Find companies:
Jacobi Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
88 reviews

Jacobi Medical Center United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giving great customer service
Clerical Associate III (Current Employee), Bronx, NYApril 14, 2015
Pros: Having great co workers
Cons: not having alot of team players.
A typical day at work making sure all patients is happy when the visit is over, also giving them the best customer service ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Center of Excellence
Receptionist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 14, 2015
Pros: A teaching hospital situated on a lovely, campus-like setting in the northeast Bronx.
Cons: Free Parking
You can count on Jacobi for it's state of the art medical care, delivered with compassion, dignity, and respect. Many of their physicians are recognized leaders in important clinical research, thereby assuring their patients of the latest advancements in treatment options. Jacobi is a Level I Trauma Center and is one of only three burn centers in New York City. With Jacobi you receive first class care in a wide range of services and specialties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Pray for Better
Clerical Associate (Current Employee), Bronx, NYApril 9, 2015
Pros: the health benefits and pension
Cons: everything below
The most difficult thing is to live in an expensive city, have a job, be underpaid and under appreciated. When there is room for expansion, it gives employees more incentive to work hard or behave on the job. It is horrible to receive an education and obtain degrees with high school loan payments just to never be upgraded or recognized. The politics of knowing someone so you can get promoted is unfair to say the least. It is extremely difficult to work in a hostile environement where management are allowed to speak to employees and actually harrass them and directors do not difuse the situations. The actions of this society is not good and getting worse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Manager, Patient Accounts Department (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 1, 2015
• Oversight of Medicare, Medicaid and commercial insurance billing
• Review discharge summaries for proper coding
• Completed charity care and federal aid billing
• Supervise billing and coding processes
• Manage collection of Workers Comp and No Fault
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Service Aide ER (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 30, 2015
you never know what you get when working in jacobi a typical day in jacobi is usually under stressful condition you never know what to expect especially working for the ER
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Care Tech -In-House-Training
Patiebt Care Tech-In-House-Training (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 21, 2015
Pros: overtime work
Cons: too many patients on every floor
A decent place to work. Staff responsible and dependable. Learned how to do ADL's (activities of daily living). The hardest part of the job was constant turnover of patients. The easiest part of the job was overtime work daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I did as a nurse in work place
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Bronx NYMarch 3, 2015
Verify Immunizations records with CIR for infants, children, and adults. Administer immunizations. Provide vital signs, blood sampling rapid strep test, rapid HIV test, EKG, urine tests, blood sugar test. Provide triage walk- in patients and also do telephone triage. Take care of multicultural patients using language line (Albanian, Spanish, Chinese, Bangladeshi, African etc.)

Provide triage patients with HIV/AIDS. Administer medications and give treatment and discharge patients. Teach patients about HIV/AIDS and about medications. Provide a broad range of care services in areas of vital signs, EKG, blood sampling, IV, IM, SC, ID
injection. Assist with colposcopy and GYN procedures. Update
PCMH project related to patients with DM, HTN, chronic smoking,
VL, CD4 and HIV medication adherence. Ensure the timely implementation of infection control. Participate actively in departmental conferences, seminars and other educational programs
to improve the quality of patient care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide range of exeperince
Procurement Analyst (Former Employee), Bronx, NY 10461February 13, 2015
Pros: i worked with many dedicated individuals
Cons: heathcare
I have worked over 25 years at Jacobi Medical Center . I have armed myself with a wide range of experience with the central theme of working toward the health improvement of the patient. This commitment entails a sheer determination to always provide proper selection of materials and sources as well as maintenance of proper quantity and quality of the hospital supplies. As a purchasing professional , I believe that purchasing is beyond the simple act of buying; rather, it involves research and development and a strategic approach to prevent the decrease of profit and without compromising health services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy department which needs more organization
Assistant Coordinator Manager (Former Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: i was able to put in forty hours on my timesheet
Cons: the distance and location of this facility
On a Typical day I would distribute work to the clerical staff. I would also log in abnormals for the NP's whom handled the patients on this log. As a manager I would prepare a report for the government office of our Mayor. The most difficult part of the job was my commute. The most enjoyable part was partaking the multitask with the other managers and with the clerical staff. Training some staff members etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding work place.
Registered Nurse, Staff (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 26, 2015
The Jacobi Medical Center is affiliated to the Health and Hospital Corporation of New York City. It is the only hospital that provides venom care in the New York Tristate. It is also a Level 1 Trauma Center and also houses a Burnt Unit that is critical to NYC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Support (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 11, 2015
• Protect the security of medical records to ensure that confidentiality is maintained.
• Answer telephones and give information to callers, take messages, or transfer calls to appropriate individuals.
• Create, maintain, and enter information into databases.
• Complete forms in accordance with company procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Patient liaison and communications with insurance companies for benefits and payouts
Licensed Practical Nurse / Mother Baby (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 5, 2015
• Arranged patient follow-up visits.
• Supervised and managed care workers.
• Wrote and implemented active care plans for patient teaching.
• Coordinate wound care, with creation of various PoC (Plans of Care) for several different types of wounds
• Application of wound vacs
• Wound cultures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A whole new world
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 18, 2014
Working with the staff at jacobi was a great experience for me to learn about the medical field and how things worked. they have the most cutting edge technology and they really care about their world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer with opportunities for advancement across the network
Heart Failure Program Coordinator (Current Employee), Bronx, New YorkDecember 17, 2014
Have had tremendous opportunities for professional expansion and growth
The most challenging aspect of the job is a very fluid and dynamic health care industry coupled with high risk patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff
Public Heath Intern (Current Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 16, 2014
Pros: great job opportunities.
This is a excellent environment to work in. the staff are very welcoming and friendly. getting into this facility is fast and easy once you have the required documents. typical day at this facility is calm and exciting. you learn a lot from watching the medical team perform their daily duties. I enjoyed watching and learning about procedures and the time that's put into each. on a daily basic patients are taken care of , with respect and patience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant to the Administrative Assistant
Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 19, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: long hours
I covered the Administrative Assistant when she was not at work or at lunch. I completed secretarial duties such as answering phones and filing. I did enjoy preparing presentations for meetings. We were a great team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer research associate involved in hospital research program.
Research Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 12, 2014
Typical work day included data entry of information gathered from patients. Most enjoyable aspect of this position was hourly flexibility. The work environment was also very welcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Public Health Advisor (Current Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 29, 2014
A typical day at the job includes a high volume of patients seen daily. I would aquire a better managed department but we all make the best of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive supervision and staff. room to learn and grow.
Psychiatric Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 23, 2014
Great working and educational experience as I was able to work with people suffering from various psychiatric disorders (duagnosing, assessment).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of work that allows you to grow professionally and personally.
Staff Physical Therapist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 22, 2014
I got a chance to work with a diverse population with varied diagnosis.Very friendly and fun loving co workers.

1 2 3 4 5

About Jacobi Medical Center

Located in the Bronx, Jacobi Medical Center provides quality health care for some 1.2 million Bronx and New York area residents. – Read more

Jacobi Medical Center Salaries

Clerical Associate
$27,000 per year
Aide
$33,000 per year