Jamestown Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive with opportunities to help future students
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Olean, NYMay 15, 2017
I set up individual sessions on and off-campus with prospective students. The students were usually looking to learn more about what Olean has to offer, and wanted to hear about potential programs Jamestown Community College provides based off of personal and academic interests.
Pros
The ability to meet and help new people
Cons
Last minute cancellations of meetings between the student and I
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Staff and adjunct (Current Employee) –  Jamestown, NY 14701April 21, 2017
The job itself is pretty good, but the politics of the institution are horrible. If you aren't part of the administration you get no recognition. You might work twice as hard but no one realizes it because they are too busy praising themselves.
The administration doesn't go out of their way to see who works for them other than to occasionally micro manage programs that bring in revenue. It's all about the money.
There is quit a bit of inconsistency in the hiring practices.
Pros
benefits are good
Cons
inconsistent in pay depending which side of the college you work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jamestown community college
Sports Medicine Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYApril 11, 2017
It was a great experience. I helped athletes prepare for game. Gave the the proper treatment for injury's. Attend games and events. The hardest part of the job was having to leave after I graduated
Pros
It was a lot of fun and excitement
Cons
not as many hours as i would of liked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty easy going job for what I went into
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYMarch 29, 2017
This job was very easy and pretty fun, just go and clean up classrooms after classes were released, was a nice job to have on the side while going through college.
Pros
Easy Going, No rush
Cons
People lie...alot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic easy going atmosphere
RN Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  Jamestown, NYJune 3, 2015
I love working as a clinical instructor for JCC. I have a fantastic crew of co workers and a fantastic Director of Nursing. I get to be a nurse and a student educator all in one.
Pros
Great benefits and great atmosphere
Cons
No complaints
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Resident Assistant (RA) (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYJanuary 29, 2015
An amazing place to work. People are friendly and helpful. I got up did my work in my spare time between classes. My co workers were great. The hardest part was running up and down the stairs attending to peoples problems.
Pros
Free Meal plan
Cons
On call hours are a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic people and work environment
Achievement Coach (Former Employee) –  Olean, NYNovember 15, 2014
My manager was fantastic, the work was interesting and meaningful. I learned a lot about college level teaching, and academic coaching.
Pros
Setting, people, low stress
Cons
Low pay, grant funded temp position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid College
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYJuly 1, 2014
Loved going to school there, and working for them at the same time.

It wouldn't have been the same if i hadn't been a resident assistant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Night Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYApril 15, 2014
Great place to work. Also something to do and people are great to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient
Library Worker thenTutor (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Work-Study job, good supervisors and flexible schedule to fit around classes. Very convenient, job was on campus so classes and work fit together.
Pros
Convenient, flexible
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AAS nursing program
Adjunct Nursing Faculty (Current Employee) –  Jamestown, NYOctober 30, 2013
rewarding opportunity to provide education
good co-workers
flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Institutional Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jamestown, NYMay 16, 2013
A great place to work! Co-workers are friendly and caring. Everyone is a valued part of the JCC team. Surrounded by talented individuals who listen to your ideas and encourage professional development.
Pros
Great support network, caring environment, summer hours
Cons
lots of processes that could use review or streamlining to be more effective.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had very much enjoyed my years at the college. It is a wonderful environment of students and professionals.
Adjunct History Instructor (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYApril 12, 2012
I was an adjunct and at times taught up to four courses and two campuses. So a typical day would be travel, prep, and lecture. THe remaining time was devoted to the students during office hours. I often used the time in between students to grade, prepare other lessons and update the online learning modules.

I learned a great deal from this position. For example, time managment is critical. It could be difficult to wedge it all in during campus hours otherwise the resources (including other staff) may not be available. I had to learn to think more than a few steps ahead, I planned a semester ahead. Another example would be flexibility. Students at a two-year college have different agendas. I had to work with them all: transfers, repeaters, low-placement scores.

I think I enjoyed my co-workers most. It is something lacking at my current position: the intellectual stimulation. I enjoyed discussing classroom strategies, the newest higher-education issues, politics.... They were a solid group of people that really devoted themselves to thier jobs. I admire that.
Pros
tickets to events, student relations, academic freedoms
Cons
no healthcare, minimal retirement benefits, mileage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jamestown Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.3
Culture
4.5

Jamestown Community College Reviews by Location