Find companies:
Jacksonville State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Jacksonville State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small department with friendly faces.
STUDENT PATROL (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALNovember 11, 2014
A typical day included checking and locking buildings. Campus events were patrolled by the student workers as well. I loved this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to begin
Communications Officer (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALOctober 27, 2014
An excellent starter job with opportunity to advance into different jobs and different locations. The position allows the employee to begin to address needs to advance his or her career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my 15 years as Chief of Police & Security on a campus of 8,000 students and about 700 employees
Adjunct Associate Professor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, Alabama .October 10, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: 24/7 on-call responsibility
Jacksonville State University is a regional state-supported university which, in some ways, as the characteristics, issues and needs as a small city. As a certified police officer with continuing job development training I served as the chief law enforcement officials. My role and position was respected by students, employees and management. I led the – more... Police Department to National Accreditation while there. I supervised about 40 part-time and 20 full-time employees with 24/7 coverage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teacher
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: research
Researched & prepared lecture notes, lecture, preparing & grading exams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun day on the job
Internship (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALMay 19, 2014
Pros: being a mentor
Cons: having to leave
A typical day during internship was learning about the dreams and expectations of the youth of the community. My teachers and coaches were my management. My co-workers were classmates which made the job enjoyable. The hardest part was leaving the various sites and having to build new relationships with various youth students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lab Instructor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: experiance, and some freedom
Slow paced environment. Great Bosses, coworkers are friendly, workplace environment is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there.
Jacksonville State University Student Ambassador (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALAugust 23, 2013
Pleasant place to work. Co-workers very nice. Beautiful campus!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient
Student Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALAugust 21, 2013
fun place to work and also help people with workouts and diets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Camp Instructor
Camp Assistant Instructor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALAugust 19, 2013
Worked as a baseball camp assistant instructor, teaching youth the fundamentals of baseball as well as teaching them teamwork and how to achieve goals both individually and collectively. This was not a full time job, in fact it only happened a few times in a couple years. As players we were chosen to work with the kids based on our baseball abilities – more... as well as chosen by the coaches because of our interpersonal skills. The most enjoyable part of the job was inspiring young kids to have the same love for the game of baseball that I did. The hardest part is working with other people and different personalities, especially when those personalities are 6-13 years of age. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great two year experience.
Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALAugust 15, 2013
Working for the university was awesome. I had the opportunity to work in different dormitories and meet several people. One thing I liked most about this job was that when students had questions regarding school related issues they came to me for assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Night Desk Supervisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALAugust 8, 2013
- I worked 8 hours
- how to manage people and work facilities
- Management worked as a team overall they were pretty good
- the job was not hard at all
- working wit the crew I worked with we had fun while working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best College Job
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, AlabamaApril 24, 2013
I had learned to deal with multiple personalities in this position. As a college student, I came out of my comfort zone, and became the man I am today. I'm out of the box, a social person, and not afraid to speak in front of the people. I am a better leader because of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Student Worker (Current Employee), Jacksonville, ALApril 23, 2013
Pros: schedule flexibility, great coworkers.
Cons: pay was not great. you only get 20 hours a week
I worked here as a student worker. It was a great job because I got to know a lot of the professors on the business department and it gave time to study and keep my grades up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jax State
Student-Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALApril 13, 2013
I loved working for the athletic department for Jacksonville State University. I learned a lot. I would do it again. I got to travel and make great relationships with the people who work there as well as the athletes. They also help pay for my tuition which was great for my pocket.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Wonderful Environment to Work and Learn.
SGA President (Current Employee), Jacksonville, ALFebruary 8, 2013
The University, a learning centered institution of higher education provides student employees with opportunities to grow as professionals, as well as skills essential in a global, fast paced economy. Additionally, providing an overall focus for the development of professional skills through rewarding tasks and educational endeavors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Honor Society with a focus on being the best.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALJanuary 10, 2013
Allowed me to learn to interact with different personalities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Chaning.
Assistant Sound Designer/photographer (Current Employee), Jacksonville, ALDecember 29, 2012
Pros: free trips, free food, and fun times
Cons: takes up a lot of time
I loved all the time I have spent at this school. I have met the love of my life, and many great friends along the way.I have also been asked to be the band camera man/assistant photographer,and i love it 200% of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker for Health Facility
Student Worker (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALDecember 18, 2012
This position is probably one of the easiest college jobs you can have, but it teaches you to balance your work life with your studies. During this job I increased my management skills as well as my people skills. The most difficult part of the job was making sure every student was checked into the facility and maintaining facility rules, while the – more... easiest part was being able to socialize and meet new people everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive working environment
Residential Instructor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, AlabmaAugust 1, 2012
A great place to learn and gather great management skills, as well as learning to work with other from different backgrounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed attending classes and earning my degree.
School (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ALMay 5, 2012
Pros: degree
Cons: time involved
I earned by BSW from JSU and feel lucky to have chosen this as my career path. I learned to assess clients, listen and make informed decisions about the next course of action. I learned to look at a clients strenghts and not just their needs. I networked with other agencies and volunteered at hospice and did my intership at the department of human services – more... with a focus in child welfare. I was able to work on comprehensive family assements and case reviews. My supervisor at my internship was a great mentor and I feel this prepared my for my next steps in my career. I hardest part of going to school was balancing family and course work. I best part has been the connections that I have made with friends I will have forever and earning my degree. – less