Find companies:
J.B. Hunt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
281 reviews

J.B. Hunt Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intership
Internship/ICS Transportation Broker (Former Employee), West Orange, NJOctober 10, 2013
Good experience I learned a lot a this position and would definitely do it over any day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
TRANSPORTATION MANAGER (Former Employee), Bolingbrook, ILOctober 9, 2013
Solid company, good management and advancement opportunities. Awesome people to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely stressful work enviroment
Tech (Former Employee), East Brunswick, NJOctober 9, 2013
Preaches safety but pushes to work at unreasonable pace. Not a family oriented company either. pEOPLE IN CHARGE WHO HAVE NO PEOPLE SKILLS WHATSOEVER.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job, no day is the same
Intermodal Regional Operations Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 3, 2013
Pros: great opportunity for advancement, some travel
Cons: no work life balance, fluctuating hours, no management backing
My typical day varies week-to-week. Some weeks I am developing managers, reviewing accidents, team building, and handling driver issues and complaints. Others I am working on cost saving methods, P&L analysis, customer service, and industry knowledge.

I have learned a more analytical method of thinking through my experiences, along with developing – more... my managerial skills. Being able to dig down to the root cause of the issue and address that issue from where it stems. I have developed outstanding relationships with people in the company, customers, and other logistics professionals.

The hardest part of my job is listening to the constant complaining from drivers and ever changing structure. We also have a hard time finding good, qualified, candidates, which means more time spent training and developing the management team and less time dealing with operational needs.

There are opportunities for advancement and the ability to interact with customer. I also enjoy recruiting, speaking to college classes about our company and the industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard place to work
Driver (Former Employee), South Gate, CAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: lunch ok
Cons: some parts of the company hard place to be. needed support
at the bottom of the poll with alot of complaints. The company had
its ups and down with no support for the less but still needed part
of a company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and customer oriented
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GaSeptember 27, 2013
fast paced and constantly working. you will almost never get an "at a boy" so do not expect it. you are on call 24/7.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WONDERFUL PEOPLE I MET
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Stockton, CASeptember 26, 2013
Pros: good trucks
Cons: hard to find empty trailers
WONDERFUL PEOPLE I MET. CONSTANT TRAVELING DAY WENT BY QUICKLY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Repair Tractors for fleet and owner operators (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 24, 2013
Great pay, people, benefits and good hours, Only thing you have to work some holidays,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin IV
Returns specialist (Current Employee), Garner NCSeptember 24, 2013
Wonderful people to work with.
A typical day at work is answering phone calls, and emails. Alot of customer service with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity for advancement was highly likely. Great Co-workers. Strong team bonds.
Customer Solutions Generalist (Former Employee), Lowell, ARSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: awesome co-workers, weekly meetings with management
Cons: the inablility to help a customer in need because of limitations
My day would start with logging in to my phone taking calls to help customers track their packages. I learned how to use a multi-line phone system. I also learned phone etiquette and how to resolve a highly escalated customers problems without becoming angry myself. Management was often changing but overall they did care to have weekly meetings and – more... listen to what the operators concerns were. They did what they could to make our situation better but weren't able to change the system effectively. My co-workers were spectacular we kept one another uplifted and in good moods. We had open communication with everyone in order to better help our customers. The hardest part of the job was to talk to angry people and sometimes not being able to help them. The part I liked the most about the job was being able to completely change someone else's mood by giving them a resolution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean work place very stuctured envierment
Jurneyman mahanic (Current Employee), East brunswick NJSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: monthly safty lunches for no injurys within month prier
Cons: having to work holidays when they fall on your work time
Get to work a half a hour early, get dressed look at work load and punch in for daily safety meeting .
Daily safety tip and any goals that company needs to achieve for the week or day .
Management is really strict with daily work loads nice but firm with employees
Most of the team is on board with one another work well with each other most are very – more... willing to help each other out in times of need .
Trying to make sure our SRT times and direct labor fall into place for your weekly numbers.
The feeling of a job well done and completing job tasks on time for shop times and goals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TRAVEL AND SEE USA
CDL driver (Former Employee), Lowell, ARSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: see the country and get paid for it
Cons: sit to much
LOT OF DRIVING AND AWAY FROM HOME . GET YOUR ASIGNMENT AND ON YOUR OWN . TRAVELING IS GREAT AND GET PAID FOR IT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the account
Dedicated driver (Former Employee), East Brunswick, NJSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: good home time
Cons: long hours with the drive to and from.
I was hired on for a family dollar account, then was put on an account that was a two drive to terminal up and back daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Local intermodal driver (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: home daily
Cons: long hours
plenty of work and the people i worked with were very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Challenging Environment
Quality Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: i enjoyed my job.
Cons: healthcare, compensation
A typical day at JB Hunt consist of ensuring that each task of the warehouse was complete as well as ensuring that merchandise was handled correctly as well as in the appropriate location. I enjoyed my job but the compensation for the quality of work that I performed was nowhere near appreciated through the compensation nor was it displayed through – more... accommodation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Opelousas, LASeptember 3, 2013
Work during weekdays off on weekends. Learned about safety. Toughest part the off loading of glass. Most enjoyable delivering glass to customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Truck Driver (Former Employee), los angeles,caSeptember 1, 2013
good place t work, nice people. fun hours and great co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repair trailers, containers and flatbeds and move them in and out of the shop.
Trailer Journeyman (Current Employee), Portland, ORAugust 30, 2013
Pros: pizza party's and barbecue's.
Cons: health problems from extreme working conditions, and the job starts to early.
I start my job very early at 5:00 am. My job contains to: repair trailers, repair the roof, side panels,flooring, tires etc.
Throughout my job I worked with four bosses.The first boss was the most respected because he was most caring about the workers.
My co-workers are a pleasure to work with.
The hardest part of the job is: welding, and installing – more... rivits.
My most enjoyable part of the job is: moving units in and out of shop and organizing them around yard and shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 29, 2013
low pay, long hours, I change tractor every day but is a nice company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid career
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Bethlehem PaAugust 17, 2013
JB Hunt offers a great place to work with good compensation. The only problems are the hours and management at some locations

About J.B. Hunt

J.B. Hunt Transport Services, Inc. (JBHT), incorporated on August 10, 1961, is a holding company. The Company provides a range – Read more