James J. Peters VA Medical Center Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment conducive to learning
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 22, 2013
Admission and discharges of pre, post operative and telemetry patients
Charge nurse duties
Scheduling duties
Telemetry monitoring
Pros
Excellent benefits, 12 hr shifts
Cons
Sometimes cared for 13 patients, no union support, no managerial support
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run with lots of activities
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 21, 2015
My time at The James J. Peters VA Medical Center was both extremely fun and informative. Not only did i have the luxury of helping someone else who had put their life at risk to protect my country, but I also got to develop a bond between the veterans I interacted with and got some insight on what it was like to be on the battlefield. I highly recommend volunteering/applying to this medical center. It will change your life.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Internship (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 23, 2013
i had an internship there/ management is amazingly kind and knowledgeable/ learned alot
Pros
great environment
Cons
Mostly just men due to most veterans are men
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and caring place to be witha dn the people are even better!!!
Kitchen RD assistant (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 6, 2012
I worked here since September beginning of college, it has been a great experience and the people are amazing. I look forward to each day that i come into work and it makes me feel better because of the people you meet. The patients and the staff are diverse and wonderful to be around, its a fun and loving environment.
Pros
free breakfast and lunch
Cons
cold weather and the travel
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and grow.
Preceptorship Nurse (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 3, 2015
I did my preceptorship here. I was paired with an excellent nurse who understood everything about being a preceptor/mentor. The other nurses were supportive in the learning process and welcomed me as a student and helped me feel comfortable and confident as an almost licensed nurse.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very rewarding
Nursing Aide (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 10, 2014
As a veteran i love working here because i get to help out my fellow veterans so I have nothing but good things to say about working here. The only bad thing is that after almost four years still being on temporary employment status.
Pros
government job
Cons
after three years still temporary status
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet good people and workplace is friendly
Office Clerk/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 25, 2012
I feel like I belong and enjoy working at the VA. I have learned alot in the HR department and learned how to handle different situations.
Pros
meet people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship/ Volunteer in Lab
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 11, 2012
Processed lab specimans in Hematology, bacteriology logged in specimans for processing
Pros
close to home
Cons
zero pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at James J. Peters VA Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
4.0
Culture
3.9

James J. Peters VA Medical Center Reviews by Location