J.Jill Employee Reviews in United States

Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor plce to work poor management team
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  New JerseyApril 20, 2016
Quality of clothing is very poor. Overpriced clothing that does not hold up after washing. Poor management in longmeadow ma store. Pushy sales manager along with staff that is not knowledgeable of there product. Really disappointed with the overall appearance of the store and unfriendly staff. Don't bother wasting your time shopping jjill very overpriced clothing that is not made in america.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor quality clothing not good employee discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work space
Retail associate (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIFebruary 16, 2016
overall a nice place to work, love the people that work there. I enjoy helping customers that go there to shop. the manager is a great person to work for. I have no problems working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Upper Management
store manager (Former Employee) –  United StatesJanuary 24, 2016
Expectation is they want managers to work alone. Upper management has no clue how to run retail locations and its apparent because that's why they keep opening and closing locations.
Consistent violation of state labor laws
No training program for new store managers/assistant manager
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Manager will bully the managers to make the numbers.
Store managment (Former Employee) –  Anywhere USJanuary 20, 2016
DM will treat you with disrespect and talk with management on conference calls as if you are two years old. Shaming seems to be the way they feel they can get you to do your job. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the bullying from upper management. The one thing I have learned in my time there was how not to treat people. Typical day is selling, motivating and coaching staff which was very fun and rewarding.
Pros
Working with the customers
Cons
Treatment of management from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J Jill is a good company
Sales Lead/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 11, 2016
J. Jill has quality clothing and is a good place to work part-time or full time. My manager is fair and you can talk to her about any issues that may arise.
Pros
Customer Contact
Cons
long hours of your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Tilton, NHSeptember 29, 2015
This was my first job on the phones, and eventually as a customer service representative . The training seems like too much info to take in, but once on the phones, within a couple weeks, you will get the hang of it. Be careful to make sure your not chewing gum or trying to speak to others while on the phone, as most customers can hear the back ground noise. I had a job with J.Jill working fulltime and left but after a couple years, I wanted to go back and was hired as a seasonal three times and never asked to stay again, very disappointing.
Pros
beautiful atmosphere, has gym and showers
Cons
not alot of chances to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
key holder (Former Employee) –  marylandAugust 31, 2015
Customers are on high demand. have to have a great customer service skills.need to interact with the customers a lot. a safe and protective environment to work.
Pros
good starting pay
Cons
less hours for part timers
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandise Operations Specialist
Merchandise Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Quincy, MAAugust 11, 2015
• Managed master product database; proofed new entries in database for accuracy following established policies, procedures, and standards.
• Responsible for verifying accuracy of pricing in stores and on the web.
• Assisted in creating custom reports and analyses to support various business units.
• Participated in the upgrade and implementation of new back office systems.
• Created weekly and monthly reports to support planning and merchandising.
• Managed PO database; Responsible for accuracy of weekly PO and Receipt reports
• Generated, tested, and activated promotion codes to be used in stores and website.
• Created and updated markdown files
Was this review helpful?Yes2No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for J Jill, company closed location.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 4, 2015
Work environment was positive, able to learn new skills and responsibilities from management, and be a mentor to staff working under me.
Pros
flexiblity of days/hours to work
Cons
closed the location
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun working environment
Key Holder/Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMay 29, 2015
Opening the store and being able to help customers fine great new outfits for either casual or evening. Management is great to be with on a daily basis all team players and work well together. Love the new styles that come with every floor set and being able to refresh the floor is one of my favorite things about retail. The hardest thing is being able to not have free expression, in merchandising, which isn't all that bad since we have teams that go out of the way to appeal to all of our customers.
Pros
Great working Environment
Cons
Short Breaks and Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the brand of this company and what they stand for.
Lead Retail Management (Current Employee) –  Spotsylvania, VirginiaApril 9, 2015
Love my job because of the people. I love helping them feel better about them selves. I love being a personal shopper for them.
Managment is caring and understands that life and family is important and they are flexible when we need time to spend with them. Again, the most enjoyable part of my job are the customers. They are so much fun.
Pros
Great Inviroment
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Part-time Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 17, 2015
A typical workday includes
-opening the store
-processing shipment
-using reports to generate sales goals/plans

My manager and co-workers are awesome

I enjoy doing the visuals
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sr. Campaign/Database Analyst (Current Employee) –  Quincy, MAFebruary 26, 2015
It was a wonderful place to work. I had a blast there every single day. Management was great. The office was nice, good location.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviorment with pontetial growth
PT-Manager (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 18, 2015
Hard working, Dedicated individual.

Very outgoing and level headed.

compassionate and respectful to everyone.

I love meeting new people and speaking with them.

I'm a very likeable person with a positive attitude.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice atmosphere
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Northpark Center, Dallas, TXNovember 11, 2014
Provides good experience. Management is supportive and understands. But the pay, benefits for part-time employees and advancement opportunities are not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Sales Associate/Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Hampton, VANovember 9, 2014
This was such a great learning experience. I really enjoyed working with the ladies there, they were amazing to work with and learn from.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time sales
Sales Associate / part time (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COOctober 22, 2014
Love working at J.Jill as it is a positive environment, great team and quality of clothing that makes it easy to sell to customers. The management is flexible with your schedule and the management has been there for a long time, that it makes it difficult to move up in the stores in Denver.
Pros
discount on clothing
Cons
limited to what we can purchase
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to learn alot
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Beavercreek, OHOctober 6, 2014
Due to constant upper management visits, did learn a lot on how to do better. Got to work with a amazing clientele, never was a dull day. Always had a productive day. Was tough to move up, due to the tenor of the teams. This company was amazing to work for.
Pros
open enviroment, the clientele
Cons
the slow days that did happen
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and pleasant work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Arcadia, CASeptember 22, 2014
A typical day is assisting customers needs and going beyond what they need to create an ideal shopping experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  new jewrseyAugust 12, 2014
great clothes. Good clothes. Loved my co workers. The discount was great
Pros
great discount
Cons
closed my location
Was this review helpful?Yes4No9

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture