Find companies:
James Hardie Building Products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

James Hardie Building Products Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
INDUSTRIAL ELECTRICIAN/MAINTENANCE (Former Employee), Waxahachie, TXSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: free lunch every fridays and great benifits
JHBP is a good place to work. They are fair and try to take care of their employees. The work is hard and very demanding. The managers at the plants and I would work there again if they didn't have Dave Kesner who is over all plants in the US.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.. Great people
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee), Peru, ILJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch thursday, health benefits, and 401k
Cons: miserably hot in the summer and miserably cold in the winter
I worked 12 hour nights; 7pm to 7am, the 2 on 2 off work every other weekend schedule. A typical night at work consisted of pulling samples and prepping them for the next person. I would test the raw mats and the samples from the previous shift. My co-workers were excellent to work with. The hardest part of the job was pulling samples. Most were 5 foot – more... by 12 foot samples. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greaet place towork if you do not want a life outside of work.
Electrician (Former Employee), Waxahachie, TXMay 19, 2014
Pros: compensation was very good
Cons: work life balance was not there.
Enjoyed working with the people. Liked the challenges to make the plant produce more with my ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall job is excellent and the company is great to work for.
Account Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 4, 2014
James Hardie is a very inovative organization that thrives on competition and strives to establish a differentiated position in the market place. I have learned a tremendous amount around business developement along with agressive sales techniquies that are proven to yeild results. Management is a little on the micro side, being that 90% of the sales – more... force works out of there home. Hardie only employs people that are creative, aggressive, and willing to go the distance for results. I am that to a "T", so I have no complaints about my co-workers. The most enjoyable part of my job is having the ability to run my own business here in Atlanta, which has been growing since I took over 1.5 years ago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a career. Fun co-workers, great place for advancement.
National Accounts Marketing Manager NY/NJ (Former Employee), New York, New JerseyJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: free car, expense account
Cons: isolation
- Company car
- Expense account to be able to win over accounts
- Good bonus structure
- Allot of travel
- Sometimes can be isolating, non daily contact with co workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding workplace
Quality Inspection (Current Employee), Peru, ILDecember 28, 2013
Pros: free lunches on thursdays
Cons: no breaks, no lunches, no help
Unorganized management
Uninformed workers
Quick fixes rather than correct fixes
Constant pressure for overtime
Co-workers are largely immature
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production evironment
Inside Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Tacoma, WADecember 16, 2013
A fairly good Company, you can either make it work for you or not. A job where it's physical, and you will indeed get dirty. A hard day's work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forklift Driver
Production Worker (Former Employee), Fontana, CAOctober 17, 2013
Pros: overtime always available
Cons: short breaks
Very fast paced environment. Great pay. Excellent benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated Work Force
Environmental, Health and Safety Manager (Current Employee), Cleburne, TXAugust 17, 2013
Pros: free lunch friday
Cons: 69.7 mile drive to work daily
While working at the facility we were able to help employees recognize their safety potential through safety observation process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, engaging workplace
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee), Nevada, MOAugust 2, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: many of the better jobs require college
Working at an R&D facility was a challenging and rewarding experience. The process was constantly re-invented and made better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppurtunities
Lead Quality Control Technician (Former Employee), Fontana, CAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: advancement on job placement and salary
Cons: rotating shifts every week
Everyday was exciting manufactring never stops machines ran 24 hrs out the day this was my first real job i learned everything here from team work to testing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a joke
Supervisor (Former Employee), PeruMay 24, 2013
9 years of dedication and out of the blue we don't need you anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very great place to work for
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Waxahachie, TXMay 21, 2013
Pros: great benefits great company great pay and you start of at $14.75 an hour
James Hardie has so much room for advancement and promotions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work for.
Inspection Line Operator (Former Employee), Mccareen NVApril 29, 2013
The days of work were hard but very rewarding they take good care of there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent work environment, with a lot of traveling
Account Manager/Sales Representative (Former Employee), Tri-State AreaMarch 10, 2013
A typical day at work would include making on average 5 calls to Home Depot accounts in the Tri-State area. I would spend most of my day sometimes 4-6 hours driving location to location. The only connection with co-workers was via email or telephone. The most difficult part of the job was time management. Segmenteing your time for 44 stores became a – more... bit difficult. The way I segmented my time for how many calls I needed to make at each store per week came through a volume opportunity list. This list basically means finding the stores where your competition is outperforming you. The most enjoyable part of the job was the relationships I made with Management and associates at my various stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Reliability Manager, Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Reading, PAMarch 8, 2013
Motivate and support to meet key performance indicators (KPI) for site goals, including on time training, first pass yield, deviation per FTE, production yield targets, CAPA on time completion and cost of goods (COGM). Optimized the effectiveness of present equipment with in house modifications, assist in making CAPEX suggestions and assist in execution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Millwright
Millwright (Former Employee), Sparks NevadaNovember 2, 2012
Pros: learned what i don't want out of a job
Cons: hours of work all over the place. rules broken all the time. robot
Worked here for 4 years with no raises and 12 hours a day. If you don't fit in with the guys you won't have a job no matter how hard you work. The guys will pile it all on you until you break. Including electicuting you with a welder or flatting your car tire as a joke after working a 16 hour day. If you are stubburn like me, they will character assassinate – more... you around town and tell people lies just to get a lttle more pressure on you. I left with at least never making a any complaints and hoping they leave me and family alone. All complaints are a sign of weakness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!!
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Summerville, SCOctober 23, 2012
Pros: excellent trainers, free lunch, management caring about family time out side of work.
I unfortunately didn't get to experience as much as I would have liked to due to the plant closing down. I was able to learn how to work several different positions in the short time I worked there. The management and team leaders took you under their wings and taught you the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth company with great products
Regional Sales Representative (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CASeptember 18, 2012
Pros: good pay for hard work
Cons: we had alot of turn over
A typical day at work is traveling the state of Iowa, calling on Distribution, Dealers, Builders, Architects and designers creating a pull through channel process,
I learnerd alot about building relationships with a variety of different people.
We had alot of turnover in Management 13 sales managers in 15 years.
My co-workers were great fast paced hard – more... working people.
The hardest part of the job was taking on the job of 3 reps exterior,interior and Box stores.
The best part of the job was the relationships with the customer, and aligning the right customers with the right products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work ,Saftey oriented work place
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Peru, ILSeptember 12, 2012
Pros: occasional free lunches, discounts at area stores, good pay, recodnized for a job well done.
Cons: lack of respect for a employee's life outside of work, last minute mandatory overtime
I came in at 7pm and worked till 7 am, I was part of a 6 man crew that ran a large finishing line, we each had our own seprate jobs. I picked up alot of info from the guys I worked with mainley because they were all older than me and liked to share thier life expierences, there was also alot of joking around as long as it didnt affect out work, I learned – more... how to work on most of the machines, ways to work faster and still be safe, things to look out for like defects in the produst and what might be causing it or even different sounds that may indicate something going wrong. – less