Lowell, ARMarch 18, 2014
Pros: 401k program available after only 30 days
Cons: after hours dispatch
Had MASSIVE problems with the after hours dispatch and quit after only 1 month because of the after hours dispatch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for. Miss it
Local Dedicated Driver (Former Employee), Taunton, MAMarch 16, 2014
Pros: local driving great money
Cons: not being able to come back because i was out too long
Enjoyed working for JB Hunt. Their Customers enjoyed having me as well. Went out on a non work related injury for surgery and was out for almost three years and they would not take me back because I was out too long they said. So the lost a great driver but I know they have rules also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Mechanic (Current Employee), Elizabeth, NJMarch 13, 2014
Pros: expience
Cons: to much hassle
ok job if u want to make or get expirience. but to much time consuming and they points system will get you fired out of a job if u have emergencys or if u sick and no union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
york c&s account
dedicated driver (Former Employee), york paMarch 13, 2014
Pros: a joke....
Cons: a holes, no money, mgmt never driving truck n try tell you how to do your job, long hours, they force you to run even if you feel its unsafe!
This place is a joke you work 5 days a week all day long til 1 or so in morning, the mgmt aint nothing nobody know nothing about driving trucks n want you to drive tired, sick n feet of snow they don't care bout the driver and top of always gives the good loads to the senior guys n the bs to the new people n I tried to hang in there but you will loose – more... everything working here if you don't curse the mgmt out cuz they trying to tell you how to drive a truck and never even started a truck couldn't tell u where the darn lights are....STAY A WAY FROM HERE TRUST ME YOU GOIN TO HATE IT THEY HAVE HAD 7 R 8 PEOPLE FROM MY CLASS COME SINCE OCTOBER OF LAST YEAR N EVERYONE QUIT BY JANUARY I TRIED TO HANG N THERE BUT AS U SEE HIGH TURN OVER NO MONEY EVEN IF YOU WORK 7 DAY A WEEK! !! DO NOT GO TO THIS YORK PA ACCT........n giving them 1 star is being nice that how bad if account n company they are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucking
Regional Driver (Former Employee), Burlington, NJMarch 12, 2014
Day started around 1a.m., hooked to my trailer, then set out to my destination. Had to be prompt on time. If there where any problems with my route somebody was always available to help me get around the situation or coordinate with my stop to fix problems. It was an all round good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all in all it was ok
Driver (Former Employee), Mira Loma, CAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: work to meny hours
very hard work 6+ hours a week not able to see family as much as would have liked

About J.B. Hunt

J.B. Hunt Transport Services, Inc. (JBHT), incorporated on August 10, 1961, is a holding company. The Company provides a range – Read more