Find companies:
Jameson Inn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

Jameson Inn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but overwhelming
Night Audit (Current Employee), Jackson, TNNovember 12, 2012
You pretty much make up for everything every one else doesn't feel like doing. There's no real structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Messy
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), Vicksburg, MSOctober 31, 2012
Pros: work alone
Cons: being everyworker
A typical day was checking guest in and out. The mangement was awful. I was a front desk cler but had duties of desk clerk, housekeep and breakfast attentdent. I enjoyed working for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stressful workplace where tenants can sometimes get violent.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Scottsboro, ALOctober 20, 2012
Cons: no free lunches; housekeepers work in the elements (cold weather, hot weather); some of the tenants are tough do deal with.
On a typical day working at Jameson Inn Hotels, housekeepers have to clean and/or make the beds in about 10 rooms per housekeeper. On top of cleaning rooms and making beds, the manager will make us stay a while longer to do other chores such as cleaning the lobby and cleaning the kitchen. Working with the co-workers can sometimes be enjoyable, but not – more... always. Overall, this job is very stressful especially for college students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for the most part nice place to work
Guest Services Manager (Current Employee), Anderson, SCSeptember 26, 2012
I love most of the staff that I work with. It is the management part that I have a hard time dealing with. I do my job and what I am suppose to. I even go above and beyond a lot of the time but do not get any recongnition. I take a lot but keep my head up and do what I need to do. I hope that one day they will notice what an asset I am and move me up. – more... The guest that have been coming to stay there for a long time makes my job worth it. They come in and love to see me and care about how I am and how my home life is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and a very good company to work for.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Henderson, NCSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: free lunch atleast once a month
Cons: short breaks
I would love to work for this great company again. Great benifits and rates on rooms for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, not strictly structured, rewarding...
General Manager (Former Employee), Alcoa, TNSeptember 15, 2012
The hospitality industry in general was a wonderful combination of customer service, adminstrative service and support, customer satisfaction, event planning and implementation as well as a wide variety of circumstances that often surround and/or occur.
Jameson Inn was a wonderful experience. I worked with Kitchen Hospitality twice as manager of their – more... properties and enjoyed them both very much. Both properties were very different due to their location although many of the general services and requirements were the same.
It isn't really feasable to describe a "typical" day of work. I loved working at both Jameson Inns, but the work/life balance during this time was unequal and with home and children being the most important to me I implemented the necessary, most benefical and rewarding choice to leave this career behind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Guest Services/Night Auditor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: great people to work with, very accomidating work schedule
Cons: bonuses were very few and not much money.no pay raises and no opportunity for advancement
Typical day at work was enjoyable and the managers and co-workers were great.The computer system was easy to learn .overall it is a good place to work for more experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jameson Inn
Assistant General Manger (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCAugust 28, 2012
Pros: health, dental, 401k
Great company to work for. I have worked for Jameson for a long time and I really enjoyed my job and my staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, and interesting people
Front desk (Former Employee), Bessemer, ALAugust 21, 2012
Pros: new people, free food and berverages
Cons: rude people
A typical day at jameson Inn would be filled with interesting people, and learning new things about the companies system. My manager was a sweet patience lady. She taught me how to set up wake up calls, check guest in and out, and how the night shift worker. My co-worker were all females and we got along like a family, they taught me how to work faster – more... and not out work myself. The hardest part of work the front desk was the over night shift, I just could not do the grave yard shift, but after awhile it got better. But I really enjoyed meet different people, and learning where they were from, and what made them come visit the city. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A part time Job that became a full time job, getting to know different people
Headkousekeeper (Former Employee), Thomaston, GAAugust 3, 2012
Pros: the people i got to work with
Cons: the lack of time given to housekeepers to do their job correctly
I would come to work knowing that I had at the most 10 rooms and plenty of laundry to do. There were days that went longer than expected because of extra washing of blanket and bedspreads. I came to learn that hotel work was not as easy as some would think. The managers were very good to the employees and respected the work that they had to do. Two – more... managers would roll up their selves and help out when needed. Like with any job there were some good and some bad with the coworker but more good than bad. The hardest part of my job was having to do all that was expected of me in the time allowed. The most enjoyable was the holiday parities every one got to shin and show off their cooking skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I checked in/out customers
front desk/housekeeping (Former Employee), Sanford, NCJuly 26, 2012
Pros: good enviroment, friendly staff, ate for free.
Cons: hours not good, and pay wasnt good.
I would do audits if needed at night, I also helped with light housekeeping. I learned to be team player and I helped the other housekeepers if their work loads were too overwhelming. The hardest part was trying to clean the rooms at a decent time while we had to be done at a certain time. I loved the people I worked with they were nice and understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn and Run...FASTTTTT
General Manager (Former Employee), MSJuly 22, 2012
Pros: getting a check
Cons: arrogant regional managers, you are never off even when you're off, the constant need for management to be at the property.
This company is the absolute WORST!!! Senior level managers DO NOT, and I repeat DO NOT appreciate their GM and AGM's. Especially if you work in the southern region (MS, AL, GA)!! I worked for this company for 9 nine years and it was nine years of my life wasted. Nothing is EVER good enough, they expect you to work day in & day out and send these ridiculous – more... emails to the "100%" club all night. Please, I beg you, do not waste your time with this company. They are currently in bankruptcy and its starting to show!! Only apply if you are really desperate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like the manangement
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee), Alcoa, TNJuly 9, 2012
Pros: management
Cons: healthcare not offered to p/t employee's
Management is great !!!! The guest are friendly and the people I work with are great !!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice clean work environment.
Auditor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 6, 2012
Pros: routine assignments
Cons: late nights alone
Check-in check-out, auditing for previous day activities, answer phones, and compare rates. Count cash drawer, faxing, copying, 10-key, running reports, and making deposits. The hardest part about the job was the compensation. I enjoyed the routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
give promotions and raises and take them back-selfish managers
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Waycross, GAJune 29, 2012
Pros: loved customers
Cons: cheap pay for high expectations
i was promoted to asst mgr because manager was transferring, then they decided to hire a "new" manager they demoted me due to nepatism,the staff i was left with by the previous manager.they demoted me and decreased my pay instead of transferring me.I ended up resigning due to the selfishness and incoherent skills of the manager that i was transferred – more... to.Company heads do not care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Auditor
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Waycross, GAJune 27, 2012
Working nights was horrible, and management loved to micro manage everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for
General Manager (Former Employee), Southeastern USMay 18, 2012
Pros: good compensation for me and my family
Cons: away from home alot
I enjoyed my time with PMG/Jameson Inns. I was given opportunitues to grow and advance within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a good workplace. everyone there works hard at the tasks they are given. i enjoy goin to work everyday.
Guest Services and Associate (Current Employee), lancaster scMay 16, 2012
Pros: easy job
Cons: not full time and no benefits
It's a good workplace. It allows you to build and establish great work ethics without you having to work extremely hard. All the employees work hard at the tasks they are given. I really enjoy such a laid back job that allows me to develop and establish such great work ethics. It makes me look forward to going to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
GM (Former Employee), Will not disloseMay 14, 2012
Cons: work late without kudos, get fired on a whim, management does not reward good performance
If you take a management position with this company, please start the clock for your termination because it WILL happen. The GM and AGM jobs are a revolving door. The upper management is paranoid about keeping their jobs, so they will always blame the lower management level. The managers do not look out for their employees. They will fire you without – more... a warning even if you do a good job for them. You will work late, sometimes double shifts and you will never EVER get thanked for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the Effort
Guest Services Manager/ Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Conyers, GA.April 19, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: little pay, slave work, do not know how to treat people, favoritism
Putting a lot of effort towards growth with this company is almost impossible. I went from maintenance employee to assistant general manager within one year and then was fired because someone else did not do their job. The manager did not respect that I had a family and couldn't work 1st, 2nd, 3rd shift different days of the week. I got one raise which – more... wasn't anything to write home to about. I would never work for this company again.

Thank You. – less

About Jameson Inn

Jameson Inns owns limited-service hotels in about a dozen southeastern and midwestern states operating¬†under the Jameson Inns – Read more