Find companies:
Jawonio
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Jawonio Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad, rude people
dsp (Former Employee), new jerseyFebruary 8, 2015
Pros: insurance
Cons: no breaks, nasty people
Bad place. To work. , play. Favorite no breaks low salary , too much. Of a workload,had to stop. If there was an emergency. If u were on lunch. If in the. Building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Badly in need of more caring workers!!!!!
Contracter (Former Employee), New City, NYJanuary 20, 2015
I worked there as a contractor with one of the client/patients and my emotions got to me when I noticed how they were treated there.

They were not cleaned enough and left in odd positions for large amount of times, I think because of the low salaries you get a different type of people working there who just don't care and it's a shame because the clients/patients suffer.

On a couple of occasions I just had to speak up for my client and tell them to change his diaper and reposition him.

I think to fix this problem the pay should be better and the workers must be screened better this takes very special people to work in this field, I am in such a business and I truly understand what real special caring people are. Also inspect the sites more often unscheduled.

I pray that this review caused some improvement for these clients/patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Place to work
Direct Service Professional (Former Employee), New City, NYOctober 8, 2014
Work with adults with developmental disabilities. Different positions available from direct care to service providers and advocacy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
DSW (Former Employee), New City, NYJuly 25, 2014
It was a bad place to work. I really liked it there but the compensation and politics were bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
RN Supervisor (Former Employee), New City, NYApril 29, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: not very appreciated by upper management - they play favorites
It was close to home and if my kids were sick, I could leave early. Enjoyed working with the residents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Work Environment
Billing Specialist/data entry (Former Employee), New City, NYMarch 11, 2014
Entering EOB's,Calling Insurance Companies for payments,.It was a good experience working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best interest of the individuals and staff, productive, fun-filled environment
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYOctober 3, 2013
Pros: free food, trips, excercise
Cons: mostly the pay and the lack of raises
A typical day at work was like being in the middle of your living room with family well minus the rules and regulations. I learned about teamwork, laughter, friendship amongst my coworkers. I learned about respecting others inspite of their differences but to embrace their differences and appreciate my own. My director is stern but she has your best interest at heart even in HR they do their best to help you find alternatives that can help you better your performance at work and in life. The hardest part of the job for me was parting ways with a good set of people. The most enjoyable part of the job was the staff, going out with the individuals, birthday club for the individuals, cooking group, bbq's, trips to the mall, baseball, dance group, zumba, etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always keeps it adventurous for clients.
Recreation Assistant (Former Employee), Westchester,N.YSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: clients are in a safe environment for growing.
Cons: the schedules and travel for staff are not ez.
Company finds many ways to engage the community with mentally disable clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with the kids
Substitute Teachers Aide (Former Employee), New City, NYJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: some nice people
Cons: emotionally draining
had fun working with the kids,the kids put a smile on my face everyday,enjoyed playing with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for overall learning experience.
Recreation Assistant (Former Employee), westchester,new yorkDecember 6, 2012
Pros: you are outdoors alot, meet new people daily
Cons: sometimes the weather isn'tgood for traveling, transportation delays
The job is consist of long hours and hard work.It is enjoyable because it helps you to create an opportunity for the disable to enjoy recreational activities in there community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning environment
License Practical Nurse (Current Employee), New City, NYApril 3, 2012
Positive way to establish the basic foundation to acquire the skills needed as a nurse.