JBS Employee Reviews

Found 101 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JBS Supervisor
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Souderton, PAJanuary 21, 2016
Coordinated closely with the quality control regarding products awaiting dispositions. Maintained and enforced a safe and clean working environment at all times. Supervised production schedules, production quality and on time delivery.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JBS was a strong company but is setting its self up for failure
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAJanuary 19, 2016
Work at JBS is usually pretty routine,train your production workers right and the days fly by.Learned alot about beef and pork fabrication and yields.In the start of my career Management was very STRONG and was set out to be the best.In my last 2 months saw Management become weak.No HR support for Supervisors.About 80 percent of the production workers were great to work with and train,they made my job worth it when times werent soo routine.The hardest part of the job was dealing with the different personalities while having NO HR support.The best job was knowing Yields ,production numbers and safety were all achieved at the end of each shift
Pros
Paid salary
Cons
Too many hours at work, no family time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very progressive company that values their employees.
Retail Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJanuary 17, 2016
JBS has been a great company to work for. They are very progressive and take great pride in their people and truly treat them as an assett.
Pros
Great Pay and benefits.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we traveled alot
Installation Technician (Former Employee) –  Gatesville, TXJanuary 9, 2016
fast paced, long hours, installing big top buildings.
my boss was great to work for.
I became friends with most of the guys I worked with.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
No health care no benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict
scaler (Current Employee) –  Ottumwa, IAJanuary 3, 2016
JBS bought out Cargill. They came in limited our bathroom time. They want us to use our breaks to go to the bathroom. The second week they enforced their " no cell phone policy on the floor" they pocket searched me and tried to write me up. Things are said to get worse.
Pros
No work on Sundays
Cons
Doing away with jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good place to work at
Mixer (Current Employee) –  Commerce, GADecember 7, 2015
I think that all company's has a place to improve in they are all not perfect they are learning every day I learn a lot from the people I work with and skill learning every day.
Pros
I love my job I just want to better myself
Cons
don't have any
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Refrigeration Technician (Former Employee) –  Elberton, GANovember 30, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
combo set up (Former Employee) –  Plainwell, MINovember 16, 2015
It was a lot of decent training and this is where I learned to multi task the best, I was a hilo driver, weighed and cut meat, also a lot of paperwork and organization was a must however, they need to be fair and treat their people better
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Maintenance Technician/ Forklift/Operator (Former Employee) –  Plainwell, MINovember 8, 2015
There was a lot of variety in what I did each day. If you enjoy doing hands on work, JBS might be a place for you work. Make sure you dress warm because its a refrigerated facility. Supervisors are understanding and will work with you no matter what. Make sure you ask questions or confront the guys in grey,blue and green hard hats. You will never go wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
about me
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Plainwell, MIOctober 29, 2015
when I worked for west side beer I was a picker and a fork lift drive and I crash up can and when I got done they went in to a machine and came out a box of can then I got the fork lift a diver them into a truck , I load up trucks with beer and vans
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Beef Sales Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Greeley, COOctober 22, 2015
Very fast paced environment. Management could work harder to give recognition for achievements, and less focus on mistakes, however, this is a very great company to grow with. Co-workers are great, and the culture is wonderful. I am just seeking to continue to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a new experience and job field for me, and it was a great experience.
Sales Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Plainwell, MIOctober 8, 2015
The days were long, but never boring. I enjoyed the ladies and gentlemen that I worked with on a daily basis. I sometimes wish that I had taken the transfer to Colorado, but still, I enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Great pay and benefits package and great people to work with.
Cons
Long ours in an office. I much more prefer to work outdoors.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much office politics
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Greeley, COSeptember 30, 2015
Poor management, no chance for advancement, not open to suggestions for improving processes, office politics, slap in the face raises. Poor training, for all these reasons there is a high turn over.
Pros
Nice lake to walk on breaks, event perks
Cons
Office politics, no chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Picker/Loader (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WISeptember 22, 2015
its a hard working job with good hours at times. you never know when your getting done if you work 2nd shift. its a good experience though and it can move you up to better jobs.
Pros
hours, breaks
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Cactus, TXSeptember 14, 2015
productive and work was fun others employees. Im a hard working person. I'm looking for jobs that I can provide a company with productivity
Pros
regular break time
Cons
same as above
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hours
Forklift Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Cactus, TXSeptember 7, 2015
Many working hours but have a lot of Upper management that are new and give conflicting orders. Many times there is no communication among each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will leave with Carpel Tunnel and arthritis...
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Plainwell, MichiganAugust 15, 2015
Fab, is cold. You start at 6am. And your breaks are suppose to be 15 mins, but with taking off gear and such normally leads to only about a 7-9 min break if your lucky.
Basically you become good with a knife really quickly. Also figured I would add, the management is TERRIBLE. Went through 4 supervisors on 1 line in 6 months.
The hardest part of the job is getting use to not being able to make a fist, hold onto a inch/inch and a half wide pipe and thats the first you can make.

The only enjoyable part is they do work with you, because it is a union. So its hard to get fired. But between working 55 hours a week and the horrible breaks you almost want to quit...
Pros
Union
Cons
short breaks, expensive health care and food.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company at the time I worked there didnt care to much for their employees, I ve heard all that has changed.
Coolers Auditor (Former Employee) –  Greeley, CO.August 14, 2015
Management didn't care to much for their employees, the employee advancement would always be on caompanys best interests, since I left I heard ex-coworkers conversations on how much all that had changed for the best, I hope it has, work is very hard in the beef slaughter business.
Pros
Low-medium wages.
Cons
Managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with all the emoployees
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Greeley CoAugust 12, 2015
Overall I enjoyed working at this place because I was able to assist a lot of people in English and Spanish. I learned a lot there in regards to the beef field. I learned a lot about how payroll works and how the personnel works. I could and would have liked to work in these departments to be able to take it out into the work force outside of that office.
Pros
Benefits were excellent and coworkers
Cons
Need to pay the clerks a little better.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forklift operator
forklift (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 24, 2015
forklift operator loading and unloading from the trucks., the company was good and my co-workers we were working toghter all time and happy to gett it done but i lost my job because the company out off the busines i coudnot get some job had but will it get soon..
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 388 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture