Jacobs Employee Reviews

Found 1,310 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Manager/Sr (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2017
The type of work I do and company's core mission did not enable moving onto another assignment - if I did I would still not be searching for another assignment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
IT Specialist (Lead) (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 22, 2017
Jacobs is a good place to grow. Jacobs provides a place where you can learn and grow into your role. There are a lack of options for upward mobility so one would have to create a niche for oneself and use that to their advantage.
Pros
Flexible environment
Cons
Lack of upward mobilty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism
QA/QC Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 22, 2017
Jacobs has a long history of promoting friends and family members over more qualified individuals. This does more to encourage people to develop personal relationships more than professional relationships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Internship
Process Intern (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 21, 2017
I loved working there. The culture was great. The work was boring at some points but I was also an intern. Would recommend to anyone great college job.
Pros
Relaxed schedule, understanding of school responsibilities.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work , great co-workers and managers
Designer VI / Smartplant Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 18, 2017
I have been with Jacobs over 6 years and is probably the friendliest office I have been in. I was always challenged with completing tasks that were somewhat out of the ordinary.
My Manager was excellent.
The hardest part of the job was integrating new software into our workflow.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
Expensive Health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only had job for 30 days as a contractor for Jacobs
Health, Safety & Environmental Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Monaca, PASeptember 16, 2017
Interesting work but not well run. Lots of activity going on all the time. It was fast paced. I was only hired on as a temporary worker. Was responsible for the safety of the numerous contractors assigned to the site.
Pros
Interesting Project to work on
Cons
Incompetent Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work place
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 15, 2017
Competitive work place
Project based employment
40 hours week
hard job
Not too enjoyable
4 work days week
Jobs shifting to India
Low travel
Located in Houston
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety all the time
Craft/Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Goose Creek, SCSeptember 15, 2017
Always something to do in the work place. Good communication with the fellows on the Job. Always Safety First. Jacobs is one of the better Jobs I've had in Construction. Good group of people to work with. I'm looking forward working for them again. Hope that they will grow and have more jobs.
Pros
Good Lunch Room, and a place to clean up.
Cons
Heath Care was not always offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNSeptember 14, 2017
This is not a good company to work for. There is no job security. Everyone fears being laid off each and every day. I would not recommend this company to a friend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to worj
QA/QC Supervisor, Inspector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 14, 2017
Typical work day was long. Jacobs paid for certifications. Management was good. Work place culture OK. Enjoyed traveling with my assignment. Good office location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Jacobs?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Marathon Oil and British Petroleum- I/E QA/QC (Former Employee) –  Texas City, TexasSeptember 12, 2017
Allowed to work at my own pace
Gave me independence to gage and make my own determinations
Also enjoyed working with managers
Worked with sub contractors
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for fast paced and interesting
Senior Electrical Designer for Jacobs at Motiva (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXSeptember 12, 2017
Worked inside of refinery where work was fast past paced and fun. Worked with a group of smart professional people.
We could have got more contracts if we had proper staffing for electrical and control systems at plant site.
Pros
Work was interesting and Jacobs had good pay and benefits.
Cons
Worked in refinery away from mail office with not enough staff to do projects the right way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Structural Designer 3D Modeler (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2017
Even though job standards overall and throughout the industry seem to be on the decline, Jacobs allows individual freedom in applying job skills and expertise in order to complete a task professionally.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Topsides lead engineer (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LASeptember 8, 2017
I spent all my working days at Shell Oil office working on offshore production FPSO and only visited Jacobs office for required company meeting and classes. The FPSO issue were corrected and Shell Oil handled all warranty problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress low reward environment
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oak Ridge, TNSeptember 7, 2017
The accounting department is full of malcontent, underpaid, miserable people, understandably, the work load is nonstop, and the pay is way too low for this volume and pace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing job
Control Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCSeptember 6, 2017
awesome job working as a control systems engineer in spite of my background in mechanical engineering they took me on in the control systems field with such a well structured and somprehensive work/learning environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical paced atmosphere
Sr. Civil/Structural Designer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 6, 2017
good place to work at. Easy to get along with people. Would work there again if the opportunity exists.I worked there 2 years and never had a problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdoors, all weather types, very diversity
Engineering Technician II (Former Employee) –  Ft. Bliss, TXSeptember 6, 2017
Co-workers are great from all parts of the US. If your in need of quick easy money and don't mind being outdoors in the middle of the desert then this job is right for you. Management is kind of weird with a lot of favoritism.
Pros
Good pay, good people to work with.
Cons
No set lunch breaks, no benefits, very short and micro manage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Identity Intelligence Exploitation Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 6, 2017
Everything was good for the most part except the pay, but that was due to contract issues with the government. This could have been prevented if the company didn't use so much for overhead
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Managers, horrible benefits.
Maintenance Mechanic/Pipe Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Clinton, IASeptember 4, 2017
Learned alot, didn't care for the benifits. Manager's were great people to work for, they did their best to get us what we needed. The max vacation time you cold earn wasn't worth staying with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,837 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8